Buford T. Justice V wrote: » Kerry buy roughly half their feed requirements from local cereal growers. Don't know about the rest.
Green farmer wrote: » Id say the barleys / oats are local, but things the soya bean hulls, maize and glutens, palm kernels, molasses etc comes into foynes and all the mills travel down with their artics. Edit I’m guessing even a lot of the barley / oats are imported as well. The Irish farmers probably wouldn’t be able to produce the shear quantity of stuff the mills churn out.
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » Yeah, just using Kerrys figures from 2016. It would be interesting to see who buys the imported stuff. And the poorer quality stuff would be interesting too.
Bullocks wrote: » Do we import grain for feed stuffs usually or are we self sufficient ?
Lambman wrote: » Lambing slow till take off here despite a large number off ewes covered in the first week and raddle changed after 9 days there was that many covered... hopefully pick up soon tonight's the busiest so far... noticing a lot off rams being born especially twins with 20 sets off twins on the ground 16 is 2rams and the other 4 one off each.
arctictree wrote: » I'm feeding outside now twice a day until the grass comes. Looks like some good growth forecast for this weekend.
charolais0153 wrote: » A lot of rain friday though.
theemigrant wrote: » Many of us feed beet pulp to sheep? Do ye soak first or feed dry??
Lambman wrote: » That's the strongest off them out this morning... bellys must be full there all lying happy as can be... Think tomorrow is mostly dry but bad weekend in store... thinking off leaving trailer open in field never did it before but see people at it would sheep be smart enough till use it? I have my doubts they'd be that smart!
Siamsa Sessions wrote: » Merchants/wholesalers definitely import grain but I'm not sure how much. The concentrates we used this year stated something like,"This product may contain GM ingredients." It's another potential issue for Bord Bia and the green-washing brigade since the imported grain is not GM-free. Hence, they can't sell Irish products as GM-free. There was something in the Journal last year about problems with Irish butter in Germany. As far as I remember, sales were dropping as it was being sold alongside GM-free butter and customers were opting for the GM-free stuff.
kk.man wrote: » Not as stupid as u might think. I have a big double cattle troughs in ever field (help ewes scratching) and some lambs take shelter under them in the rain.
stantheman1979 wrote: Put your hand under them you should feel the lamb. If they’re due they will be making an udder. Have some patience:-)
arctictree wrote: » Lads, finding a lot of lame lambs in the field. Been giving them Pen strep and it goes away after a few days. The real severe cases, all four limbs fecked, I have to put with the pets. Is this joint ill and any way to prevent?
stantheman1979 wrote: » I’m getting crucified with joint ill this year myself. Sometimes 2 legs usually a week or 10 days old. Even mule lambs that were never in the shed. I’m giving them betamox in the field most of them clear up after two days treatment.
razor8 wrote: » Noroclav is very good. Since I started using spectrum I never have a issue with joint Ill even though vets will tell you it’s not linked Was going to chance not using it this year with all the talk of antibiotic resistantance. Didn’t do first 80 lambs and had one case and started using it straight away as had visions of running after lambs every evening injecting them and as a part time farmer I don’t have the time for it I’d be curious to find out if anyone here using spectrum had any cases of joint I’ll??