Tinley Nervous Vibraphone wrote: » Good and bad, same as with any profession really. I tend not to let bad experiences cloud my judgement of the whole force though, that's mental behaviour. The best experience was when a load of armed detectives descended on my apartment one midweek evening, few lads around watching football. Handed my friend a warrant that said they were looking for Cocaine - the did a thorough search and found nothing (later found out they'd gotten the wrong apartment). What they did do, though, and fair play to them for this, was ignored a substantial enough bag of weed that was in a drawer in one of the bedrooms. Given how they'd searched the place there's no way they didn't see this, but fair play to them they left and never said anything about it. I've been done for speeding a couple of times too, 140 on the 120 stretch of the motorway close to Cork, and 80 on a 60 - both times I knew I was bang to rights so I was polite and caused no hassle, Gards on both occasions were grand, still got the points though. You get the odd ignorant cúnt at a football match or whatever, but fúck them, move on and forget it.
Deleted User wrote: » I have a semi poor opinion of the guards and not from them giving me hassle or anything. I just found that when I called them with a problem, like when someone was trying to break into my house....... They didn't show up for hours and sometimes they didn't even show up at all. Gardai in general seem to be a quite under equipped and under funded police force, thereore they can't really do their job properly.
eviltwin wrote: » My local station is much better. I found a guy injured last year, gardai were great even phoning me the next day to see if I was okay. .
weldoninhio wrote: » Generally poor. They seem workshy and will try anything in the book to try to get out of doing actual work. I was assaulted many years back in a local nightclub. Got a headbutt, broken teeth, 2 black eyes, busted nose. The bouncers were sound enough, cleaned me up, made sure I was ok and let me know that there was a squad car outside if i wanted to report it straight away while i had all the details fresh in my mind, and in case the Gardai wanted to speak with any of the bouncers that witnessed the assault. Walked over to the car, opened with "sorry to bother you but......" got as far as that before I was to to "fcuk off away from the car". I tried to explain that I was assaulted and he told me that there was nothing he could do. I asked why he could not do anything and was told "we have to stay here in case theres any trouble in the nightclub", I countered with "there was trouble in the nightclub, my nose is the result of it, and the guy that did it is there" and pointed him out. Was then told "If you don't get away from the car now, I'll arrest you for drunk and disorderly (I wasn't) and when you bleed all over the back of the car on the way to the station i'll add destruction of police property to the charge". He then told me again to pi55 off and to call an ambulance if I wanted a record of the injury and contact my local station the next day about it. Rang my local station the next day, was told that because it happened the next town over that I'd have to contact them. Contacted them, gave them the guys name, address, bouncers who witnessed its names and phone numbers and the phone number of the manager who said that he was going to burn a copy of the CCTV to DVD for the Gardai to collect. Went from victim to suspect in about 2 seconds. Why did he assault you? (It was completely unprovoked) I don't believe it was unprovoked. What did you do to make him retaliate like that? and on and on and on. Finally I told the Garda to look at the CCTV, speak to the bouncers and witnesses and they'd corroborate everything. Was told "Grand, we'll look into it and get back to you". Now unless they've taken it EXTREMELY seriously, and are working deep cover to see if they can get a confession by wearing a wire, I don't think they'll be getting back to me. It was over 15 years ago. Saw him a few weeks later and sorted it myself.
riemann wrote: » Few times I have, always positive. Quite apparent there are a few bag eggs in the bunch but I respect what they do, and am thankful.Just a shame our Judges are so far removed from the mainstream that a few quid in the poor box will absolve one of what at one time was considered a serious crime, ie sexual assault.
sbsquarepants wrote: » Probably a safe bet Billy that your guy and mine are one and the same - a total and utter wanker!
Captain Obvious wrote: » Some people are just not capable of dealing with the public.
Noveight wrote: » I can never understand why a person would waste their own time and that of the Gardaí with such nonsense.
Stonedpilot wrote: » You're an idiot. Speak to any solicitor in the world and they tell you the same thing!. A shut mouth catches no flies. This thread is full of stories of corruption. You have a right to privacy and if you are foolish enough to tell Gardai nosing all your business work away sure. Can never understand people who dont respect their own privacy.
weldoninhio wrote: » Agree 100%. Here is a law professors view.https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/mvkgnp/law-professor-police-interrogation-law-constitution-survival