Deleted User wrote: But hey! if America has tried something and failed, we shouldn't ever consider implementing anything similar.
Wanderer78 wrote: » It is a country filled with other human beings though, different, yes, but very similar in other ways. Loading a country with arms and then introducing stressors, generally doesn't work out too well, they will eventually start shooting each other!
Wanderer78 wrote: » I would like to see more garda patrols...
Wanderer78 wrote: » Shur why not, works well in America!
hurler32 wrote: » In national press and provincial papers its nothing but burglary after burglary. Women killed in Limerick city because she SAW the Burglar apparently, 77 Year old Visually impaired farmer in Offaly beaten up by 3 men in past few days. Elderly Woman hammered in West Clare during the day. 4 church's burgled in Co Meath in one night by Travelling Gang. There has been the Odd success in catching Travelling Gangs from Dublin but there are hundreds of other mid level Travelling gang members in Rural Ireland laughing at their victims and the law. You might have some chance in Dublin with proximity to a garda Presence but in rural Ireland you have been abandoned by the Government to fend for yourself. Sad times.
Cantona's Collars wrote: » The bail laws are a joke here. A scumbag gets caught,gets bail and goes on a crime spree in the knowledge that they won't get any time added to the original if any sentence they might get. They have little or no fear of the law. Even car theft is treated as a minor crime,it should be classed the same as stealing the monetary equivalent of the cars value and sentences should reflect this.
BillyBobBS wrote: » FG have been in power since Feb 2011. We are nearing 7 years of failure from them. The "it's someone's else fault" line is no longer plausible.
Cee-Jay-Cee wrote: » There is one specific section of our community that are the biggest culprits in these type crimes and until such time as society stands up to them, quits pandering to their every whim and tells them that their ridiculous supposed cultural practices are nothing than more than an excuse to travel around and commit crime, then these type crimes will become more and more common.
mariaalice wrote: » The risk of getting caught convicted and serving a meaningful sentence is too low. I don't know if it more people back working, just more people in general but there seem to be too few Garda and it manifests its self in all sort of areas for example I have see a big increase in people using bus lanes when they are not suppose too regular users of the road know the chances of getting caught are slim. Heard an interesting interviews recently and basically the person seemed to shocked at how Australians obey the rules, Its the same in the UK to a large degree. There is a lot of ambivalence in obeying the law here.
Wanderer78 wrote: » ive lived in Australia for a while, plenty of crime over there to
mariaalice wrote: » Of course there is there is crime everywhere, its the point that for example people will got with a broken tail light on the car and expect to get away with it, that does not happen in the Uk by and large because the rules are the rules.
testaccount123 wrote: » Burglary is down 26% according to the CSO
davidk1394 wrote: » Interesting thread you have started. I live in rural Ireland. There has been a big change due to burglaries in the area. People putting in electric gates, constantly suspicious of unusual cars in the area and fear among the elderly. We had 10k worth of diesel stolen on us a few years ago. Called the guards, total waste of time. Had a large electric motor nearly stolen 3 years ago and we left it in the field to catch the bástards, but the guards wanted it taken away. Not taking shìt anymore off people who wanted to steal off hardworking decent people. If someone wants to come here again during the night and rob us they will be met with force. A few miles up the road on the side of a mountain 2 brothers built two houses side by side. One is in Australia during the winter and back during the summer. Anyway 2 fellas from Romania flew in that morning into Dublin, got the bus down and it stopped in local village. They got off the bus and walked to the two houses about 3 miles away. They waited till nightfall and approached the houses. Unfortunately for them they went to the wrong house. The owner heard noises and went down. He opened the door quickly and pulled in one fella and laid into him. The other fella took off running. They called the guards and while they were waiting his grandmother came along who is in her 90's. She brought the shot gun and wanted to shoot him there and then. She said "what would the judge do to an old lady like me" anyway your man shìt himself with everything going on. The guards arrested your man and caught the other fella the day after. Their both serving 7 years in jail in port laoise. The fella who it happened to told me the story.
TallGlass wrote: » First step is not even a three strikes and your out approach. It should be three strikes and your on your own, get your own representation. What's worst than the guys with 160 convictions is that person has to be defended 160 times, how much is that costing? There should be a limit you reach, that you cannot claim free legal representation.
ellejay wrote: » REPORTED burglary is down 26%
Cantona's Collars wrote: » A farmer close to where my missus is from was interviewed before on local radio after firing a shot at 2 thieves. He was asked if he had any regrets for doing it. His answer was "the only regret I have is that I didn't have any more cartridges on me". If you go out with the intention of robbing and terrorising people then you should expect to suffer the consequences of your actions.