meeeeh wrote: » I like Sky, I just don't overly like Croft. Why would I watch C4.
flazio wrote: » Unless you have access to Eir Sport, in which all races are live with Channel 4 commentary, just no punditry either side of the sessions.
astrofluff wrote: » I'd respect any commentator who stands up and says they are pro anybody. At least that way we accept they'll be like that rather than them pretending to be unbiased!
H3llR4iser wrote: » Palmer has a point and it's wrong to dismiss his views because he was "dumped by Renault". Afterall if one wanted to take that stance, the vast majority of the commentators should just shut up and stay home, as technically none of them is "qualified" to comment on a 4xWDC: - Herbert lucked into 3 race wins when basically everyone around him retired, and was soundly beaten by every single team mate he had; - Anthony Davidson...barely even drove in F1; Same for Paul Di Resta; - Brundle won exactly the same number of F1 Grand Prix as I did, which is 0, and was mostly famous for never looking in his mirrors; funnily enough, he keeps claiming they are "as useful as ashtrays", despite plenty of evidence of the contrary (exhibit A: https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=46&v=m3DY7HIjXMc - they seem pretty darn sharp and useful to me, certainly not worse than those on most road cars); I could go on and on. Palmer isn't making stuff up - Hamilton's not being...well, Hamilton, at least in terms of driving (the complaining and "your fault!" attitude, these aren't new). He seems to be in one of these "working holidays" phases he used to go onto in the past seasons, which nearly costed him the title in 2014 and definitely contributed to his loss of the title in 2016. He will likely soon "shake" himself out of it - if not in Baku (where, according to the data collected so far, Ferrari should have the engine/speed advantage, in a twist of last year's situation), from the beginning of the EU season. But for now, it does ring true - he seems to be "going along with the current".
mickdw wrote: » To be fair Hamilton needs calling out on his behaviour. As soon as something goes wrong, he is on the radio basically blaming the team. It wouldn't surprise me if he insists that people leave his team after some of these races. He sounds like an absolute child at times. Of course sky don't make reference to this at all.
Faugheen wrote: » mickdw wrote: » To be fair Hamilton needs calling out on his behaviour. As soon as something goes wrong, he is on the radio basically blaming the team. It wouldn't surprise me if he insists that people leave his team after some of these races. He sounds like an absolute child at times. Of course sky don't make reference to this at all. Ah here, what Hamilton does is no different to the likes of Kimi, Alonso, Max, Vettel, even Ricciardo. Don't tell me Hamilton is the worst either, Alonso is by far the worst when it comes to whinging on the radio. It's fair to call Hamilton out on it but don't act like he's the only one doing it. Whenever Kimi does it we find it funny.
mickdw wrote: » Herbert won grand prix having come back from a horrific accident that could have caused the loss of both legs. That's a pretty incredible achievement. Davidson I believe was wec champion so a high level world champion in his own right. Brundle didn't win a race but was a top class driver. His time as senna rival tells up plenty about his class. As Schumacher team mate, he has some good results but like always, Schumacher got first call on everything.
skipper_G wrote: » For 2019 they will increase the race fuel allowance by 5kg so drivers can use the engine at full power at all times during the race. The weight of the car and driver (80kg minimum) will be separated.
Cookie_Monster wrote: » Pointless. Teams don't use the full fuel allowance as it is becuase its better to undefill and coast. How is more allowance going to change that? They need to make the allowance a minimum amount too in order for it to work correctly
Gintonious wrote: » https://streamable.com/zatfk Fernando Alonso, ladies and gentlemen, just driving the long way around some Force Indias.
supremenovice wrote: » I remember Coulthard once saying that Lewis Hamilton "transcends the sport". Oh how I threw up!
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » I don’t think I’ve ever noticed Croft’s catchphrase at the beginning of the race. Who has time to listen to that when the entire field is jockeying for position ?
Mike Litoris wrote: » Edwards uses the same phrase at most race starts. He is no where near as annoying though. Crofts awful voice and shouty delivery annoys me more than his mistakes.
skipper_G wrote: » ... For 2019 they will increase the race fuel allowance by 5kg so drivers can use the engine at full power at all times during the race. The weight of the car and driver (80kg minimum) will be separated. Drivers will also use biometric gloves to help the medical teams in the event of an accident. ...
H3llR4iser wrote: » skipper_G wrote: » ... For 2019 they will increase the race fuel allowance by 5kg so drivers can use the engine at full power at all times during the race. The weight of the car and driver (80kg minimum) will be separated. Drivers will also use biometric gloves to help the medical teams in the event of an accident. ... Took me a while to understand that and had to research it, because at a first glance it looked like a steady diet of fryups and takeaways would be on the cards for the smaller guys over winter As far as I can understand, there'll be two minimum weights - one for the car without driver, one for the driver + harness (including the seat). This way, lighter drivers will lose the advantage of being able to place more ballast strategically in the car. In order for the driver to reach the minimum weight of 80kg, ballast will be put in the seat (in other words, there will be a "minimum80kg mass" that needs to be in the cockpit).
eviltimeban wrote: » Croft at least is better than Jonathan Leggard and James Allen.
H3llR4iser wrote: » Took me a while to understand that and had to research it, because at a first glance it looked like a steady diet of fryups and takeaways would be on the cards for the smaller guys over winter As far as I can understand, there'll be two minimum weights - one for the car without driver, one for the driver + harness (including the seat). This way, lighter drivers will lose the advantage of being able to place more ballast strategically in the car. In order for the driver to reach the minimum weight of 80kg, ballast will be put in the seat (in other words, there will be a "minimum80kg mass" that needs to be in the cockpit).
eviltimeban wrote: » Croft at least is better than Jonathan Leggard and James Allen. What's missing from Sky is Jake Humphrey - he was far more compelling than Simon Lazenby is. Simon is kind of dull. These days I'm skipping the whole pre-show (which I used to watch all of) in favour of going straight to the race - I just don't have time anymore to spend 3 hours camped on front of the TV! (that's what kids'll do for ya).
Adamocovic wrote: » Channel 4 F1 is still my favourite. When Steve Jones began he first annoyed me but I've become a fan. He's an oddball but at least entertainment is guaranteed!