Johnny Dogs wrote: » Redfern in 2004. That is all.
Big Nasty wrote: » Worked in an Irish Pub in Germany 20+ years back. There were two long term rental apartments that staff used to stay in, lads in one, girls in the other. Apartments themselves were fine apart from the fact that every inch of free space had a bed in it meaning there were usually about 10 people living in each two bed apartment. To be fair that kind of happened organically as new staff were taken on and the landlords weren't aware of it. As tends to happen when people are working abroad the sessions were unreal. There was very little drugs involved, mostly just drink. 14 hour work days followed by marathon drinking sessions. One lad ended up in hospital burned out. Anyhow the riding that was done was unnatural. Staff literally paired off and some nights there could be twenty staying in the one two bed apartment. It was like an orgie in every room with couples openly riding the hole of each other bareback as others went about their business. Good times!
Stonedpilot wrote: » Haha. Germany was always very Gay friendly .
Big Nasty wrote: » Maybe I explained it wrong but nobody was gay. Although given the chance I'm sure a few of them wouldn't have said no! :eek:
ELM327 wrote: » I think it's pretty self explanatory tbh
Cutie 3.14 wrote: » Waterford
Church on Tuesday wrote: » Went looking at a room in Galway one time. The pictures on Daft looked fine, I was a student at the time and the rent was cheap. Turns out there was a reason for that. The house was owner occupied, it would only be me and him. Was welcomed at the front door (when It was eventually answered) by a fairly fidgety chap. The front room was full of rubbish and clearly had not been cleaned in some time. The kitchen was knee deep with rubbish, I mean you could barely walk in. All the time the owner is getting more and more nervous. Think he mentioned something about knocking down a wall in the house too. Was shown the bedroom which had a load of his things strewn around and a not so new mattress. My skin and hair was starting to get itchy at this stage, I assume from the less then hygienic surroundings, and at this stage I just wanted to get out and have a shower.
ArnoldJRimmer wrote: » At the height of the Celtic Tiger, rented part of a house in Ranelagh. It was extremely difficult to get something at the time, and the rent was semi-reasonable. It looked like it was a fine house at one stage, but in typical Irish landlord fashion, zero effort was put in to make it habitable, and he cheaped out on everything The carpets probably hadn't been replaced in 30 years, or at least it was impossible to make out what colours they originally were. The window frames were rotten, which became very evident once winter came. I had to tape up the windows in my bedroom to keep out the cold Like a previous poster, the heat was controlled by the landlord. Only went on at certain times of the day and night during the winter which was fine during the week if you worked 9-5, but it was absolutely baltic when sitting in during the weekends. The tiny bathroom had a leak in the ceiling coming from upstairs. I pointed this out to the landlord who blamed it on the tenants upstairs 'not using their shower curtain' which was kind of missing the point. We watched as the damp patch on the ceiling spread throughout the floor. When we eventually had enough, the cheeky fcuker tried to bill us for the state of the jacks (all flood related). But did so before we had paid final rent which was cash in hand so I told him where to go. Left on amicable enough terms though and a few months later I was passing by so decided to check if there was any mail for us. To my surprise, the landlord answered the door, saying he was doing some work upstairs. Turned out the tenants on the second floor had a new years party, and the ceiling (very water damaged) collapsed into our old apartment below. No one injured thankfully, but our place was still vacant at that stage. Even after all this, the landlord was fixing it up himself to save a few bob
drillyeye wrote: » Reminds me of a place I actually stayed in way back. There was a two bed flat above mine (and to the left) and there were constant complaints about leaking water and such, just watching the stains grow across the ceilings and walls. The real gem were the bin bags though. The provided bins outside were always overflowing, there needed to be three times as many bins to hold it all, at least. That went on for a while, until the landlord copped on that there 14 (fourteen!) people living upstairs, hence the bin situation. They were quickly given the boot. I went up to see the empty flat afterwards and I was amazed that so many people were able to live there, it was very small even for 2 people. They had been working shifts all the time, every inch of the floors taken up with makeshift beds. Crazy stuff. Like those trains in india with half a million people hanging off the side! But in Dublin city centre.
Skedaddle wrote: » We had a three "bedroom" apartment. In reality it was two bedrooms and a converted utility room which was making do as a single room. I was doing an internship and had no money, so it had to do. We had: Bedroom 1: A couple from China. Bedroom 2: Two single beds : Me and a guy from Germany, an inflatable mattress another guy from France and sometimes another inflatable mattress with whoever was in need of a house who we happened to know. Bedroom 3: Insane, grumpy woman who used to appear now and then to have huge fights with people for no reason. I basically worked all day, ate out, and stayed in the office (overnight if I could) to avoid going home. And for this I was paying £700/month. I eventually found something better, but at that time, London was just off the scale nuts.
FakePie wrote: » I think some of the farmer types that rent property in Ireland have real primitive values. Like, they think dirty is trendy or something.
FakePie wrote: » Where?