Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Non-Nationals attacking Taxi drivers in West Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,479 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Wibbs wrote: »
    Nope and I never said it was just the newcomers. It's people, on both sides. Colour, religion doesn't matter. They only signify to others differences. We only have to look north on our own island and the history of Ireland in general. All "white", basically the same religion and pretty much similar cultures, but different enough to have caused centuries of strife and death. The Troubles which lasted for what thirty years, had a death toll of 3000 men women and kids, on top of the general nastiness.

Outside of ex colonies Multculturalism does not work(and it's not exactly roses within them). I'm still waiting for the pro "diversity" side to a) give me examples of where it has worked and b) what makes them think it'll work here? On the latter a few like yourself have noted that it's not the fault of people coming in and that "locals" have difficulty adjusting and I agree. So again why jump to copy every single other example where problems have arisen? Not when we have the opportunity to nip it in the bud before a generation on we're looking at the same crap as other European nations. It makes zero bloody sense to me. And no, "because diversity" isn't an answer.

multiculturalism was less likely to work in ex colonies, as one group were placed above another - indians/pakistanis in Uganda for instance.

The problems are often exaggerated. America works, flawed as it is, as does Britain, the Netherlands and so on. Striving for ethnic homogenity is both pointless and doomed to fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,776 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Having read this thread, I think I am against multiculturalism. Not because I don't want foreign people to settle here but because the very notion of it turns the locals into polarised arseholes!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

"Odhinn wrote: »

The problems are often exaggerated. America works, flawed as it is, as does Britain, the Netherlands and so on. .
    Now you really must be having a laugh... Those examples all prove my point not yours. Maybe you want ghettos marginalisation civil unrest and armed police on the streets of Ireland.
    Striving for ethnic homogenity is both pointless and doomed to fail
    says you. The Japanese have largely managed it. We managed until recently. And I don't see why it's pointless. Unless you're Into white/Irish self flagellation.

Plus other than periods in the Roman Empire pretty much all of great cultures of the world throughout history were far more homogeneous than "multicultural".

And it is quite simple to mitigate this multicultural nonsense. Massively curtail numbers coming in. To be fair were already pretty good on that score but we need to remain so.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Now you really must be having a laugh... Those examples all prove my point not yours. Maybe you want ghettos marginalisation civil unrest and armed police on the streets of Ireland.
    We already had that. By stereotyping and so on. You've learned little from it by the looks of things.
    says you. The Japanese have largely managed it. We managed until recently. And I don't see why it's pointless. Unless you're Into white/Irish self flagellation. .

Truly, truly pathetic.

We "managed" largely because there was fuck all to come here for.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Odhinn wrote: »
    We already had that. By stereotyping and so on. You've learned little from it by the looks of things.
    the only place we had that on this island was where two cultures clashed. Proving my point again. You really seem determined to have more nonsense of that in pursuit of your pie in the sky diversity beliefs.
    Truly, truly pathetic.
    not exactly the stuff of debate there Ted. Maybe - all too common these days - you're used to people around you nodding in agreement?
    We "managed" largely because there was fuck all to come here for.
    Yep there's the sniff of Irish self loathing I expected alright. It's almost a given trait of pro multicultural folks.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yep there's the sniff of Irish self loathing I expected alright. It's almost a given trait of pro multicultural folks.
    I think the term is oikophobia
    Here is an article about an okiophobe

Dignifying any discussion with your lot with the term "debate" isn't something I'd do.

A statement of economic fact. Or were we leaving in our droves for the craic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Lusk almost got a dose of multiculturalism last night. Thankfully the Gardai were tipped off and stopped a gang of 40 or so youths from getting to the town.

I wonder if the Gardai were being racist or if they knew the gang.

the only place we had that on this island was where two cultures clashed.......

Jesus yeah, theres no stereotyping in this state based on accent, area or anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Lusk almost got a dose of multiculturalism last night. Thankfully the Gardai were tipped off and stopped a gang of 40 or so youths from getting to the town.

I wonder if the Gardai were being racist or if they knew the gang.

What?

Dignifying any discussion with your lot with the term "debate" isn't something I'd do.
    My "lot" eh? And what "lot" is that, pray tell? Do please enlighten us. I will say your rebuttals don't seem to have much cohesion so far.
    Jesus yeah, theres no stereotyping in this state based on accent, area or anything else.
    Indeed there is. I've repeatedly said there is. This is the part you and others seem to be missing or ignoring. I have also said that the existing population is just as much in the blame game for conflict as the incoming. Racism exists, as does culturalism. This is undeniable. That doesn't magically go away and the results of all that are what we see in every single "multicultural" state in Europe.

What staggers me is the headlong rush by some who want to ignore what's in front of them for decades and to add to existing social problems in new and socially damaging ways by importing this failed notion of multiculturalism. Every single European nation that has done similar has had and continues to have problems and they're escalating rather than declining. It seems to come in cycles loosely generationally based. The first generation are rarely any issue, the second is usually when it kicks off, then a period of calm and then it kicks off again.

Now whatever reasons/excuses other European nations had for their respective influxes - old Empire coming home to roost; UK/France. Or a need of 'fresh blood" for industry; Germany - they are most certainly not in play here. We're one of the few nations in the west with a positive population growth.

