pemay wrote: » Never mind about that for now. How about instead of losing sight of the main argument (perhaps on purpose), how about get to the basics instead? Is it fair for man-made implements to confer 100% control of an unborn child (of a man and woman!) to just the woman? Is that fair?
WhiteRoses wrote: » You’ve already said you don’t care either way and that you won’t be voting?
Ephraim Squeaking Sympathy wrote: » No, you're the one who reads that as me thinking the act of getting an abortion is as of much significance as putting on a condom or taking my pill, if I'm reading you right? Completely inaccurate, and coming from your own head.
bubblypop wrote: » the taxpayer currently pays for abortions in ireland when they occur. maternity care is free
RocketRaccoon wrote: » I won't be voting, I said people like her would make me want to vote against it.
[Deleted User] wrote: » I've been trying to see the angle here. The few vocal posters in favour of conflating father's rights and alimony with the bodily autonomy of a pregnant woman......I don't believe for a second that these posters are anything but stirring a pot here. The problem they have is with abortion - the positions taken to ensure that it is a problem for them -without ever being ~the~ problem- are ludicrous. The links between abortion and the issues they are linking it to in this thread are ludicrous. They are literally just attempting to convince readers of this forum- no secret that uh the posters here are predisposed to uh certain uh leanings - that the right to abortion is somehow *another trick women are pulling on them* I can only surmise that we have a few logins here on a mission to persuade boards MRA about the upcoming referendum Anyone want to fess up? What's the going rate lads? Ye posting from Ireland even? I sincerely hope the readers see through it. The ability of Irish women not to have to carry an unwanted pregnancy to term has to be seen as a matter of women's health or we are seriously in a pit of madness.
Ephraim Squeaking Sympathy wrote: » But crossing the road when you don't want to get hit by a car is exactly as much of an oxymoron as me having sex when I don't want to be a parent. Well fair play, you're consistent. Laws are rather influenced by nature you know. Physics, biology, etc. We didn't as a society just pull this situation out of our arses because, lol, fcuk men. Of course it's unfair, that's the second time you've set that up as some kind of "gotcha" It's very unfair. Life's very unfair. This is the least worst scenario.
Triceratops Ballet wrote: » "people like her"? women who are not afraid to admit their willingness to assert their bodily autonomy?
repeal the hate wrote: » nice strawman, I never claimed you see it as equating in significance to using a condom or taking a pill. You did make clear that you would see abortion as an acceptable choice to make to prevent an unwanted pregnancy which might came about solely because you put your quest for sexual pleasure above responsible behaviour. I generally get my thoughts, concepts and values from my head, what body part do you suggest? Or is my head just an inconsequential disposable bunch of cells?
RocketRaccoon wrote: » Someone who isn't enough of an adult to face up to the result of their actions.
end of the road wrote: » correct, for medical abortions. i have no problem with that as they are necessary to save the mother's life.
eviltwin wrote: » You may not like it but having an abortion is facing up to the result of your actions.
RocketRaccoon wrote: Someone who isn't enough of an adult to face up to the result of their actions.
RocketRaccoon wrote: » It's not, in the long term it is taking the easy and selfish way out.
Ephraim Squeaking Sympathy wrote: » So how am I advocating using abortion *as* contraception by saying I'd use it as a last resort if necessary? Or what were you claiming when you said that? I could certainly have a better sex life if I just disregarded the risk of pregnancy, I don't. I'm responsible, and if despite my best efforts I get pregnant I'll continue to be responsible and end the pregnancy.
One eyed Jack wrote: » I can't speak for any of the other regular contributors here snoop, but that one certainly comes as news to me tbh.
eviltwin wrote: » It's as valid an option as any other. Just because you see it as selfish doesn't make it so.
One eyed Jack wrote: » Aren't adult women facing up to the results of their actions when they become pregnant, and because they don't want to be pregnant, they have an abortion, and then they face up to the consequences of their actions in those circumstances too. No matter what way you look at it, you may not agree with their actions, but you'd simply be wrong to suggest that adult women aren't facing up to the consequences of their actions simply because you disagree with their actions.
RocketRaccoon wrote: » It is far from valid. If you are using contraception and happen to get pregnant then it is absolutely ridiculous to terminate the pregnancy just because you don't want a child. Face up to the result of your actions ffs.
One eyed Jack wrote: » Unless you missed it, you must also acknowledge that the reason a woman has 100% of control over her pregnancy is because she also carries 100% of the responsibility for her pregnancy. The laws aren't granting her anything that she can't do already, they are acknowledging that she can do those things because due to her biology, she already has 100% control over whether she wishes to remain pregnant or not. A man has 0% control because he has 0% of the responsibility of maintaining or ending a woman's pregnancy.
Spanish Eyes wrote: » DNA tests are the business. They were not around when women were placed in the Magdalen laundries. Most men will play their part now, but many don't and won't. What is the solution for men just walking away now?
RocketRaccoon wrote: » They're not. It's the easy way out, they will go through a bit of pain and suffering for a few weeks afterwards and then it'll be the same thing again when they get pregnant the next time. When would it stop? Where is the line?