ED E wrote: » If we could do ONE thing nationally to start fixing our dogs dinner of a dwelling pattern this would be it.
bk wrote: » Cork, Limerick, etc. will never attract top tier employers like Google, Facebook, etc. (Apple aside for historical reasons in Cork). However they can attract the smaller second tier companies, the Ubers, Payapls, etc. .
Idbatterim wrote: » heres a bloody plan! Why not aim higher, rather than the typical Irish "vision" why not allow affordable housing, spend more on infrastructure and lower marginal tax rates and attract our friends and family back home, attract new migrants who can contribute here!!! Build a proper docklands in cork, make it a city of some scale and continue growing Dublin, electrify the route between the two and put in decent speed rail...
Shurimgreat wrote: » Subsidising Dublin region with our water :rolleyes:
lalababa wrote: » The old people with the 15 suckler/100 ewes/ 35 acres will die and the land will be joined into ever increasing bigger farms, with less and less labour per output. Milking robots coming in and yes robot grain,silage and veg/other crops/ wood harvesting in the future. That's the trend and that's what'll happen. And I don't see much wrong with it. Tis only change.
LeinsterDub wrote: » What's in it for Sneem?. Sneem really could use an International Airport. :rolleyes::rolleyes:
Idbatterim wrote: » very good point about college, with regards to agriculture, over the next few years, I am assuming, automated machines etc will do the harvesting and will replace even more agricultural related jobs?
Idbatterim wrote: » Build a proper docklands in cork, make it a city of some scale and continue growing Dublin, electrify the route between the two and put in decent speed rail...
LeinsterDub wrote: » It is indeed but it suggested North of Balbriggan would be suitable
nuac wrote: » That article is behind a paywall. It seems to refer a 20O8 Proposal for an alternative port to Dublin. AFAIK nothing further on that since.
lalababa wrote: » People - ye can argue the ins and outs till the cows come home, and feck all will happen. The trend will continue, rural communities and villages especially not on the tourist trail will lose population to the regional towns and cities. A massive upswing in college attendance from these areas in last 5 decades. That is the begin ing- the young people are already gone at that stage . They are drawn in by the bright lights and the jobs with the dream of the mandatory 'quality of life ' wage. question is how best to provide decent public services to those who remain? Concentrating services in villages and small towns seems logical. With the countryside going a bit outbacky /wild west. Would you rather no to little services in your house in a field and little services in the village, or none in your house but great stuff in the village.
LeinsterDub wrote: » https://www.irishtimes.com/business/commercial-property/moving-dublin-port-to-free-up-650-acres-for-development-1.902559
Del.Monte wrote: » Agree with you completely about the likes of the industrial wasteland at Broombridge but Dublin Port is mad stuff. I have asked the same question in other threads over the years and nobody will touch it - how will global warming affect the port and those buildings already there? Answers please.
LeinsterDub wrote: » Yeah the shannon pipeline but you are well aware of that I would think
CHealy wrote: » This is far from the truth, Cork has top tier employers all over the city and county, both Pharmaceutical (Phizers, Johnson Johnson, GSK etc) and tech (Apple, Amazon, Facebook, VMware, Dell EMC, etc). Im not sure about Limerick but Cork as a region can more than hold its own without Dublin.
bk wrote: » Cork, Limerick, etc. will never attract top tier employers like Google, Facebook, etc. (Apple aside for historical reasons in Cork). However they can attract the smaller second tier companies, the Ubers, Payapls, etc.
BoatMad wrote: » Services like these were always provided at a cost , all these things cost money , postal service grew because they were needed Today they are not needed as there is a plethora of options I live 150km from my actual Bank Branch where my account is held , its irrelevant Garda stations are a throwback to a different era, whats actually needed is a mobile force, not ones sitting behind a desk . Criminals dont cycle around on bikes robbing farms The debate over post offices and Garda stations and physical banks is entirely misplaced and largely a generational thing, it will be meaningless to our children , rathe like closed rural railway stations are today
nuac wrote: » Where on the East coast is there potential for a similar port with the same access to road and rail. I see that major improvements are currently under way at Dublin - no indication of this traffic going elsewhere
Del.Monte wrote: » Any plans to build some new reservoirs to cater for the projected population increase in Dublin as the existing ones are struggling to keep pace with the current demand?
bk wrote: » Plenty of cities have moved their port out of the city center and developed the land as housing. It is pretty standard. Dublin Port really isn't that economically important, really it just serves Dublin and the surrounding region. It certainly is no Rotterdam or Antwerp.
bk wrote: » Dublin has plenty of space to massively densify. Move Dublin Port and you have massive amounts of available space. Look at Broombridge Industrial Estate, what a waste, hundreds of acres of underused industrial warehouses, inside the M50 and right next to both the new Luas line and commuter rail line! You could houses literally, tens of thousands of people there. 40,000 new homes planned for Swords once Metro North is built. Tens of thousands of new apartments in south Dublin once the Green Luas line is built. I could go on all day.... While Amsterdam is a great comparison for Dublin, Netherlands is a very poor one. Netherlands is 17 million people living in an area half the side of Ireland! The entire country has massive population density. Also it isn't an island and is highly connected with it's neighbours. BTW of course no one is saying it should just be Dublin. We are saying develop all urban areas, which in Ireland is any town/village with a population of 1,500 or more.
jobbridge4life wrote: » Shurimgreat why are you determined to make this a Dublin vs the countryside thing? Can you not see that your apparent entrenched resentment of Dublin does not benefit anyone? Dublin is your capital, it is all of our capitals, and only international city of any scale. It is in your direct interest that the capital prosper and this in no way needs to be at the expense of rural Ireland.