dovetail wrote: » Has anyone noticed that the 'family' room in the Heron is quite a cold room. i appreciate its stuck out into the garden without any neighbouring rooms and would expect it so be a little cooler than the main part of the house...but it seems so cold...almost as if it had no insulation!
slayerking wrote: » dovetail wrote: » Has anyone noticed that the 'family' room in the Heron is quite a cold room. i appreciate its stuck out into the garden without any neighbouring rooms and would expect it so be a little cooler than the main part of the house...but it seems so cold...almost as if it had no insulation! Defo. Coldest room in the house. Honestly wonder how well it's actually insulated.
slayerking wrote: » Defo. Coldest room in the house. Honestly wonder how well it's actually insulated.
dovetail wrote: » same here. I expected warmer for BER A rating. .....I guess if other are experiencing the same i guess that's just how how it is.....was getting worried that somebody forgot to put insulation in that room at the time of building the house
andreionut wrote: » It was the same for us until we stopped the main sources of draft. If you see an opening between the windowsill and the window, or underneath the windowsill use some caulk to cover it (The cracks are normal as the house settles), and close the "vent". the latter won't do that much as those plastic flimsy things are not great for keeping the draft. You can put in a roll of toilet paper to fill the whole in the wall that is called a vent. I forgot to post this, but the plumber mentioned that the radiator valves in the rooms (be big white ones with `eres`on the top) are actually thermostatic valves, which means that each number corresponds to a temperature. Once the room has the set temperature it shuts down the valve and does not get more hot water. I found what the gradations mean: Temperature Settings: * 0: Fully Off Position * Star: Frost Position (7°C) * 1: 12°C * 2: 16°C * 3: 20°C * 4: 24°C * 5: 28°C I keep the main bedroom (I'm in a Heron) a bit above 3 and the thermostat at 22 and I can see from a room thermometer that the temperature is 20-21 most of the time. This is useful as the heat goes up and you could end-up with a hot bedroom at night.
dmcc123456 wrote: » Hi everyone. Thanks for all the posts, all very helpful. I’m hopefully moving into one of the Ash houses and have a quick question I hope someone might help me with. Does anyone have the internal dimensions of the family room/snug? Thanks
fret_wimp2 wrote: » Good information here. Its really not recommended to fill the vent however. If people are in the room much, then it will start to accumulate moisture and can lead to damp and mould issues. if you want to test for yourself, get one of the cheap unibond moisture absorbers and put it in your bedroom, one night with a blocked vent, one night without. Notice the difference in quantity of moisture it collects when the vent is covered. You can get baffled vents that help prevent a straight through draught, and also help dampen the noise.
Keithchap wrote: » Are all bedrooms supposed to have vents?
fret_wimp2 wrote: » Not sure of the regulations, but all rooms except the smallest bedroom have vents. Unsure why that one has no vent.
slayerking wrote: » I was hoping it would be renovated sooner but what can ye do. Another alternative is to take the slightly longer route around by the Ballyboggan road. Should be safer and better lit, though I havent walked it yet myself.
PhoenixParker wrote: » It's grand in the morning. I don't usually use it in the evenings but when I have there's been four or five people walking together. The main hazard is the seas of mud that form after heavy rain. I have a personal plan to head down with a bucket of gravel some Saturday to make those passable all the time. I've had far more issues with the swans in summer then the darkness in winter. Also there are no locks between the new ratoath bridge and broombridge so there are no extra deep/scary/freefall sections.
manufangirl wrote: » Just something strange i noticed on google maps today - there seems to be a new street called "Hamilton View" in between Hamilton Walk and RCA, the location coordinates are 53.375688, -6.312029 on google maps
kj72 wrote: » also in relation to the Ash what's the attic situation? would it be possible to convert down the line and does it come finished in such a way that you would use it for storage i.e. with pull down ladder and some flooring above?
kj72 wrote: » I'm also considering the second phase of the nearby rathborne park development - anyone got any views - biased or otherwise - on which development is 'best'?? apologies for all the questions and thanks in advance for any responses. Kj
tradesman wrote: » 3. Antisocial behavior. Last October, I got assaulted there by a group of feral teens. This was during daylight, when the path had been relatively busy. I reported it to the Guards and was told that the path is difficult to police, and thus dangerous, and that I should exercise my good judgment and not walk there anymore. I don't suppose the guard would exercise his / her judgement & think "oh...somebody has just been assaulted, I better go & deal with it" I wonder do they get schooled in these answers at training college?