Wombatman wrote: » I wonder what the thinking was behind having the baby in a field?
BENDYBINN wrote: » Seems the long arm of the law will now be going around Cahersiveen lookin for dna samples from everyone. If I lived there I’d tell them where to go!
WHIP IT! wrote: » I can't think of any situation, no matter how hard I try, where the only option is to stab a baby to death...
Atoms for Peace wrote: » More than likely it was somebody that found themselves in an extremely confusing and difficult situation with not many options. The Kerry babies case and others that happened at that time show how vindictive the actions of official Ireland could be to those who found themselves in such a situation.
Galwayguy35 wrote: » I was 10 back in 1984, I remember it being all over the news at the time. I don't know how anyone can go to sleep every night for the past 34 years knowing they stabbed a 3 day old baby to death. I hope baby John's killer is brought to justice but it's hard to see it happening after all this time.
RustyNut wrote: » Your point being?
splinter65 wrote: » But Baptise she did....
ellejay wrote: » Who's to say she buried the baby? Maybe the father buried the baby. Maybe the baby's grandparents buried the baby.
....... wrote: » Ive a friend in Dublin who gave birth in 1995 and when she called to the priests house to arrange the baptism he told he he didnt baptise bastards of sluts and she could call next door to see if the young priest would. She went next door and the young priest agreed to do it alright but she says she wishes she had told yer man to **** off and never baptised her son at all.
tayto lover wrote: » Same here. I suppose that like the priests of the time they did exactly as they were told. To do otherwise would have caused them trouble. I still remember Charlie Haughey on the Late Late Show telling the story of when the politicians were in a pub after hours and a garda came in and started to take names. Haughey asked the garda if he wanted a pint or a transfer and the entire audience nearly broke their holes laughing.
tayto lover wrote: » Same here. I suppose that like the priests of the time they did exactly as they were told. To do otherwise would have caused them trouble.I still remember Charlie Haughey on the Late Late Show telling the story of when the politicians were in a pub after hours and a garda came in and started to take names. Haughey asked the garda if he wanted a pint or a transfer and the entire audience nearly broke their holes laughing.
MrJones1973 wrote: » One of the most beautiful pictures i recently saw was of joanne hayes and her daughter from early 80s . What a brave woman and family to raise her given the times. Im surprised it took 34 years to apologise. The guards are still a law onto themselves. That being said any guard i have had dealings with have been pretty decent
Snickers Man wrote: » Joanne Lovett. In Granard. More true to say she was a girl. Early teens, as I remember.
splinter65 wrote: » That summer was lovely and sunny, the music was great, good times.
igCorcaigh wrote: » Was there not a case of a woman who died giving birth, in a graveyard I think? I remember that. Different story I guess.
Ms Hayes said she gave birth in a field and her baby died soon after.
Ms Hayes had given birth to a baby boy on the family farm. The baby’s body, later determined to have been stillborn, was found in a field on the farm, where she said that, in a panic, she had left him.
Ms Hayes confirmed she hid the baby in some hay in a nearby field but later hid him in a plastic bag in a pool of water and it was there that gardaí found the baby’s remains on May 2nd, 1984 after her family found the baby’s remains and contacted their solicitor, Mr Mann, who in turn notified gardaí.
The 25-year-old initially told gardaí she had miscarried after four months, but later said she had a baby boy, which she delivered while standing up in a field. The baby appeared to be dead and she panicked and went home, and the following morning she returned to the spot and placed it in a drain, she told them. Gardaí then extracted confessions from other members of the family that Ms Hayes had beaten and stabbed the baby to death, and that her siblings had disposed of the body at Slea Head, suggesting that the baby found on Caherciveen Beach on April 14, 1984, was hers. Charges were preferred against Ms Hayes and family members, but in a sensational twist the day after their court appearance, the body of a second baby was found in a hole of water on the Hayes’ farm, bearing out Ms Hayes’ story.
ellejay wrote: » What is his name please
skylight1987 wrote: » this lady illegally buried her baby on her land .she wouldn't even give him the decency of a proper burial. didn't even register a name .yes she was wronged by the gardai in relation to the other baby but what she did to her own flesh and blood was cruel .no one bothers to mention this now though .the only people I feel sorry for are both babies .
tayto lover wrote: » Not only that. A man I knew years ago committed suicide and the family were not allowed to bury him in a graveyard because it was consecrated ground. He had to be buried in a field behind it. Awful times then.