Deleted User wrote: » Strange how she saw something that PJ said never happened!!
Silentcorner wrote: » Alls well that ends well then!!
FrancieBrady wrote: » They were all 'enjoying it' according to the one independent witness we have.
Deleted User wrote: » Er, where did I say what they did was illegal? Demeaning people isn’t illegal. Reprehensible, maybe.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Er, where did I say what they did was illegal? Demeaning people isn’t illegal. Reprehensible, maybe. Rugby is lauded as being a real mans sport. Real men don’t have their friends join in while they’re having sex with a girl. Real men concentrate on giving and receiving pleasure with their companion without the need of another’s help. Real men wouldn’t have a girl leave their bed in a distressed state. Nor would they feel the need to brag about their shagging greatness.
racso1975 wrote: » Or do you reckon it is just that PJ was better known then Olding? Think that a has a big part to play in it too. More of a household name? Do agree that a post statement might of helped as opposed to threatening to sue all around him
Silentcorner wrote: » Embarrassed???? Is that how you would describe her reaction in that long taxi drive home. I wouldn't.
Silentcorner wrote: » Go look for it yourself...it's all on the internet.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Story is more or less dead Silentcorner. The mob has been silenced. The lads get to play again a short plane ride away with nicely full bank accounts. We will all be able to watch their careers because they will be in the same leagues Ulster Connacht Munster and Leinster play in. And hopefully we will get to see them play in Ireland again when Clermont and Exeter come for their away games.
Wheeliebin30 wrote: » What behavior and actions did they do that was illegal? I’ll await your answer.
mfceiling wrote: » Can you tell me exactly what her reaction was and how long was the taxi journey home? An hour, 15 minutes?
Silentcorner wrote: » Don't pal...Francis thinks there is only one mob in all of this...he's not on his own either!!!
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » Nothing is becoming of us. Professional sports people are not like you or I. Their behaviour is viewed differently than ours, rightly or wrongly. They are a brand in themselves, and in team sports they are part of the teams brand. Jackson said it himself about the texts, behaviour has fallen far short of the values expected of me as an intentional player, a role model for the game of rugby
Allinall wrote: » How do you know that?
anthonyjmaher wrote: » The guys were found innocent of what they were charged. They sent a few stupid messages between themselves on what they thought was a private platform, and would never have become public only they were charged of a crime which they did not commit. They should have got a couple of further months on the bench as punishment and then been allowed to play again. The message that this sends is that if an angry mob of women just takes agin you (to further their own man hating agenda), then it is fair game for them to picket your place of work and have you fired. They should be ashamed of themselves. I think the most dangerous thing about this case is that the woman is attributed very little responsibility for her actions in sexual encounters. And it is now fair game to retrospectively say that you were not a willing party to something that AT THE TIME you showed absolutely no objection to. If an independent witness had not been available to the defence, to say that everything looked consensual, these guys may well have gone down. All based on the fabrications of an embarrassed girl.
FrancieBrady wrote: » His statement was written for those who believe that juvenile, field of dreams tosh, who were the ones making the most noise, i.e. the mob.
goz83 wrote: » People keep bringing this up. It’s pretty obvious that Jackson was advised to say this, as the screams of the mob got louder. I don’t condone his behaviour by the way. But people are focusing on whatsapp messages and PJ only sent one, which wasn’t very descriptive. Olding sent a few and he is being targeted less. But olding released a statement after the aquittal, where PJ did not. Imo, that angered the mob and they held onto that.
Wheeliebin30 wrote: » Jesus if employers found out what 99% of people say or do outside of work no one would be in work!!! What is becoming of us I do wonder.
Appledreams15 wrote: » I am just so delighted. Someone asked me do I agree with the verdict. Apparantly I am not allowed to say. Mods said to be very careful with wording. But I am delighted that they got some punishment. To other people on here saying they exchange similiar messages, they all sound like quite general jokes. The msgs the rugby guys sent were about one specific girl, a girl who launched a rape investigation. Their behaviour was appaliing. PJ has apologised twice for his own behaviour. He knows he was in the wrong
Deleted User wrote: » I think that it was their actions and behavior following those actions that ruined their careers.
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » So at that point will people stop saying that their lives have been ruined ?
Tell me how wrote: » How was she lying? There's a difference between subjective opinions and provable facts. The court of law is civilisations attempt to come a decision so everyone can proceed. Because they weren't found guilty, doesn't make her a liar.
ArthurDayne wrote: » joe40 wrote: » This is really not complicated. Your privacy is important and should be protected as indeed it is. If your private conversations become public, for whatever reason, you have to own those comments. They are a reflection on you. If they are offensive, damaging, illegal you have to own the consequences. The fact they started out as private is no defence. Just to be clear i'm talking about this in general, not this case specifically. It is somewhat interesting that you opine that this point is not complicated -- yet, despite the apparent lack of complexity, I note that you did not answer the question. One imagines that, if you find this matter so straightforward, you could at least give a 'yes' or 'no' answer. So I ask you again -- and while I appreciate you are under no obligation to answer me -- you have just said yourself that it is not complicated. I imagine then you can give me a Yes or No to the following, this now being the third time I have asked for an answer without response on this matter which is (as you say) not very complicated:Would you be supportive of the following National Programme being implemented? 1. All citizens of the State shall submit their phones and other electronic devices to the nearest Garda station; 2. All devices will be screened along a rubric created by a panel of experts on public morality and decency. All social media companies will be legally ordered to store messages which are deleted so that they can be retrieved.; 3. Screening will include ALL private correspondence, including with family, spouses and friends. 4. All those who are found to have used terms or language in private conversation that can be deemed offensive to the public or a section of the public shall be automatically liable for expulsion from their jobs. In one fell swoop -- all those who have used degrading and offensive language will be cast out of their jobs. Only the morally righteous shall remain and the workplaces of Ireland shall be purified. The battle to embed political correctness and moral perfection in private conversations will have been won. Would you support this program?
joe40 wrote: » This is really not complicated. Your privacy is important and should be protected as indeed it is. If your private conversations become public, for whatever reason, you have to own those comments. They are a reflection on you. If they are offensive, damaging, illegal you have to own the consequences. The fact they started out as private is no defence. Just to be clear i'm talking about this in general, not this case specifically.
erica74 wrote: » I'm not really surprised by this decision, the brand are protecting their brand, they get to come out of this looking great, it looks like they have meted out the justice that many wanted and in the process make themselves look like they have values not in line with what the players did and said. It's really a win win for the brand, you can't deny that.