A teenager and a young child have been injured in a shooting at a halting site in west Dublin.
Roger Hassenforder wrote: » So am i reading this right: The misfortunate baby that was shot is this chaps nephew (i.e. his twin brothers son). Who is reported to be 17. With the mother is reported to be 29. Was there a statutory sexual assault there i wonder.
cisk wrote: » Heres the man himself doing some sort of show today at the site. Looks like a lovely chaphttps://www.independent.ie/irish-news/mediation-talks-offered-to-feud-families-after-baby-shot-in-attack-36401035.html
Nekarsulm wrote: » So I had to go back 2 years to find a Traveller shooting at a wedding? Can you find me a similar example of a murder at a wedding of regular settled people? Can you fnd examples of settled people bring slash hooks to funerals? Considering Travellers make up only a half of 1% of the population, there should be hundreds of examples for you to choose from. I exempted drug dealers from the equation, because they are criminals first and foremost. 99.9% of settled people are not criminals.
Odhinn wrote: » Que?
LollipopJimmy wrote: » Just on this, having worked for one of the suppliers for a long time and sitting near the sales and revenue team I always got wind of the goings on, disconnections on halting sites required numerous visits usually and a cost for extra crew plus local Gardai. If the Guards didn't accompany the crew the disconnection often didn't happen. Also we had many cheques from the HSE clearing debts. Most of this big debts were ran up due to interference with meters rather than just non payment of bills also, magnets, dangerous bypassing and physically smashing the esb meters.
end of the road wrote: » they aren't. the ESB have the facilities availible to remove electricity if they don't pay.
Nekarsulm wrote: » I wouldn't agree with you there, Philly. Apart from Drug Dealers and their ongoing territory wars, shootings over arguments/slights etc are very rare in the settled community. Now they (Travellers) usually attack each other physically or with edged weapons, with the machete and the slashhook being favourite, but gun attacks are far from unknown.https://amp.independent.ie/irish-news/police-appeal-to-those-involved-in-wedding-shooting-come-forward-before-any-more-bloodshed-happens-30985719.html
pilly wrote: » It's much more likely to happen in the settled community and when it does a child will be killed cause those guys have an awful lot more fire power.
splinter65 wrote: » Creating an imaginary war with another family is quite time consuming, that’s why there’s so many feuds.
Digital Solitude wrote: » There's far higher numbers of settled people in Ireland, and I haven't heard of any cases like this over here before. And a lot more firepower than a shotgun? I'd hazard the majority of Irish gun owners have hunting rifles, not an awful lot more firepower than a shotgun in any case. Are you talking out your arse or can you back any of that up?
AnneFrank wrote: » It's much more likely ?, can you back that up with proof ?
flutered wrote: » travelers get mediation, we get jail
PeterParker957 wrote: » And his reason for doing that would be ???? Genuinely have no idea!
end of the road wrote: » they aren't. the ESB have the facilities availible to remove electricity if they don't pay. they are subject to the same rules as us. whether those rules are enforced on them or not is an issue but they are subject to the same rules. not financially viable and would likely breach some international and other human rights they haven't got the resources. they are underfunded like a lot of things in ireland. which station was this on? i heard them suggesting for travelers to use the mediation facilities availible.
splinter65 wrote: » It’s a sort of war dance. “ I’m so angry and frustrated about the grave injustice visited on my family and I that feel I want to strip to the waist and bare knuckle fight any male member of the other family to the death in order to assuage my feelings of fury. Please note how well built I am and how fearsome I look. Verily, I say unto you, I demand satisfaction !”. For a man, hours and hours day after day after month after year of doing absolutely nothing ( wouldn’t tidy up the area wouldn’t put a lick of paint on the house wouldn’t pick up the kids broken toys) have to be filled in some way, and creating an imaginary war with another family is quite time consuming, that’s why there’s so many feuds.
JP Liz V1 wrote: » Was the shooter looking for the baby's father?
PandaPoo wrote: » Travellers in the area near where I'm from were given 6 or so houses, brand new, next to a shopping centre. They've been burned down more times than I can remember, always burnt out cars there, shopping trolleys all over the place, rubbish duped wherever they like around the area. Anyone who knows Nutgrove would know where I'm talking about.
end of the road wrote: » Wheeliebin30 wrote: » They dont pay bin charges or electricity. Why are they allowed not pay when others have too? they aren't. the ESB have the facilities availible to remove electricity if they don't pay. they are subject to the same rules as us. whether those rules are enforced on them or not is an issue but they are subject to the same rules. not financially viable and would likely breach some international and other human rights law. they haven't got the resources. they are underfunded like a lot of things in ireland. which station was this on? i heard them suggesting for travelers to use the mediation facilities availible. Would you have any suggestions at all as to how the small innocent children caught up in this drama could be protected from their families?
Wheeliebin30 wrote: » They dont pay bin charges or electricity. Why are they allowed not pay when others have too? they aren't. the ESB have the facilities availible to remove electricity if they don't pay. they are subject to the same rules as us. whether those rules are enforced on them or not is an issue but they are subject to the same rules. not financially viable and would likely breach some international and other human rights law. they haven't got the resources. they are underfunded like a lot of things in ireland. which station was this on? i heard them suggesting for travelers to use the mediation facilities availible.
Wheeliebin30 wrote: » They dont pay bin charges or electricity. Why are they allowed not pay when others have too?
Wheeliebin30 wrote: » One rule for them and another for settled profile. Hush hush now say nothing....
splinter65 wrote: » All the minor children should be taken into care. The adults should be given 1 hour to take any belongings and then the place should be bulldozed to the ground. Not allowed on the housing list. No rent supplement or HAP. Any further babies taken into care.
eviltwin wrote: » I live in the area and I've often wondered why social services don't step in. The adults seem to be barely functional a lot of the time and the kids look badly neglected.
splinter65 wrote: » Pavee point on the radio this morning telling all of including the Gardai the ambulance and the fire brigade and DCC that we have no choice, we must allow them time to sort their grievances out, why? Because feuding like this is part of their culture.
Deleted User wrote: » You regard halting sites as "first class accommodation"...:D:D
[Deleted User] wrote: » You regard halting sites as "first class accommodation"...:D:D