Appledreams15 wrote: » Then maybe it is many men who are the problem in Ireland. That somehow bizarrely think that they are entitled to rape. Do you want us to be like a muslim country where women are covered head to toe, and their brothers accompany them everywhere? These countries are usually condemned for the human rights abuses of women. ORDo you want to educate men in this country. That is where the change needs to be made
Appledreams15 wrote: » I fight for her and other women like her.
Appledreams15 wrote: » Then maybe it is many men who are the problem in Ireland. That somehow bizarrely think that they are entitled to rape. Do you want us to be like a muslim country where women are covered head to toe, and their brothers accompany them everywhere? These countries are usually condemned for the human rights abuses of women. OR Do you want to educate men in this country. That is where the change needs to be made
wexie wrote: » Of course. But the argument here seems to be made that there is no such thing as women going to VIP sections in nightclubs or houseparties looking for sex. Which is complete and utter nonsense. Now while I'm not happy with automatically labeling them as sluts or 'consenting' by being there I equally don't agree with the argument women (as well as men) don't go looking for it. Seem to be a lot of people here who are quite happy to overlook or deny realities which don't fit their argument. Whichever side that might be.
Maxpfizer wrote: » Yes. Definitely the same. I was thinking exactly that. :rolleyes: I suppose at least you didn't preface it with "so you're saying". So I'll just remove the analogy part. Now you can address the points and I don't need to cop on. This is where you are banging your head against a brick wall called "Reality". From a philosophical point of view you've got it right. How is it my responsibility if I was assaulted? It's the attackers responsibility not mine! Problem. The attacker is behaving irresponsibly. They could go to prison or get hurt themselves or even just face a public shaming but they've evaluated that risk and decided to go through with it anyway. So how can I defend against that? By putting responsibility for my safety in the hands of someone who might want to do me harm? That's great that I can win an online argument and all but what if I just don't want to get hurt?
....... wrote: » This post has been deleted.
zedhead wrote: » So how far do you take that. Don't walk on a dangerous street alone at night. Don't go to a house party with people you don't know. Don't go to a house party at all (because you may not know everyone at a party and may get separated from a friend). Don't be alone with a man you don't know. Don't be alone with any man (a lot of victims know and trusted their rapists until the point they were raped) Don't have any consensual sexual activity if you aren't willing to risk penetration...he may get carried away. Don't get into a relationship with a man (rape within relationship happens). Is there a full list of things people shouldn't do to avoid rape? I don't think many people go out of their way to put themselves in danger, and to live with the fear of everything you lead possibly leading to rape, or assault is a terrifying way to live. Some times people do silly things that leave themselves a little more vunreable, some times things happen no matter how 'safe' you have been. Instead of focusing on what victims can do. Lets focus on people having a bit of respect for who they encounter, encouraging communication so that grey areas of consent are not so grey, no labelling people who choose to have sex, threesomes etc as 'sluts' or 'manwh*res' in a derogatory way. Allow people to own their sexuality and be confortable expressing their boundaries clearly. This won't stop the violent rapist who goes out of his way to rape someone - the ones that are not the majority. But it will stop the cases where people misunderstand the level of consent, people are afraid to say no or stop, and people just feeling like something is a forgone conclusion with no discussion around it.
zedhead wrote: » Instead of focusing on what victims can do. Lets focus on people having a bit of respect for who they encounter, encouraging communication so that grey areas of consent are not so grey,
Permabear wrote: » This post had been deleted.
Maxpfizer wrote: » I don't know how far you take it and I don't know what can be done. It's probably something that can be looked at as a whole spectrum of situations with different contributing factors. Obviously the man who goes to a party with bad intentions and the man who mistakenly thinks that his really drunk girlfriend is reciprocating are different. So it really would have to be taken on a case by case basis. I don't think patronizing stuff like "teach men not to rape" can be helpful here and I can acknowledge that locking women in a cellar isn't going to be a good solution either. So maybe some kind of balance between advising personal responsibility and more open and transparent education could be an answer?
wexie wrote: » How's about we do both?
ChikiChiki wrote: » Zulu wrote: » I feel sorry for the girl, whether or not she was telling porkies or not, it's a sorry sorry affair. How the bloody hell can you feel sorry for a liar??
