Water John wrote: » I'll have to set a whole night aside to look at your links, say my name.
Water John wrote: » Think I heard the cuckoo today. Am I losing it?
whelan2 wrote: » Got the result they wanted anyway
Say my name wrote: » The cat ate the stunned bird.
whelan2 wrote: » Parents had the same last year. Bird tapping at the window and crapping on it too. They tried tying cd's on the inside and other things. In the end my dad set a rat trap on the window sill. After a few days there was a few feathers in the gone off trap and we never saw the bird again ...
Ms. Chanandler Bong wrote: » I have a crazy bird (a blue tit) that's assaulting my kitchen window. Or rather, the lintel above the kitchen window. He's not attacking his reflection and he doesn't bother with food left on the sill, just keeps flying up to the lintel like he's trying to get something (nothing there). He's there a few times an hour, most of the day. I was curious about what he was at when he first appeared. Two weeks later, he's just wrecking my head
Lady Haywire wrote: » Ye haven't had a scourge of flies- bigger than midges but similar shape- in the last week or so? They all hatched out from the lake beside us and have been plaguing everyone around it since. They seen to like sitting on white painted walls etc so the tit could be after those.
Limestone Cowboy wrote: » Rightly flustered here the last couple of days looking for a week old calf in 100 acres of a winterage. Mother is very milky and looks to be well sucked, was bursting with milk the day she calved and the calf was very hardy and sucked himself the day he was born. Haven't seen a trace of him since. Don't think she could be dried up so quickly. You'd often see them hide the calves for the first few days but a week is stretching it a bit. What he think? To my eyes the cow is sucked but my minds playing tricks on me at this stage. Walked the legs off myself today but it's a needle in a haystack kind of situation. Keep hoping I'll catch the cow by herself heading back to him.
Limestone Cowboy wrote: » Ya I can do it alright, have tried all the tricks at this stage. Some of the cows can be very cute. It's the area that's catching me. Could literally spend a week walking it and not find a trace of him. There's about 40 acres of scrub and bushes in it along with all the rocks and nooks and crannys in the open parts.
Lady Haywire wrote: » I had that problem with a heifer last year, didnt see the calf for 4/5 days and it only on 10 acres! Found it eventually by starting at the cow and walking in a spiral outwards around her. She started to take more notice of me andnow throwing an eye at me when I was in the direction the calf was lying.
Odelay wrote: » This is how to do it. Don't look the cow in the eye, they know when being watched. Shield your eyes and walk in the spiral, discretly see how the cow reacts.
patsy_mccabe wrote: » Can you make the sound of a calf bawling, you know the sound they make when they are distressed? Turn your back to the cow and try and throw the sound around with your hand moving over your mouth. Sounds mad as I read it back, but it often worked here to get a cow to go looking for calf.
Say my name wrote: » Would the drone be any help in having a look see?