GARDAI are investigating a string of stabbing attacks this morning that has left one man dead and two others injured. The incidents took place in Dundalk, Co Louth. One man has died after he was attacked and stabbed on Avenue Road. He is understood to be of Asian descent. His age is as yet unknown. The man was pronounced dead at the scene. It is understood that two other men - both understood to be Irish - were subsequently injured in separate attacks. Gardaí who were called to the scene confronted and disarmed the attacker. He has been arrested on suspicion of murder and is being detained at Dundalk Garda Station. He can be questioned for up to 24 hours. It is understood that the attacker is originally from Syria.
testaccount123 wrote: » Hopefully he's just a nutcase and this is not indicative of an upcoming trend. I'd love to be wrong on this tbh.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » where have they confirmed it? The latest garda release says it is a line of enquiry but they dont know what the motivation was.
Irish Praetorian wrote: » Source please? Latest I have suggests it is simply one "line of inquiry".
ThisRegard wrote: » If you had read any of the posts I replied to you it would be obvious, I even reiterated it at one point. It was implied that an attack for 'no reason' or randomly is a terrorist attack. It's not. It's that simple.
Tell me how wrote: » So what's your solution?
At a press briefing this afternoon, Chief Supt Mangan confirmed that the 18-year-old had been in contact with gardaí from the Immigration Section two days ago in relation to a possible application for residency in Ireland
glenfieldman wrote: » This was terrerist related the Guards have confirmed
SEPT 23 1989 wrote: » A very sad day for this country after what this island went through we had had enough and now it's on the streets again
bennyl10 wrote: » This Is also false? The guards have confirmed nothing of the sort!!
Beechwoodspark wrote: » Awful to see this scourge in Ireland of all places. Time for a serious rethink of our approach to immigration it seems.
testaccount123 wrote: » https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/0103/930792-dundalk-death/
Beechwoodspark wrote: » Benny stop trying to deflect and distract. It’s not cool and it’s not clever on a day like today
bennyl10 wrote: » Irish people stab Irish people every damn day? Why does one violent incident, of which nothing motive wise if confirmed, suddenly mean we need a 'serious rethink'? You'd swear we didn't have a murder every second day here!!
Irishmale0399 wrote: » Lads and maybe some of the Dundalk locals can add to this, taking the info from the RTE website: Approx. 09:00 attack on the Avenue Road Makes sense for someone on walking time wise Approx 09:32 attack on the Coes Road (National Tile) Then however Approx 09:40 attack Seatown Place Surely 8 minutes by foot is putting in a good speed. I would have said a walk down the Bypass and up Barrack St, to the Windmill corner. would be at least 10-12 minutes. Am I thinking wrong or do these times not add up?? Furthermore (didnt catch the full press conference), didnt they say he was arrested on the Coes Road, did he go back down Barrack St??? Grew up in the area but havent been back in a while and am trying to put it together in my own head how it could work......
Omackeral wrote: Secondly, why should a poster on here have to have a solution for whatever this is?
Omackeral wrote: And lastly, any solution he were to give would probably be written off as racist anyway.
Binzer wrote: » Young single Muslim men with high testosterone levels and plenty of anger coming to a country that loves alcohol, dogs and eating piggies.....what could possibly go wrong???? It’s only the relatively low levels of these immigrants that has delayed the first attack, you only have to look at Sweden and Germany to see what happens as numbers increase.
Tell me how wrote: » Sorry, I misunderstood discussions were exchanging of ideas. My bad. Not if it wasn't.
ebbsy wrote: » And I bet that man came into the country properly and was of good character, unlike that ****ing scum from Egypt who should have been pushed back across the sea on the tyre that he came from before he stabbed that poor man.
bennyl10 wrote: » No proof he's Muslim, No proof he's angry. There's been other stabbing a and murders this week by Irish people, why is this different? It's a criminal murder, horrific, but not any different then the others. Ah yes, he's an immigrant, sure it's different rhen?!
pilly wrote: » Yeah, there's no hatred going on here. :rolleyes:
testaccount123 wrote: » Thats grand so, maybe you can give the Japanese lads folks a shout and tell them that
bennyl10 wrote: » No proof he's Muslim,assumed sure. But so what? There are thousands of muslims here? There's been other stabbing a and murders this week by Irish people, why is this different? It's a criminal murder, horrific, but not any different then the others. Ah yes, he's an immigrant, sure it's different rhen?!