[Deleted User] wrote: » Grrrrr! I wish RTÉ management, for the first time ever, could send a big, final, definitive memo to all its journalists: 'It's 2018. We use the metric system now. Every single road sign in this European state is in metric only since 2005, just as every measurement in Met Éireann has been in metric since the same year. That's 13 years ago. We are the state media organisation. We are now only going to use metric measurements so please stop this backward regressive nonsense about feet, inches, yards and miles in your reports. Thank you.'
Jawgap wrote: » Yeah, because turning out the Army and leaving things like armouries unguarded is a good idea......
Jawgap wrote: » .......and sure given the brilliant wages they're on shouldn't they all be working 24 hours a day, every day.
Harry Palmr wrote: » Waterford - no more snow and its starting to fall off walls, branches etc so I think we're just into the beginnings of a thaw.
Harry Palmr wrote: » Just listening to the biz programme on RTE radio, huge numbers of small businesses clearly taking a big hit which they'll never recover.
That's all well and good - but has anyone actually seen a costa open?
nostro wrote: » Absolute rubbish. Life is about more than spending money on unnecessary consumer products. All their competitors will also have been closed so it just means that people will have more money to spend when people venture out and start buying things again. In other countries many businesses are not allowed to sell on Sundays to let people do non materialistic things. Here families spend their Sundays at shopping malls and we have 6:00am sales on Stephens day. Maybe consider that playing in the snow is a more worthwhile activity than buying even more stuff in shops.
minikin wrote: » On that note I see Lidl have taken the gloves off. They're zeppelining over new items for Tuesday's offers: Stun guns, man traps, mace, baseball bats and sterilisation kits. An attack on one outlet is an attack on the entire reich!!! [/COLOR]
nostro wrote: » Now that makes absolutely no sense. So Lidl will be selling people the tools which they can use to attack Lidl stores.
Patww79 wrote: » This post has been deleted.
DEFTLEFTHAND wrote: » Fcking fell last night and cracked a rib. In severe discomfort Fcking drunk idiot.
DEFTLEFTHAND wrote: » Fcking ribcage is banjaxed lads. Need whiskey to ease pain.
minikin wrote: » Not so sure about that unfortunately Nostro, many small businesses run on tight margins. They are less resilient than larger competitors because the banks can be brutal in advancing credit facilities. They would also have less redundancy in terms of systems and staff numbers... so a few days lost trading or missing staff can ruin a month for them... a bad month can ruin a year... look at what happened to Lidl, in the grand scheme of things they'll bounce back... if that happened to a small retail outlet - game over.
dirtyden wrote: » If having to close for a couple of days has that impact the business is not viable. Coming from a small shopkeepers family what actually happens is a day like today we would be much busier than typical. The losses from 2 days closed would be regained quickly enough once reopened. In any small business there has to be an element of contingency planning. For every small business you will have some downtime, whether it’s a supply issue, a leaky roof, whatever. You need to be able manage these or your business was never a goer. Now if someone smashed a jcb through the wall we would have been in trouble alright.