Zulu wrote: » I feel sorry for the girl, whether or not she was telling porkies or not, it's a sorry sorry affair.
zedhead wrote: » Again, how do you advocate personal responsibility? How far is safe enough for people?
zedhead wrote: » I think the 'teach men not to rape' is a bit simplistic. I think the reality is a lot of people (both men and women) think sex is a foregone conclusion from certain scenarios and so do not consider their actions rape. If they made that connection they probably would not do it. There is an attitude among groups of people that sex is a prize to be won rather than a mutual encounter between consenting people. Lets address those attitudes and beliefs through the open and transparent education. Again, how do you advocate personal responsibility? How far is safe enough for people?
kylith wrote: » Invariably in threads like these women are either naive idiots who should have expected something bad to happen for going back to a man’s house OR man hating feminazis who assume all men are rapists if they don’t go back to a man’s house. Some men will throw their eyes up to heaven and wring their hands about the death of casual sex and how you can’t even talk to women without being labelled a sex pest, while simultaneously saying that a woman who goes off with a guy and winds up raped brought it on herself for being so stupid, basically. Others will whinge about it ruining sex when someone suggests taking literally 2 seconds to check with someone if everything’s cool. Some men will point out that that men aren’t psychic and that women should say no of thy’re not happy while others are saying that men ‘just know’ if a woman is up for it even if she has previously said no to something. So basically it comes down to the fact that we should trust men, except that we shouldn’t trust men. But we should magically know which men we can and can’t trust, and if we don't we’re feminazis and if we do we should have known not to when something bad happens. Have I missed anything?
Appledreams15 wrote: » Maxpfizer wrote: » But they do. You are stuck in the idea that "taking personal responsibility" is equal to "it's your own fault if something bad happens". You can win a fight on The Internet this way, sure. It's clear that you can't just have a "well it's your own fault anyway" attitude towards victims, that's horrible. In reality though? There are bad people and they will do bad things. It's always been that way and it always will be. You could ask them not to do the bad things. Plead with them. Threaten them with prison time, even execution in some countries. Yet they still persist. So we take an individual and give them a choice. Put your safety in the hands of others, potentially bad people. Or take responsibility for your own safety. Your reaction? Can't we just tell the rapists not to rape? Why have humans built walls and armies and the like when they could have just asked invaders to please not do that anymore?https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Drogheda "Don't tell us to build walls and train soldiers, tell Cromwell to stop conquering" It's not a question of who's at fault. We all know who's in the wrong here and it's not the victims. Everyone agrees with that. You can't simply deny reality because it makes a nice catchy slogan. Then maybe it is many men who are the problem in Ireland. That somehow bizarrely think that they are entitled to rape. Do you want us to be like a muslim country where women are covered head to toe, and their brothers accompany them everywhere? These countries are usually condemned for the human rights abuses of women. OR Do you want to educate men in this country. That is where the change needs to be made
Maxpfizer wrote: » But they do. You are stuck in the idea that "taking personal responsibility" is equal to "it's your own fault if something bad happens". You can win a fight on The Internet this way, sure. It's clear that you can't just have a "well it's your own fault anyway" attitude towards victims, that's horrible. In reality though? There are bad people and they will do bad things. It's always been that way and it always will be. You could ask them not to do the bad things. Plead with them. Threaten them with prison time, even execution in some countries. Yet they still persist. So we take an individual and give them a choice. Put your safety in the hands of others, potentially bad people. Or take responsibility for your own safety. Your reaction? Can't we just tell the rapists not to rape? Why have humans built walls and armies and the like when they could have just asked invaders to please not do that anymore?https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Drogheda "Don't tell us to build walls and train soldiers, tell Cromwell to stop conquering" It's not a question of who's at fault. We all know who's in the wrong here and it's not the victims. Everyone agrees with that. You can't simply deny reality because it makes a nice catchy slogan.
wexie wrote: » So we just shouldn't bother right? Is that what you're saying? How do you feel about that? Seems like good advice no? Do you think we should just replace those signs with other ones saying : don't rob people's stuff?
zedhead wrote: » If someone gets pick-poketed we don't automatically say 'well what were they expecting when they went out carrying a bag'
Game Face MCGee wrote: » educate the country (I presume you mean young men and boys when you say this) on what tho? not to rape? I would hazard a guess that the vast vast majority of men in this country know not to do this, really look around you at the men you know? are they all budding rapist waiting to pounce, no they are not, get some perspective
Appledreams15 wrote: » I am going to be volunteering with Syrian refugees in June in Turkey. This thread has genuinely put fear into my mind. Will I be safe? Should I not go? Is this thread how many men think?
hill16bhoy wrote: » There is a widespread culture of rape within prisons.
wexie wrote: » Nor do we (or at least not me) tell rape victims that they should have expected it. But that doesn't make good advice any less valid. Are you honestly saying that despite the fact we know there are murderers and rapists and pickpockets out there (and we can't change that fact) nobody should ever, for any reason and under any circumstances evaluate and minimize the risks they are putting themselves in?
kylith wrote: » HArdly the same thing. Big Bad Rapists know what thwy’re Doing is wrong, but the guy throwing an extra vodka into a girl’s glass so she gets drunk faster probably wouldn’t see himself as a Rapist, even though what he’s doing is pretty skeevy. Consent classes would be for all young people and would focus on ‘if you have to badger her into it then she probably doesn’t want to’ and ‘take 2 seconds to check your sexual partner would like to try the thing with the chains and ball weights before you get them out’.