blue5000 wrote: » The comic wants to save our sucklershttps://www.change.org/p/save-our-sucklers-open-letter-from-the-readers-of-the-irish-farmers-journal?recruiter=88210484&utm_source=share_petition&utm_medium=copylink&utm_campaign=psf_combo_share_more.undefined.nafta_petition_show_share_buttons.control
Willfarman wrote: » For just as little one euro a week you could help save the life of a suckler cow and save its owner from a life of destitution and friesian bullock ownership.. and ensure a steady stream of revenue to those bastions of society the beef barons!!
blue5000 wrote: » I'm just after getting an email that by sharing the yoke above I influenced 4 ppl to sign the petition, one of them, I kid you not is a large beef processor. I think any country in the world can produce holstein x beef, but we are the only country in the N hemisphere still able to produce quality beef in large exportable quantities. The processors know this, they need the suckler cow to survive as much as we do. Rant over, apologies OP for the side track. I suggest a mix of beef heifer calves and fr bulls from the dairy neighbours. You can always put the best heifers in calf down the road, while you have fr bulls to sell while waiting for sucklers to come on stream.
Say my name wrote: » My father do be giving out about the my farming week part in the journal. This week was no different with the part time farmer with dexters and the wife with a good job. His complaint is when are they going to have some real farmers in the section and where are they getting these hobby farmers from? It's not PC. But there you go. He can't be the only one thinking this.
Muckit wrote: » The realty is that the IFJ are playing to their audience. The more hobby farmers, the bigger their readership. If everyone was fulltime, the numbers would reduce drastically and they would be gone. The small farmer keeps many people in jobs in this country.
Willfarman wrote: » Environmental schemes and encouraging more extensive type suckler herds would have a far better chance of having a positive affect. I think this nonsense has more to with Ifa levies than anything else..
wrangler wrote: » Do you think that any farmer going to Dublin to meetings gives a sh..e about the levies or the funding of the Organisation. I hate to burst your bubble but they don't. There's a strong message coming from farmers that they need a subsidy and that's what the county reps will prioritise. Then CC comes on and claims that €200 subsidy will preclude them from breeding €1000 weanlings,.....You couldn't make it up. 5000 signatures is good enough support to ensure a subsidy is wanted
CloughCasey1 wrote: » Put your glasses on old man and read my post again.
wrangler wrote: » I've read the post right, And won't you have the cap out next may for your subsidy as well, probably, like a lot of drystock farmers, an above average subsidy as well. Rural Ireland needs sucklers, and suckler cows needs to be subsidised.
CloughCasey1 wrote: » Dont get a penny.☺ And making a few bob. You dont know what preclude means so.
wrangler wrote: » preclude....prevent from happening; make impossible.
Bass Reeves wrote: » No you did not read the post right. this is not the first or second time you missread a post to serve up you own propganda. CC did not claim that a 200 euro subsidy will preclude lads from producing better weanlings. He highlighted the fact that lots of suckler farmers producing calves at a loss rather than producing a calf that is suitable for the export market to solve there issue now have there hand out for a subsidy. On the assertian that 5K signatures are enough to support for a subsidy and IFA being driven by CC. What proper representive organisation will lobby for a subsidy in this case that has huge negative connotations for the wider drystock industry. But then we are taking about the IFA and logic and commonsense is not part of it remit
CloughCasey1 wrote: » Well done . If the suckler men want a sub let them go to Larry and co and let it be for u and e grade cattle. If they are not producing to that level they are at nothing.
wrangler wrote: » No matter what level you're at in Drystock, you could say the same
wrangler wrote: » No you're talking about farmers representing farmers and trying to deliver what's needed. Make the €200/cow available and give the farmers the choice to avail or not, or Do you think you're the messiah to save farmers from themselves because I think you're implying that's what IFAs role should be I thought the same as you about the ewe subsidy....delighted with it now. I wouldn't oppose it anyway, there's farmers needed it worse than I did. Anyway It's probably not going to happen, Creed won't be in charge and neither will the present Government so they can promise what they like. Journal is right to appeal to Europe, our guys will drive it on there
K.G. wrote: » Daftest thing ive ever heard.why not just give straight to larry.nevermind from an emissions point of view.looking at journal every week and seeing some of taxpayers money already wasted on buildings for suckers that makes no sense on hobby farms.if any crowd should get a sub its the tillage men considering the battering they ve taken and their importance nationally.lets face it 90 %of suckler farmers could jack it in the morning and it would make little difference to their standard of living as they have jobs.
Willfarman wrote: » Increased use of imported artificial fertilizer predominantly nitrogen and increased use of imported gm maize, soya, and grain. And a fodder”crisis” every third year!! I credit you with more intelligence that this rangler and I dont believe you really believe a word of your own bluster. Your loyalty to the club is admirable. Subsidizing production for the processing industry will do nothing for the man with the sprong. A payment would be welcome but don’t couple it to a live cow. Couple it to hedgerows, nature, quality grading cattle and environmentaly friendly extensive farming.
yewtree wrote: » Would have to agree with that, a lot of suckler cows around here. All you are going to do is support inefficent producers. A lot of suckler calves i see are not much better than dairy cross calves