My "lot" eh? And what "lot" is that, pray tell? Do please enlighten us.

Well, you're the one wanting to keep a ethnically homogenous state. Classify thyself.

As for rebuttals, you aren't worth that much of my time, as the more intellectual pretension some things dress up in, the less funny they are.

Well, you're the one wanting to keep a ethnically homogenous state. Classify thyself.
    Avoiding the question then? You made the accusation of god knows what.
    As for rebuttals, you aren't worth that much of my time, as the more intellectual pretension some things dress up in, the less funny they are.
    So, essentially you've got nothing?

Your "argument" appears to boil down to; multiculturalism works and problems are exaggerated. Ireland is meh and would be better for it. It's inevitable. You're a racist with an agenda if you don't agree with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    What?

Supposedly a huge gang of black teens were escorted back on to a train to Balbriggan from Lusk by Gardaí after causing trouble.

I don’t know if that’s a fact but that’s what I’m hearing locally. There’s video of it that I’m sure will surface eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

multiculturalism was less likely to work in ex colonies, as one group were placed above another - indians/pakistanis in Uganda for instance.

The problems are often exaggerated. America works, flawed as it is, as does Britain, the Netherlands and so on. Striving for ethnic homogenity is both pointless and doomed to fail.

Is America really multicultural? It was extremely monocultural for most of it's history, even with a relatively diverse population (although by the modern interpretation of diverse it was not diverse at all but just European)

Same with Britain and The Netherlands, Diversity is a relatively new phenomenon and multiculturalism is very new. Is it working? Neither the British or Dutch seem to be very keen on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

Supposedly a huge gang of black teens were escorted back on to a train to Balbriggan from Lusk by Gardaí after causing trouble.

I don’t know if that’s a fact but that’s what I’m hearing locally. There’s video of it that I’m sure will surface eventually.

I was drinking last night and sure enough one of my friends was late. They said the reason was two gangs of kids were being separated by the Gardai...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭baylah17

Wow
    The Irish Sun
    An impeccable source that would never exaggerate the facts in order to garner a headline
    A comic from the same publishing group as the now defunct News of the World , closed after its illegal activities came to light

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭baylah17

Wow
    The Irish Sun
    An impeccable source that would never exaggerate the facts in order to garner a headline
    A comic from the same publishing group as the now defunct News of the World , closed after its illegal activities came to light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Ethnic homogeneity being largely maintained for several hundred years if not several thousand, predating the state. You apparently want to end it in the space of 50-100 years. You have no idea what will replace it and all the warning signs are flashing red and amber.

Yours is the more radical and inexplicable proposal. I think the onus is on you to justify and explain why ethnic homogeneity should be ended. But 'your lot' never can and never will justify or explain yourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Sand wrote: »
    Ethnic homogeneity being largely maintained for several hundred years if not several thousand, predating the state. You apparently want to end it in the space of 50-100 years. You have no idea what will replace it and all the warning signs are flashing red and amber.

Yours is the more radical and inexplicable proposal. I think the onus is on you to justify and explain why ethnic homogeneity should be ended. But 'your lot' never can and never will justify or explain yourselves.

YEah, that's a complete myth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭Sand

YEah, that's a complete myth.

Yeah, its really not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,043 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Dr Brown wrote: »

Wow. Sound like pure and utter scumbags. Hopefully the guards make plenty of arrests followed by charges and hopefully long prison sentences for these budding gangster crews.

Good to see something is being done now. Even better if the politicians had another look at mandatory sentencing and longer harsher sentences. No place for scum like this in society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Good to see the Gardai doing something about this it must never be allowed to be tolerated in this country.

Sand wrote: »
    Yeah, its really not.

In Ireland? Yes it is.

Our history is a series of different ethnic groups settling on the island. There is nothing "pure" about us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

In Ireland? Yes it is.

Our history is a series of different ethnic groups settling on the island. There is nothing "pure" about us.

Not really, People like to ****e on about waves of vikings normans and hugoenots etc but they never really settled in large numbers which is why we absorbed them and why we're still a fairly uniform group in terms of our DNA

We've only really had one major ethnic settlement in our history, the plantations...and seeing how that worked out..

Bambi wrote: »
    Not really, People like to ****e on about waves of vikings normans and hugoenots etc but they never really settled in large numbers which is why we absorbed them and why we're still a fairly uniform group in terms of our DNA

We've only really had one major ethnic settlement in our history, the plantations...and seeing how that worked out..

What about the much more recent influx of Eastern Europeans? I do remember the days when people were wary about that, but that was nowhere near the level of current level of hysteria surrounding non-EU migrants. Of which there are much, much fewer, might I add.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

baylah17 wrote: »
    Wow
    The Irish Sun

Please list permissable news sources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭MSVforever

It's funny how they try to explain this behaviour with "cultural" difference in the article. From my experience travelling the African continent is that they have more respect for elderly than most Europeans.

These guys are simply total scumbags. If the gardai can't deal with them then it's only a matter of time until people take the law into their own hands.

• Site Banned Posts: 406 ✭✭Pepefrogok

Can anyone show any success stories in regards to European countries accepting mass immigration from largely third world countries?