keane2097 wrote: » A truly bizarre line up. Maybe we'll end up doing something special this year and I'll have to eat my words but I'm very much ready for this set up to be over.
DDC1990 wrote: » Nothing more then a challenge game today. Griffin couldn't play the sweeper role. Buckley couldn't play the full forward role. A lot of things tried out. As much as I like to participate in the Mikey Geaney bashing, he was grand today. Got taken off at half time, but it was so we could switch to Man to Man as Griffin was struggling in the sweeper role. Griffin looked decent in the second half with the pressure off him in an unfamiliar role. Midfield were poor enough. Spillane was good on frees. Coffey did well, though was close to getting sent off for a pretty bad high tackle. Stephen O'Brien looked very dangerous. Tyrone goal looked suspiciously like a square ball and Deegan kind of rode us in the second half, but they were the better team.
windy shepard henderson wrote: fair play on anyone who made the long trip up , a mate of mine from dromid pearses once informed me that tyrone were dangerous opposition in both stand , sideline and on the field after an informas club game in o'moore park a few years back
Radio5 wrote: » So what has been learned from the League this year?
Radio5 wrote: So what has been learned from the League this year?
keane2097 wrote: I wrote this elsewhere lately about the management appearing to stagger from system to system, notion to notion, and none of their plans or ideas ever surviving the first encounter with resistance.
DDC1990 wrote: » I think it's a ploy during the league. You really don't want to give too much away in glorified challenge games. Dublin switch between systems with ease depending on the state of the match. That's where the aim should be as they are the best defensive team in the game at the moment. It's not pretty watching teams sally past us when we have gone man to man because Fitzmaurice is happy with what he watched, but I firmly believe that its not ineptitude on the sidelines but an attempt to cover up some more serious defensive work.
Poor_old_gill wrote: I think theres life in Savage & Andrew Barry yet.
keane2097 wrote: I've lost the faith that it's some super secret masterplan over the last while for various reasons.
DDC1990 wrote: » Absolutely. Not writing them off at all. Savage looked great in some championship games last year but form wasn't great in the limited game time he got this year. With competition so high for place I just feel like he will struggle to make the match day 26. With Andrew Barry I think he needs another year. He's got a great football brain and physically looks very good. I'd worry about speed for the Intercounty game but there may be a role as a sweeper.
DDC1990 wrote: Found Tyrone supporters to be extremely welcoming and reasoned the last 2 trips to Omagh.
Amprodude wrote: Fitzmaurice doing famous work with that Kerry team. Keep it up.
DDC1990 wrote: » Yeah an All Ireland, a League and 5 Munsters in a row. Pretty decent return. Are Cork safe from Division 3 yet or is it still possible ye will be playing Carlow and Offaly next year?
Amprodude wrote: » I was actually complementing his good work. Nice to count in the Munsters in the roll of honour. The way Kerry are going in division 1 this year you be better off down in division 2, I'm sure most would agree. Other results have kept you just up.
Forge83 wrote: » Who here follows the club football scene strongly? What players do you think are good enough to be included on the Kerry squad that currently are not? Could Tommy Walsh ever return? What is the story with Shane Ryan? Goalie or is he strong enough to be considered outfield?
dobman88 wrote: » Shane Ryan turned down a call up to the panel. They wanted him to play in goals for Rathmore but he's a very good full forward for them. He wasn't going to get any game time in the forwards with Kerry so he turned it down.
Forge83 wrote: » Is that because he doesn’t want to be a goalie or he feels he is good enough to be considered in the forwards? Scored 1-6 today for Rathmore. Kicked a 45 too. From talking to other supporters I got the impression he has the potential to be superior to our current two keepers....