JohnBoy26 wrote: » What trouble? Changing the bottom end bearings is not really a big job or an expensive job and on a 2k car id definitely get it done.
martyc5674 wrote: » Which car are ye on about?
colm_mcm wrote: » 1.9 TDI BXE how many hours would you say it'd take a mechanic to do it?
bear1 wrote: » I'd reckon a good days work anyway. Besides what preventative measures could you take? Replace the big end? Replace the bolts connecting to the conrod as they are probably worn? Seems the bls is also affected. Conrod would probably give you a seconds warning before going and you'd want to pray you aren't at speed. Old school pd would be best.
unkel wrote: » I've a weakness for the Smart Roadster. Very cool car :cool: If only it was 15 years old... And didn't leak... And had a much longer NCT...
BorneTobyWilde wrote: » https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a3-sportback-tax-and-test/17459037 AUDI A3 2005 SPORTBACK. TAX AND TEST Nct Aug 18 Tax 7/18 1450.00
CiDeRmAn wrote: » Here's a slightly more practical Smart ForFour, €1950 with long NCT til August 2018.
BorneTobyWilde wrote: » https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/smart-roadster-coupe/17501010 SMART ROADSTER COUPE 2003 nct Feb18 Maybe 2k in this weather. 2500 [/IMG]
BorneTobyWilde wrote: » https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-bmw-325-nct-02-18-auto-leatger/17522802 BMW 325 2007 NCT Feb18 1900.00
Cantona's Collars wrote: » Short NCT and "sold as seen" would be off putting and the tax being nearly as much as the asking price would also put a lot of people off it.
Toyotafanboi wrote: » Is that not suspiciously cheap? Yeah the tax is steep on the 325 but even taking that into consideration I'd have thought that car would still be worth like twice the current asking?
Cantona's Collars wrote: » That was part of my point with the "sold as seen" bit in the ad. I'd be wary of it.
PurvesGrundy wrote: » It does look a very cheap car, but almost too good to be true at that money. An independent trader (such as the one selling it) would retail that with a warranty if it was in reasonable order I'm sure. There has to be something lurking beneath the surface?
JJJJNR wrote: » Lads I'm looking for some advice on a 07 s60 d5 slightly over the banger price, has nct and history can be gotten from previous main dealer garage, but no tax. Took it out for a test spin on Sat and it drives very good. Seller has the old nct certs too so all good. The service light is on the dashboard, and he told me he has done the oil himself and would have to pay to get the service light off. Is there a way around that or would it be cheeky to ask him for proof like a receipt for the oil. Timing belt was done at main dealer also. Is there anything to look out for on them specifically. It's going to need four new tyres also, and it's beige leather interior needs a full restoration job done (a bit dark).
Duke O Smiley wrote: » https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/nissan-sunny/17534080 I had one of these and it was a great car. A bit unsightly, but NCT'd till the end of July 2018 for €350.
Duke O Smiley wrote: » https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-tt/17535727 No spoiler! And a very early one at that. NCT 9/18 €1150 (yes its only 180bhp but still)
BorneTobyWilde wrote: » https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/-03-bmw-e39-automatic/17537598 BMW 520 NCT 2/19 Service history 1599.00