_Dara_ wrote: » Hey! You scut! I replied, maaaan, I repliiiied. To be honest though, it kinda seems like no example will be good enough for you. Just read Wibbs’ post upthread there, I’m far too lazy to restate it in a different way.
strandroad wrote: » These goosebumped bikini girls promoting anything and everything in the morning Metro! Usually photographed in St Stephen's Green or Grand Canal Dock for some reason. Metro is now dead, not sure if it's still a thing in the dailies? In general, magazine ads with writhing, panting women; you don't see ads with men sporting their orgasm face, do you...
Wibbs wrote: » *Not just by men either. IMHO the most pernicious of that sh1te shows up in media aimed at and usually produced by women.
Dank Janniels wrote: » That mag in the Sindo used to be desperate for this, think there was some promo for half price lamb in Dunnes or sumthing and there was a photo of Georgia Salpa in her knickers bside Nevin Maguire with a rack of lamb on a serving plate down Grafton steet!
professore wrote: » No I don't actually, I just want to see what people consider objectification of women that is apparently so widespread, but yet I can't see it, and I'm a man so it should be obvious to me.
professore wrote: » Fair point. Georgia Salpa is just a sexy woman no matter what she wears. Is that objectification? Probably. Is there anything wrong with that? I don't think so.
professore wrote: Fair point. Georgia Salpa is just a sexy woman no matter what she wears. Is that objectification? Probably. Is there anything wrong with that? I don't think so.
Triceratops Ballet wrote: » It's about relevance If Georgia Salpa (or any woman) is in a bikini to promote bikinis, or fake tan or waxing then it's not objectification because it's relevant. If it's to sell scratch cards, promote a bar or sell chocolate, then she's being used as a prop, because her being in a bikini is irrelevant to the item. Also have you ever seen a lynx ad? Bounties of beautiful women there to be acquired by the bloke who douses himself in way too much cheap deodorant
suicide_circus wrote: » Men happen to be encased in a strong shell. This quality is utilised by society to carry out certain tasks. Women happen to be encased in beautiful shells.
Dank Janniels wrote: » Whoops always thought it had sumthing to do with lamb! My bad!! And now Im hungry!!
strandroad wrote: » If it was so normal we'd be seeing goosebumped ripped lads in Speedos promoting new muesli flavours with Darina Allen down Grafton St too and yet somehow we don't :pac:
professore wrote: The magnum ad, isn't that aimed at women? Men don't get the same almost orgasmic effect from chocolate that I've heard several women say they get.
professore wrote: Selling something? Sure, a pretty woman is going to attract men, but isn't a handsome man going to have the same effect on women? Look at the TUI ad - groups of scantily clad men worshipping a single woman. Why exactly is it different?
Triceratops Ballet wrote: » The lynx ad uses sexy women to sell mens smelly stuff, like it or not, the women are actually irrelevant to the product, it's a brand decision to advertise it as "wear this and get girls" it's not satire (what is it even satire of?)
strandroad wrote: » Seriously you never see women treated as accessories? Like one can't present a car at a trade show unless there is a "hostess" draped over it, or a phone without cute girls playing with them? One can't sell Magnum ice cream unless there's a woman giving oral to the ice cream and making I'm coming faces? Never see models undressing to pose with raffle tickets, tuna noodles or a set of tools? I find it hard to believe!
Koala Sunshine wrote: And what's wrong with that? The company gets increased sales and Georgia Salpa gets some easy cash through her own free choice. #bodilyautonomy #righttochoose
tigger123 wrote: » Plus anytime anything is announced in the newspapers (particularly the Indo or the tabloids) there's usually a pair of rented honeys with a cardboard cut out of a slogan standing next to a CEO or industry big wig.
professore wrote: » No I don't actually, I just want to see what people consider objectification of women that is apparently so widespread, but yet I can't see it, and I'm a man so it should be obvious to me. I see lots of women deliberately objectifying themselves for personal gain (Miley Cyrus for example) and men do this too but can't think of many for women in mainstream media where women are objectified. You have stuff like lap dancing clubs and such like but they aren't mainstream and there's female alternatives to these.