Anthracite wrote: » And what if the person you are paying on the other end stiffs you for what you bought? What if they were selling a non-existent product under a fake name on Ebay?
makeorbrake wrote: » How do you mean, hoping for the best? Money is transferred from one crypto wallet to another - simples.
grindle wrote: » Typical old-guard speaking about it - where have you been?
Anthracite wrote: » We can already do peer to peer transactions. What banks provide is insurance so that you are not left holding the bag when things go wrong. That's a service that I willing pay for, and it's why I'll use Paypal or VISA when paying for something on the internet, rather than wiring Ether or Bitcoin to an anonymous wallet and hoping for the best.
Tinder Surprise wrote: » Simple answer; there is zero profit for them if financial transactions are Peer to Peer.
Fighting Tao wrote: » Fear. If FIAT loses market share / power, their business suffers. Banks have crypto currencies as a serious threat on their SWOT analysis's.
Anthracite wrote: » I don't understand this logic: why would banks (other than possibly central banks) have any issue with cryptocurrencies?
Anthracite wrote: » I don't understand this logic: why would banks (other than possibly central banks) have any issue with cryptocurrencies? They trade and invest in every commodity from toilet paper to diamonds - crypto would just be another avenue for making money to them. It seems like something someone in the Bitcoin community threw out as an argument years ago and everybody just swallowed it uncritically.
makeorbrake wrote: » Citing senior bankers!? Please - you know better than this. They despise crypto with a passion.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » I'm not one of those troll yokes. I'm a skeptic about this entire cryptocurrency thing, and I'm entitled to put forward an opposing viewpoint without being called names. I've become extremely interested in this entire space, and have the benefit of not being emotionally involved bu owning any of these coins.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » Here's what I see as one of the main problems. Bitfinex is the largest exchange in the world, and was where most of the big buy orders went in during November and December. Now the lads who own Bitfinex also own this coin called Tether. Now this tether thing is meant to be backed one to one against the US dollar. Now we have to take their word for it, as they sacked their last auditors, and now appear to be 'printing' or 'magicing' hundreds of millions of unbacked Tethers at zero cost. These are then been transferred to Bitfinex who use this tether to buy bitcoin. They then sell the bitcoins purchased using this magic monopoly money on another exchange for real dollars. This is the process where fake money is turned into real money and the circle is complete. Now it looks like people are starting to get a bit worried all this. If the price of bitcoin has been manipulated then what is its real value? If bitcoin collapses then all the shítcoins collapse too.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » The same holds true for all of those ICOs ye are getting excited about. I create a coin by downloading the source from this github site. I create a website and propose that my coin is going to be used for something like replacing estate agents, or sharing media, or getting around censorship. Generate hype on twitter, make up some partnerships like buying a cloud service off Microsoft for an hour, and saying I'm now in partnership with them. I promise ye a bonus if you deposit ether into my wallet. I then create my own fantasy coin out of thin air. I keep your ether, transfer it off to an exchange, and cash it out for real money. Meanwhile I give you a heap of my magic coins, which you hope someone will buy off you for more than you paid for it in ether.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » The entire thing is a house of cards. It will only keep going as long as other people keep paying in at the bottom.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » The big lads at the top are manipulating the price
JohnnyFlash wrote: » That's my reading of it. People who agree with me: Nobel prize winning economists, senior bankers, some of the shrewdest investors in the world. People who don't: vested interests and those with skin in the game.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » And those exchanges are the biggest scams of all - I genuinely believe they take your money, and pay out the whales at the top, who in many cases are probably themselves.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » I don't want people to lose money, and I'm told that blockchain is a novel technology, if difficult to see a use case for at the moment. I'm 100% convinced this cryptocurrency craze at the moment is a scam though, and that loads of the little guys will be fleeced by the few dudes creaming it all off at the top of the pyramid. It's not investing, it's pure unadulterated gambling, where the house has an absolute enormous edge over you. And those exchanges are the biggest scams of all - I genuinely believe they take your money, and pay out the whales at the top, who in many cases are probably themselves. So that makes it a classic ponzi scheme. This whole charade might go on for another day, week, month or year. But it will come tumbling down. It's a speculative bubble built on scams and false promises. And the vast majority of people will lose in this game.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » I'm entitled to put forward an opposing viewpoint without being called names.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » Here's what I see as one of the main problems. Bitfinex ... Tether...
Anthracite wrote: » Wanting it to fail and thinking it will fail are not the same thing.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » People who agree with me: Nobel prize winning economists, senior bankers, some of the shrewdest investors in the world. People who don't: vested interests and those with skin in the game.
Chloe Tall Meal wrote: » People who either really want it to fail or have an irrational hatred of cryptos, so people just like you. This is what's driving their opinion rather than any clue about the potential or not of cryptos as an investment or as a currency.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » l That's my reading of it. People who agree with me: Nobel prize winning economists, senior bankers, some of the shrewdest investors in the world. .
Dr Bolouswki wrote: » Guy is just a troll. Hasn't a fúcking notion what he is talking about. Not a single fúcking notion. "But its not a TING! How can it have value if its not a ting?". Deliberate trolling, endlessly repeating the same garbage, contributing nothing. Seriously. Where's your self respect? You are the drunk at the end of the bar, endlessly jabbering on about the same shíte with no coherence to anything you say. Claiming to be "long in the tooth" but acting like a pre-teen endlessly seeking attention while saying nothing. You should be ashamed of yourself. Deliberately targetting a group of people to aggravate and nay-say their interest without a shred of understanding other than "it's not a ting"... seriously. Get a life.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » Give me real money and I’ll give you some magic beans. Hope you can sell those magic beans to another lad for more that you paid for em....
Deleted User wrote: » Ah good man Johnny, the forum is far too quiet tonight. So what's the real story Johnny? I'm starting to suspect that you might be the biggest HODLER of us all here, trying to scare the weak hands into selling during these uncertain times. Are you in fact Johnny the Whale?
Fighting Tao wrote: » Johnny’s got you covered!
lifeandtimes wrote: » 1. Johnny got burned hard by this and/previous investments and is sour 2. Johnny missed the boat and wants to make everyone feel bad 3. Johnny is a fiat trader and is trying to FUD people in crypto to bring money back to them.
lifeandtimes wrote: » Johnny wants to have his cake and eat it too. It's a win win and Johnny sails off into the night
JohnnyFlash wrote: » No offence pal, but I doubt the figures been talked about here would be enough to impact the price of the euro versus the dollar. No, just a random punter who is fascinated by this stuff. It’s such a scam, and I feel I’m bringing a different perspective than the usual congratulatory back slapping stuff that goes on here from lads who suddenly think they are Gordon gecko. Going on about day trading and readin whitepapers.. might be better time spent reading about how the entire thing is a scam designed to take money from lads in merica and Europe and hand it over to bucks from China and Korea. Them exchanges - pure scam. Give me real money and I’ll give you some magic beans. Hope you can sell those magic beans to another lad for more that you paid for em....