Zubeneschamali wrote: » No, the repeal campaign is roughly 2:1 ahead because repeal is popular. They should ignore concern trolls trying to get them to aim low or water down their message. And if they don't win, well, we have abortion on demand in England anyhow. In the Constitution, even. It is awful for the women in direct provision, prison or mental hospitals who cannot travel, and tough for women who struggle to afford the trip, bu, you know what? Your bullsh!t half-way appease-the-hyper-catholics-who'll-oppose-it-anyhow amendment wouldn't help any of those women in any case.
drkpower wrote: » 1. That does not mean the law shouldn't address that situation.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » Well, [sigh] if you must. But then we get the UK regime, where there is no, absolutely no way they have abortion on demand, the law says a doctor must say there is a reason. Yet we all know that there really is abortion on demand, feck's sake, we outsource our abortion on demand to them. The doctors just ignore the spirit of the law, and no-one cares. So, if you must, bring in some law with a 12 weeks hard limit, or 10, or 1 if you like, and exceptions only when a doctor says it is necessary. I mean, that rules out tons of cases where the doctor thinks he is performing an unnecessary late abortion, right?
freshpopcorn wrote: » If nobody reached out to them and showed them that it wasn't a big bad scary thing. They'd probably have voted no. All these people helped to get the marriage referendum to pass.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » Did you lie to those people?
drkpower wrote: » Sorry, I don't really follow your post/line of reasoning.
freshpopcorn wrote: » No, I was able to answer there questions with fact and kind of put it in real life terms to them.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » The UK law does not technically allow abortion on demand. You have to get a doctor to say you need an abortion under paragraphs a, b, c or d. Turns out, lots of doctors are OK saying that, even for Irish women they never met before. So, you can introduce a 12 week limit on abortion on request if you like, or a 2 week one - as long as there is an unlimited clause for rape, incest, and my GP says so.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » But you want pro-choice people to lie and pretend we don't think the Canadian system is best, and we shouldn't explain why, and pretend it is all about rape or whatever, at least until the referendum fails?
david75 wrote: » They’re their there You’re your you Know no We we’re were Two too to Is it ok if the people we’re expected to take seriously can have an at least basic grasp of these fundamental elements of the English language and how the above mentioned should be used before we accept their point of view on their imaginary rights prevailing over a woman’s rights to make her an decisions for her own health and well being?? Typos be ****ed, anyone can make them but at least make an effort to know the difference between ‘know’ and ‘no’. And no, ‘ur’ is never acceptable as ‘your’ either. You sound like a complete idiot on. Cop on.
drkpower wrote: » Are you Okay?
drkpower wrote: » 1. The uk position is peculiar and unique; the unintended 'ultra'liberalisation of the law there was in large part due to some loose drafting. 2.rape incest will not have its own provision. It will be allowed pre 12 weeks, not after in any circumstances. 3. There won't be a my GP says so provision.
drkpower wrote: » True, in terms of legislative influence post repeal. But if that cohort allow 'no restrictions' to be a talking point in the campaign, which the anti repeal will relish and seize upon, the damage may be done before any piece of legislation even has the chance t be debated.
drkpower wrote: » Just temper your language for a few months; and resist the temptation to rub people's noses in it - be the bigger man/woman- it's not that hard.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » Bless your innocence. Of course there will be a clause for "Medically necessary" cases after 12 weeks, and of course the law will not attempt to list the conditions which apply, it will be up to a Doctor to sign off. Hurray! Same as England. And, to really make that point clear, what have our politicians been pressing? Fetal abnormality? Nope. Rape? No. Incest? What?Boat to England.Thousands of women on their travels. Simon Harris read out the numbers from each county. At length. Tedious feckin length.That is the problem they should fix, abortion on demand for Irish women, not some new nod-and-wink layer of hypocrisy to replace today's.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » thee glitz wrote: » Would it not be more democratic to gauge demand for some halfway house, and then see if there's a want for more? No.
thee glitz wrote: » Would it not be more democratic to gauge demand for some halfway house, and then see if there's a want for more?
ForestFire wrote: » I hope your not on the campaign trail, because if this is want we are getting my "decision still to be made" will become a lot clearer.
drkpower wrote: » U ok?
Billy86 wrote: » I wouldn't think so to be honest, if the majority were making that noise it might put some off but it's not dissimilar to what was said about the likes of polygamists supporting same sex marriage and the efforts from some corners to push the "they'll want to marry their dogs next" type of stuff. It might be due to being a smaller nation and sew much harder to sew them but the Irish voter typically doesn't fall into that kind of us/them trap, which is something I take huge pride in us as a nation as. It's also why the gobsh*tes at AAA-PBP (and I say that as someone who skews centre-left to left wing on most things) and what little semblance if any we have of a far right don't get taken seriously in national politics even as we're seeing the further reaches of both sides of the divide grow stronger in many other parts of the world at the expense of the centre.
drkpower wrote: » Z, if you think the drafting of the threat to health, life and FFA provisions (which will be the only post - 12 week provisions) will be as loose as the UK's, you have been living in a different Ireland to the one I have been living in.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » You sound exactly like the people telling Panti to drop the drag act for a few months. Spooky.
david75 wrote: » I have a malignant Tumor growing in my head with Breda o briens stupid face on it and the wailing never ending fvcking stupidity of her
drkpower wrote: » No, but even pants herself voluntarily took a step back from the SSM campaign for exactly those reasons. She was sensible and mature enough to see the big picture.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » I'm not sure what that is supposed to mean exactly, but given that the UK rules require doctors to flat out lie to provide abortion on demand, and yet, they do so freely, including for Irish women, I must suppose that you think this 12-20 week period will, what, have some kind of penalty attached? A 14 year jall sentence attached like today? And the state will have some credible standing to prosecute doctors for doing something they will swear in court they believe is medically necessary? I really don't think so.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » WHAT???????