wakka12 wrote: » Because, even homeless people have family and friend ties and I think its unfair to give somebody a housing option so far outside the city they are from.
Barry Badrinath wrote: » Move all the culchies out of Dublin, free up some space. Problem solved. Go away boggers.
major bill wrote: » question is, how many couples in hotels suddenly be able to move back home if asked to move down the country? Some genuine people being put up in hotels but others are only there cos they know its ''speeds up'' their application for a house.
c_man wrote: » It's been ten years, those ghost estates must be in some state by now.
Pelvis wrote: » You can have a job and still be entitled to social housing. Green&Red wrote: » You're talking about the minority in fairness, its much easier to solve the major problem and sort out the anomalies afterwards
Green&Red wrote: » You're talking about the minority in fairness, its much easier to solve the major problem and sort out the anomalies afterwards
Fr_Dougal wrote: » But then who would steal yore jobs and wimmins? Although we could rent our houses back you youse for mucho euros...🀔
Gatling wrote: » It actually make perfect sense moving people out from the major cities to rural areas that have suffered from population decreases due to high immigration , It would revitalise small villages and towns around the country ,
NIMAN wrote: » Got to thinking, how do other major European cities handle these issues? Surely Paris, Rome, Madrid, Barcelona, London, Manchester, Amsterdam, Copenhagen etc all have people who want houses in the centre of the city, near everything. How do their Governments handle this?
Barry Badrinath wrote: » Eh hellloooo, the fordinurs could! All joking aside, DCC need to start building up instead of out. That would help for a start.
s4uv3 wrote: » A lot of posts in this thread giving out about homeless people, the unemployed, and junkies playing the system. Really, imo, it's the system that's completely fuuuuucked. If the system wasn't so lenient and playable, we wouldn't have half these problems. Hate the game, not the playaz.
Deleted User wrote: » Most cities have skyscrapers or similar to combat their population demands. Those who were lucky to buy property ages ago in the center, continue to live there and those with the appropriate incomes can buy/rent in the center also. The remainder live in the suburbs and commute in the mornings with the aim that as they get older/promoted/wealthier then they can either buy something closer to the center or move into the countryside. Most of the middle-aged professionals (in relationships/married/wChildren) I know, generally want to live in the countryside away from the pollution, noise etc of the city. It's the single people that push for the city areas. But ultimately the closer you are to the center, the more expensive everything is, and therefore out of reach for most.
Dravokivich wrote: » You can't just build up and expect that to solve the issue. Apartments have regularly been over priced, under sized and terribly built in this country.
Deleted User wrote: » Building up means more than having an apartment block with 4 floors... Having Apartment complexes with 20 floors, and four towers per complex, (along with the services and underground parking common in other countries) would seriously help the situation.
NIMAN wrote: » So basically, do we think allowing high rise in Dublin would be a major help in our 'crisis'?
Riskymove wrote: » and Ballymun Towers really worked out well didn't it
Andy From Sligo wrote: » Just been hearing on the radio news this morning that some families in the Gresham Hotel in Dublin and other Hotels in Dublin that the hotels will no longer be accepting payments for 'homeless' families from various departments soon ... My simplistic view at the moment without thinking about it too hard (gives me a headache) - why dont they move the families out of Dublin to other rural parts of Ireland, not into hotels but do up some of these houses going on the market for 70,000 or whatever it is and ghost estates left by the celtic tiger?
Dravokivich wrote: » "Under Sized," was meant to mean per unit. Not the building itself. Any apartment I've lived in, or been in has always been very small.
Deleted User wrote: » And just because it didn't work once means that we can't assess the problems/failures, and implement a better system the next time?
Dravokivich wrote: » Any apartment I've lived in, or been in has always been very small.