Gulliver wrote: » Thanks very much for taking the time to look at that. It was my first (and only!) time building a house and I think I got oversold on the complexity of the system. It was still cheaper than some bigger heating suppliers at the time, though. It's encouraging to hear that I might be able to just replace the stats, even if they are expensive now. They might come down over time. There is CAT5e from each wiring centre to all stats so hopefully that should cover all wiring bases. All stats use their own internal sensors but I did intend to get the wired probe for the ones mounted outside the bathrooms. We just guess those at the moment.
deezell wrote: » The ember App enabled controller R17-RF only has three timing periods per day also. It requires the eph RFR wireless thermostat and the GW01 gateway to complete internet and app connection. About €200 for the kit. If you already have the R17-R and it's wireless stat you will only need the gateway, about €125. All you will be getting is remote control of the non smart system you already have. Typical price, https://www.eurosales.ie/products/eph-ember-pack-1-c-w-r17-rf-1-rfr-1-gw01-emberpack01.html
budhabob wrote: » Is the ember easy to self install? I will take photos this evening and post up.
tweek84 wrote: » I am shocked at that 3 timing periods is definitely not enough well not for me anyway, i should have looked to their system a bit more.
deezell wrote: » It seems the extent of their system is to give app access to the standard features of their controllers and stats. Set the stat temperature, and vary the 3 on off time periods. According to the datasheets anyway. Perhaps the app can dynamically vary these. Send the pics anyway, if you go for one of the smart stats and its receiver, it will aid in identifying the wiring required.
deezell wrote: » The cat5 links all the stats to the UH1 wiring centres, but do you have a master touchpad controller or do you just program the stats individually at the stat itself. If you don't have the touchpad controller then the cat5 serves no real purpose in your current setup. If you had the touchpad it allows central control of all the stats, but any stats replaced by smart ones will no longer appear on the touchpad. A pity you can't find a netmonitor for sale somewhere. The Neohub is not backwards compatible with your stats I think, I see it for sale used for €100 on Donedeal
emmetkenny wrote: » Does anyone know what this icon on the Nest means?
tyres wrote: » Anybody able to help me out on this one. I have 2 zones in the house, which was recently refurbished with 1 upstairs, 1 downstairs and both being controlled with Netatmo thermostats. Water is a joint effort with solar panels and old school timed immersion. Problem after arising as 1 bedroom upstairs, where the baby sleeps, was plumbed incorrectly somehow and is on the downstairs zone so if heat needed for that room then heat is on downstairs when not required. My question is how do I go about controlling this one rad without a big rejig required from the plumber. Would a Netatmo Radiator Valve do the job?
deezell wrote: » Bacteria prevention. If the nest also controls the HW, it will fire the boiler occasionally to heat the HW cylinder and sterilise it if its been off for a long period.
emmetkenny wrote: » We shouldn't be on danger of bacteria seeing as we have a stove and solars heating the water. I assume there is an option in the settings to disable it?
deezell wrote: » You assume correctly. Time to read the manual! 1. Press your thermostat ring to bring up the Quick View menu. 2. Select Settings. 3. Select Equipment and Continue. 4. Choose Bacteria Prevention. 5. Here, you can enable or disable Bacteria Prevention.
Gulliver wrote: » .....According to Heatmiser, the Neohub is not backwards compatible, which is a bit crappy considering the outlay for the original stats.
skerry wrote: » I have a quick Tado smart stat question lads. Finally moving into new house today. Already have a danfoss digital stat in kitchen which Im planning on swapping out for Tado. I was hoping to get it fitted this evening. Thing is, internet connection was acting up yesterday. Question is, if I get the Tado fitted and internet happens to go belly up over the weekend, will that mean I have no heat or will Tado still have basic function? Have a little one and can't risk not having heating and herself wouldn't be best pleased if we were freezing our stones off over the weekend cos I installed my fancy smart stat.
deezell wrote: » skerry wrote: » I have a quick Tado smart stat question lads. Finally moving into new house today. Already have a danfoss digital stat in kitchen which Im planning on swapping out for Tado. I was hoping to get it fitted this evening. Thing is, internet connection was acting up yesterday. Question is, if I get the Tado fitted and internet happens to go belly up over the weekend, will that mean I have no heat or will Tado still have basic function? Have a little one and can't risk not having heating and herself wouldn't be best pleased if we were freezing our stones off over the weekend cos I installed my fancy smart stat. You should have manual control from the stat, but that will be confined to whatever manual control timer settings you had configured in the app, i.e, if you had manual control set to 30 minutes, any manual change on the stat runs for 30 minutes then reverts back to the last scheduled setting ( if your internet had went down). If that setting was say low night time temperature then it remain on that until the next manual intervention or until your internet connection resumes whereupon your schedule would resume. I must plug out the network and test my options on the stat to be sure.
skerry wrote: » Cheers Deezell, If you get a chance to confirm that would be great. Sounds like it would give me similar control to the Danfoss TP5 thats installed already which is set to certain temps over certain time periods throughout the day. Only just got a plumber to get all the rads sorted the other day so if I mess up something and we end up without heating I'll be shot. Hoping internet will be sorted by lunchtime and if its is I have an electrician calling in the evening to fit out switches and sockets in the kitchen so was planning on getting him to throw in the Tado while he's at it.
