Water John wrote: » Bass, you'll be very welcome in Macroom. Just remember, as the saying goes, Macroom never reared a fool.
wrangler wrote: » ffs, I don't know what way you farm but here reducing stocking rate from the optimum reduces the quality of the grass, not much point in giving a subsidy if you have to handicap him first. Your little preclude joke falls flat when you put a spelling mistake one side and an american spelling the other side
Figerty wrote: » And we will have forgotten that when there was headage,, there were a lot of heads,, and very poor quality bodies attached.... The Beef scheme was purporting the opposite.. less heads but better quality to reduce the 'emissions'.
Cattlepen wrote: » 14 cows is one thing. Try calving 100 of them. Your mortality will be out through the roof. Subsidies are the system that has developed. If you want to stand on the high moral ground and don’t avail of them fine, but don’t be saying everyone else should be like you
Cattlepen wrote: » Jaysus your a pillar of moral guidance. What have lads at the bookies got to do with this???? And smoking at 11.30 on a weds morning??? Your a great man to throw judgements on people
CloughCasey1 wrote: » Thats not what i am getting at all. There shouldnt be a 200 per cow payment for farmers just because they have sucklers. Simple as that.
wrangler wrote: » The EU is able to spend the Agri budget underpinning dairy farmers, why not the suckler farmers, milk was a poor price for only a few months when they... intervened...how long has suckling been in the doldrums.....most twenty cow suckler herds will do more for the environment in Ireland than any dairy farms I see. Carbon navigator shouldn't be allowed into the equation, like the stars it's grand for the desk driver but to use it as a criteria for anything is wrong. the results are for the birds......how can any animal be a 5 star then a 3 and then a 2....
Water John wrote: » There are a whole lot of competing interests. What are you trying to achieve? Keep a supply of fully beef animals for export or factory. Keep farmers on the land, for a variety of purposes. Outside factors for example include as mentioned, it cannot be a headage payment. An animal raised from calf to beef has half the carbon footprint of a beef animal from a suckler. There is some pointers in the Glas scheme, for all its failings. The core being, a whole range of choices that can be configured to suit each farm. If help is needed to this sector, a broadening of this path would seem the best option.
CloughCasey1 wrote: » Hanging in Larrys cold rooms at 15 mts 420kg dead with no movement off farm.
wrangler wrote: » €200/cow could be given for the same reason as intervention for SMP.....TO MAKE LIFE A LITTLE BIT EASIER FOR THOSE CONCERNED
CloughCasey1 wrote: » So the idiot finishing them should be left with his arse to the wind ready for Larry and Co to have their way??
Cattlepen wrote: » I hope not too. How could they make that a requirement?
Who2 wrote: » maybe he should buy a few sucklers and finish all stock by 15 months too.
wrangler wrote: » It's not compulsory to buy cattle you know, plenty of options out there
Sheep breeder wrote: » Yes at the same price per kilo as the aa/he dairy cross,
Grueller wrote: » Some of those crops around here are entering year 4 this spring. They havent been allowed to use chemicals to get a sterile seed bed and guess what happened, the docs, rushes and thistles along with scutch redshank and ragwort are choking out the linseed and oats more and more each year.
Willfarman wrote: » It’s not compulsory to keep suckers you know, plenty of options out there
Willfarman wrote: » I think there was an online petition for HB ice cream to bring back fat frogs with 10000+ respondents... sadly no government action on the issue!
CloughCasey1 wrote: » You forgot the drinking bit aswell
Bullocks wrote: » I dont know but it would be an easy way to reference cow numbers
Cattlepen wrote: » I suppose ordinary folk can only aspire to been as pure as you sound. Three Hail Marys and a verse of hail queen of heaven and we’ll ask god to forgive all the smokers, drinkers and gamblers!!!
SuperTortoise wrote: » I think the biggest problem in introducing a payment is the suckler farmer will only be a middle man for that 200 euro, how long will it be before the meal men, contractors, dealers, co-op's, larry and co take it off him?