Mam of 4 wrote: » I was about to ask Grandeeod was he sure he wasn't related to me as it was the same here! Tupperware ice pop makers , cereal, sugar, flour, in round tupperware containers with orange lids , did any home not have them ? Simple things , lovely memories
Grandeeod wrote: » How do you think I felt when I rambled into a friends house and they a had a feckin Sodastream! I used to pretend I was thirsty ALL THE FECKIN TIME!
Mam of 4 wrote: » Same here tbh ,dilutable orange was our drink so ice cream OR a fizzy mineral was a treat ! Both together was pure enjoyment
Stefan Easy Skull wrote: » You're making me feel old. I was about 30 when Sodastreams came out here. I still considered them a luxury as we struggled to raise a family at the time.
Grandeeod wrote: » Ah Srameen, I'm about to hit my late 40s soon and I feel old too. But like yourself I'm old enough to remember the Sodastream being one posh device. The memories of that friends house will stay with me forever. I must have looked like a right little pitiful eejit begging for a drink out of the Sodastream.
Colser wrote: » We never had fizzy drinks but we used to make "Rise and Shine" orange juice some Saturday nights,it was a sachet of powder and you'd just mix it in a jug with water on Saturday night for a treat the next morning.
ArtyC wrote: » I still use a sodastream ?!!! Is that odd 😳
Mam of 4 wrote: » We got crisps and a bar on a Friday , sweet night , friend down the road her parents owned a shop, house full of sugary treats so I can understand your sodastream thirst
Grandeeod wrote: » What was the powder?
Colser wrote: » It was a packet (like a soup packet) but it was powder that you mixed with water to make orange juice..nothing illegal unfortunately.��
Grandeeod wrote: » Not odd, but real retro. Fair play. My Friday night treat was Lilt and a Jam Doughnut from the very earliest incarnation of Tesco's in Ireland. It was Gubays! Late 70s. Cheap. A latter day Aldi/Lidl. Great memories here tonight.
Grandeeod wrote: » Or did someone mention Rise n Shine.:DAttachment not found.
Mam of 4 wrote: » Great memories for sure , lovely way to pass a Saturday night We're of a similar age ,Gubays was where one of my brothers had his first job ! Jam doughnuts , you were spoilt for sure , or posh Aldis finest chocolate buttons here
Grandeeod wrote: » Posh? We were far from it.:D Gubays was cheaper than Dunnes and Quinnsworth. The Jam Doughnuts were once a week. We can do it everyday now,:D Cadburys Oreo peanut butter flavour chocolate. The ladies of the house don't like it. Bought on a market earlier this week. Two weeks out of date. There's posh for you.:D Finishing a beer.