realdanbreen wrote: » Just turned on the radio and more reporting of yet another inquiry/tribunal whatever coming from Dublin Castle. This one is about guards/ whistleblowers and who said what and when. I am sick of them and the only one certainty is that all of the participants, guards, politicians, judges, barristers,etc will all have big salaries and will have fat pensions to look forward to regardless of the outcome. Meanwhile the never ending problems of healthcare, housing needs etc rumble on. And you know what (and I have NEVER heard a politician say it) all of these issues would be resolved if all the citizens of this country contributed a FAIR share, that's all just a fair share.
vicwatson wrote: » RTE have 10 political correspondants, 10
realdanbreen wrote: » Just turned on the radio and more reporting of yet another inquiry/tribunal whatever coming from Dublin Castle. This one is about guards/ whistleblowers and who said what and when. I am sick of them and the only one certainty is that all of the participants, guards, politicians, j.
Zebra3 wrote: » Can’t understand why we don’t have criminal enquiries if people are suspected off breaking the law instead of gravy train toothless tribunals.
THE MORIARTY TRIBUNAL kicked off in 1997 to look into the financial affairs of Charlie Haughey and Michael Lowry – and twenty years on, it continues to cost the State money. Taoiseach Enda Kenny told the Oireachtas Finance Committee yesterday the Moriarty Tribunal has cost €54.7 million to date. This year, an additional €10 million for legal costs will be spent.
Johnny Dogs wrote: » McCabe looks like he was subjected to the most vile, repulsive smear campaign, involving accusations that amount to the most serious accusations anyone could be accused of (abusing a child) because he tried to speak out about malpractice going on with his employers, who also happen to be the state's police service. Yet the tail end of the OP seems to be wedging in a fairly thinly veiled dole sponging reference/ need for people to pay their fair share? What the actual fcuk?
wexie wrote: » I've never understood this? What's the point in having a Tribunal if there are no consequences at the back end of it? (and there generally don't seem to be are there?) Just so we know? Lots of time, effort and money to tell someone they have (or haven't) been a naughty boy and send them on their way? Is this a purely Irish thing?
Odhinn wrote: » Well then, all the people who have had their careers and/or lives ruined by Martin callinan will just have to fuck off and take their shite with them. We can't have you being annoyed, can we.
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » It’s worse than that. Some of the tribunals might in fact make a trial impossible because of prejudice.
blanch152 wrote: » Your post is very strange, you seem to think the Tribunal is necessary, yet........ Has the Tribunal already reported with its findings on Martin Callinan? If it hasn't, what is the point of the Tribunal, if you have already made up your mind?
topper75 wrote: » HOLD ON! I don't think OP has an issue with justice on the matter!!! More with the supposed means of attaining it that has fallen flat so many times before in other cases. .
Odhinn wrote: » Showing that the word of Martin Callinan & Noirin O'Sullivan means nothing is vital, to the many people condemned behind their back by whispering campaigns led by the same two. There's far more than mccabe that have suffered that fate over the last 30 years.
Odhinn wrote: » No idea what you're on about.
blanch152 wrote: » You are at it again: You have made conclusions about the outcome of the Tribunal before the Tribunal has reported. So why do we need a Tribunal if you already have all the answers?
Odhinn wrote: » According to you not long ago, Frances Fitzgerald had nothing to apologise for - pull the other one.
blanch152 wrote: » We will see what the judge says, but from the evidence so far, there is nothing to suggest she has anything to apologies for. .