OREGATO wrote: » Hi guys, Long time lurker and finally deciding to look a bit deeper into heating controls. My set up is not straight forward so I'm looking for advice on: 1. What I need (how many units/thermostats So my current heating set up is as follows: Oil based central heating 4 bedroom house with 3 zones: 1. Hot Water 2. Downstairs (thermostat in hallway) 3. Upstairs (thermostat in main bedroom)...... .....What are the best options for me? I ideally don't want the boiler constantly topping up the heat just for the hot water 24/7. Advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. O
deezell wrote: » You have a single zone timer which is used to control the timing for 3 zones, HW, Upstairs and Down. Replacing the two stats will give you smart timing and temperature of those zones. The lives to these stats will need to be disconnected from the timer output of the single zone timer and connected to the live in. This will leave the timer free to control HW only. If you want to control HW by smart app as well, the smart stat's associated extension box or kit will be required, this unit will completely replace your old 1 zone timer. Nest comes with this as standard, Tado, Netamo optional. You'll need two stats. It's a DIY job to swap the stats if you use Netamo or Tado or Honeywell lyric. Because your controller is single zone you will have to alter it's wiring or remove altogether if you use a stat's control box. You'll have to do this if you install a Nest. EPH's own remote system, ember, would be a plug in replacement for your existing controller, if the baseplate was the right type. It uses wireless stats so you'd have to disconnect the old stat wires or just insulate and hide them behind the new wireless ones. See other recent posts here for my reservations on the ember system.
deezell wrote: » skerry wrote: » Cheers Deezell, If you get a chance to confirm that would be great. Sounds like it would give me similar control to the Danfoss TP5 thats installed already which is set to certain temps over certain time periods throughout the day. Only just got a plumber to get all the rads sorted the other day so if I mess up something and we end up without heating I'll be shot. Hoping internet will be sorted by lunchtime and if its is I have an electrician calling in the evening to fit out switches and sockets in the kitchen so was planning on getting him to throw in the Tado while he's at it. I won't have a chance till later to try that, but that's how it should work if internet goes down. Have you registered with tado and downloaded the app. You need to provide make of current stat you are changing and boiler make. They use this to give you custom install instructions, tho mostly it's just a stat swap. What happens sometimes is that you install the stat but until they have issued you with the custom install instructions they won't advance your install to ' complete, and until that happens app control is not available. In that case you have to call or mail support and tell them to mark your install as complete. You wouldn't want the stat on the wall waiting for a software upload, tho it will work in default manual mode while waiting. You can proceed with the registration before you wire it in place though, connect bridge to internet, register bridge and stat, pair stat to bridge and once tado advances the install to complete, the stat is ready to connect and the app should be working. If you get time to do this on move in day and before the sparks goes home, fair play.
OREGATO wrote: » Thanks...... Some follow on questions: 1. "The lives to these stats will need to be disconnected from the timer output of the single zone timer and connected to the live in" - is this changing the configuration of the wires with the new thermostat when installing or does it entail more? Is this only applicable if I want to keep the EPH? 2. "If you want to control HW by smart app as well, the smart stat's associated extension box or kit will be required, this unit will completely replace your old 1 zone timer. Nest comes with this as standard" - So if I buy the Nest unit, I won't need an extension box? 3. So if I go for the NEST, I will be: A) Removing the EPH zone timer? Replacing Downstairs Thermostat with Nest 1? C) Replacing Upstairs Thermostat with Nest 2? D) The 'Extension Box' that comes with Nest will be able to heat the water? EDIT - Is this the Heatlink? Will this replace the EPH zone timer? Or needs to be installed near the boiler? 4. For my set up, what smart system would you recommend? And would you recommend getting an installer or attempting DIY? Thanks again, O
skerry wrote: » I registered with Tado and picked the boiler closest to the one I have on the website....... .......If I understand so I should go through the remaining steps with hub etc and wait until it says install complete to be sure all is ok and then maybe get stat wired up. Just conscious of it coming up to Christmas holidays and don't want to be left mid install over the Christmas?