ameirecan wrote: » Many years ago, rebellious students campaigned and fought for far-left ideas like gay rights, legalization of contraception, veganism and the socialist utopia. These days being pro-immigration, pro-gay rights and anti-religion is the epitome of the establishment. These are the safe, mainstream ideas that are celebrated daily in our media. Our Taoiseach is an openly homosexual son of an Indian immigrant. These days the rebels are the lads who go to mass every Sunday and take pride in their country’s past and traditions. They want to keep Ireland for the Irish and many even make the effort to include a cúpla focail in their daily conversations. Instead of indulging in hedonistic binge drinking and casual sex antics at the weekend, they stay in and study the writings of Pearse. Witholding sex until after marriage is the radical thing to do these days.
Pepefrogok wrote: There my be a part of that to it but I believe a lot of the youth are coming round to more conservative/right wing views because they are now actually seeing what side of the argument has been constantly correct and what side offers them a better future.
ameirecan wrote: Pearse was ahead of his time. "An Ireland not free merely, but Gaelic as well; not Gaelic merely, but free as well." I wonder what he'd make of modern multicultural Ireland that sends boats out to the Mediterranean to ferry illegals to Europe....that imposes over 100 asylum seekers on a small village like Lisdoonvarna. Our leaders have betrayed the ideals fought for by our patriot dead.
Wanderer78 wrote: » And what would this better future be?
ameirecan wrote: » Pearse was ahead of his time. "An Ireland not free merely, but Gaelic as well; not Gaelic merely, but free as well." I wonder what he'd make of modern multicultural Ireland that sends boats out to the Mediterranean to ferry illegals to Europe....that imposes over 100 asylum seekers on a small village like Lisdoonvarna. Our leaders have betrayed the ideals fought for by our patriot dead. The other major powers in the world, China and Russia, don't appease this sick liberal ideology. Hence they are growing stronger while the West rots from the inside. Just some observations on the world. Please don't silence me.
phoney_curtis wrote: the mods slap bans exclusively on those with conservative views
professore wrote: » Yes. For sure. I've seen this transition. I was in college where some of my friends protested installing condom machines in the toilets - I kid you not. When my daughter said she thinks that immigration should be limited and controlled, one of her "friends" screamed "you are a murderer" at her repeatedly. And my daughter isn't conservative or liberal, she thinks for herself. She says they just parrot these ideas as black and white facts and they are not open to discussion. To me this is the biggest problem. In the West this was traditionally a more conservative stance - you believe it "because I said so". If someone stands up in front of admiring followers and tells you what they believe and won't allow any questions then I'm out. If your ideas are so great you should be able to stand up and robustly defend it. If you don't want to "engage" then what you have is an ideology or a religion - not a reasoned opinion. For example Katie Hopkins in the UK, Ben Shapiro and Milo Yiannopolous in the US debate from one end of the day until the other. Liberals on the other hand, come on chat shows, are asked sympathetic questions, and parrot the party line to canned applause. No criticism or questioning is permitted. And Pearse ... I wouldn't be mad about him personally.
splinter65 wrote: At one stage we were on a dangerous toad to socialism but we’re off it now. We still are too bogged down in left wing rubbish but as the other poster said, Irish people are too smart to swallow all that crap and I’m confident we will get back. I was heartened by the reaction to the looting at Lidl incident.
splinter65 wrote: » At one stage we were on a dangerous toad to socialism but we’re off it now. We still are too bogged down in left wing rubbish but as the other poster said, Irish people are too smart to swallow all that crap and I’m confident we will get back. I was heartened by the reaction to the looting at Lidl incident.
Bob_Marley wrote: » It's not as binary as conservative - liberal Economically the west is being pushed by it's leaders further and further to the extreme right. Socially it's being pushed further and further towards the extreme left.
Pepefrogok wrote: » There my be a part of that to it but I believe a lot of the youth are coming round to more conservative/right wing views because they are now actually seeing what side of the argument has been constantly correct and what side offers them a better future.
Bob_Marley wrote: » Islam is not seen as a credible threat, as it is too extreme and easily dismissed. (in the mind of European politicians)
lawred2 wrote: » fecken socialist toads
professore wrote: » True in the US but Europe is extreme left both politically and socially.
splinter65 wrote: » Irish people are too smart to swallow all that crap
Bob_Marley wrote: » Rubbish, Irish people swallow whatever the Irish media tell them to.
splinter65 wrote: » We’ll see...
splinter65 wrote: » You’ve replied to 2 seperate posts using 3 words and an emoji and no opinion of your own. I don’t think you can mock anyone else’s spelling.
Wanderer78 wrote: » There's no such thing as freedom on this planet, each person and society is confined by certain parameters, some of these parameters are controlled by individuals, groups, institutions etc etc.