Fann Linn wrote: » I made that point a few days back and was told it happened 80 miles up the road. Lots of people protesting here and elaewhere need to go back to 1st year geography and civics.
Silentcorner wrote: » The protests have already begun to affect change in this state, so in the future a lot of victims of rape will have this case to be grateful for.
Uncharted wrote: » Unravelling with every post........ you haven't a notion of the facts of the case. You're simply latching on to the hyperbole post case! Lol. Stereotypical bandwagoner extraordinaire
Silentcorner wrote: » Come on, this happened on the other side of this island, not the other side of the world. The protests have already begun to affect change in this state, so in the future a lot of victims of rape will have this case to be grateful for.
Faugheen wrote: » Point where I said they were guilty please. You wont be able to, because what I have said is that I believe the woman felt she was raped, and I also believe the lads didn't realise this. Which is why I've been talking about consent for the last few days. What I have argued is people spreading fake news that the verdict means the jury didn't believe her, that the rape didn't happen, that she lied etc. It's all false. All the verdict means is that the prosecution couldn't prove their case beyond reasonable doubt, and in this trial it's a verdict I believe. Don't tell me what I do and don't think, please. Also, the pair of them created this mess by being absolute animals whether a rape happened or not. One of the men acknowledges it, regrets it and understands the repercussions of his behaviour. The other one is being a spoiled brat and keeping himself in the public eye instead of focussing on getting back to work, as he said he's was going to do.
Faugheen wrote: » Jackson knew she was bleeding. Rory Harrison told Blane McIlroy that she was in hysterics. Olding boasted about being top shaggers, while the pair of them boasted about spit roasting. All of this came out in court. The lads don't have a leg to stand on if both the IRFU and Ulster wanted to cancel their contracts for gross misconduct or bringing the game into disrepute. These are professional sportsmen who are expected to carry themselves well because they're in the public eye. Whether the messages were intended to be private or not is irrelevant, they were made public in this trial. If the sponsors say no, then it's all on Jackson and Olding. If they don't behave like animals then this doesn't happen. Also, I'll remind you, Jackson hasn't apologised to the complainant like Olding has. That will be one of the first things they'll ask him in that review.
Stheno wrote: » Not quite. All that is happening is a review
Faugheen wrote: » Why hasn't Jackson apologised then? That's part of my point, Ulster and the IRFU could say "this woman left your house bleeding and in hysterics, why haven't you apologised?" And he would have no legitimate answer for it. What Jackson has been doing is going after other people. He's let his solicitor attack the PSNI, the PPS and use his standing as an international rugby player to suggest that was the reason for bringing the case. He has also let his solicitor say he's looking forward to getting back to work, which means representing his province and country as if it was a thinly veiled threat to Ulster and the IRFU. Olding, in contrast, regretted the night, apologised for the hurt caused to the complainant, and said he hoped to be able to play rugby again. Olding gets it, Jackson refuses to get it, and it sums up the attitude of privileged that were thrown at him.
Silentcorner wrote: » A review is how it begins, and it would be churlish to suggest that change won't be achieved, there is a huge amount of determination to enshrine that change in legislation. You can of course take to the streets to object to any change, every one has a right to protest.
Stheno wrote: » The review may find no change is required here
RuMan wrote: » Ok so we agree Jackson did little wrong. I asked you to stop blaming him for the actions of others. Why would Jackson apologise when he clearly believes it was consensual and the woman filed a false accusation against him? I have little interest in Harrison or McIlroy. Jackson has a legal verdict and a contract to stand on. If the IRFU break that contract to pander to the likes of coppinger it will cost .
FrancieBrady wrote: » What needs to change in the south?
Silentcorner wrote: » Ah come on... Like I have said, at least half a dozen time, a victim should have access to her own legal representation. For a start. I also think that everyone from An Garda, to the Judiciary should receive and be familiar with every aspect of rape and sexual assault. I also think that jurors should be given an induction course to the same. By the way, more education would help everyone sort between genuine rape cases and false rape accusations.
the_pen_turner wrote: » what changes are they claiming are needed
FrancieBrady wrote: What needs to change in the south?
Fann Linn wrote: » Nothing to do with the crime but all to do with the celebs. Still two different jurisdictions. Btw- the system down here is supposedly better. Perhaps the review should take place in NI.
Mrsmum wrote: » Advice to PJ if he wants to play again - come down off his high horse, accept his part in being an asshole that night, he can say it was out of character but he is sorry for letting fans down and something along the lines of sorry for any thoughtless (not sure that's the right word)behaviour that upset the young woman. Time to be humble now Paddy. After all if he could live that time again, he would do it very differently, I'm sure or at least I hope. God knows he will have to keep his nose clean from now on so it's a very quiet life from now on. If he persists with anger and no personal responsibility whatsoever, I think it won't go well for him because you see it's not the diehard fans who are still onside he has to reach but those like me whose stomach he currently turns.
upandcumming wrote: » I know one! If a complainant waives anonymity, that means the defendants right (in a rape case) to anonymity is gone. That is wrong.
Deleted User wrote: » Fair enough, my mistake.
RuMan wrote: » Privacy ? So innocent men dont have their lives destroyed by Amadan O'Riordan, Coppinger and the Twitter mob. We already have that here though I'd suggest harsher sentences for rapists but the left dont like to give harsh sentences to criminals. Better to abuse innocent people apparently.