pgj2015 wrote: » i used to go through at least 4 pairs a year, working on building sites.
the_pen_turner wrote: » also I have had one woman go into the floor shop to get a sample, then send in her sister , then send in her father to get more just so they could get the last 3-4 boards to finish the floor. crazy carry on.
the_pen_turner wrote: » yes and the next thing she would do is tell all her fellow stinges that joe miss measured her floor and that her dream kitchen is now a disaster and its all joes fault
JimmyMcGill wrote: » No doubt but she would. You'd just be hoping most of her acquaintances would know the form and see the wood for the trees. She left herself short not Joe, and if I were in his position I'd consider doing one job for her and her ilk one too many. Job done, paid, done. Only caught for time and diesel dropping back the 20.
sligojoek wrote: » Her daughter is a good friend of mine and often puts work my way. It'll be finished to perfection. I made money on the job overall so it's not the end of hte world but what annoys me is that she knew exactly how much the tiles were but just threw me twenty quid thinking I'd say nothing and absorb it. No way José.
sligojoek wrote: » I did a job for a woman a few weeks ago. Part of it was to tile a small kitchenette floor. After measuring the floor I told her she'd need to get 8 square metres of tiles. She said she measured it and it only came to 7m . I said it was actually 7.2 but she'd still need 8 to allow for waste and mistakes. I didnt tell her about the potential mistakes. Anyway the tiles came and there were only 7.5m . 5 x 1.5m boxes. I did my best but I was 4 tiles short to finish the job the evening before she was moving back to Spain till xmas. So she paid me in full for the job and gave me 20 quid to get another box and keep them till she got back. Today I went in to get the box and threw a 20 on the counter only to find out the box cost 35. I'll get it back off her but it'll take me half a day to do what would have taken me a half an hour to do if I'd had enough tiles at the time. Sorry about the big long rant but I'm still annoyed over it.
JimmyMcGill wrote: » If I was paid in full I know what I'd be doing. Give her back the 20 and tell they were all sold out.
nee wrote: » Hennessy is the same price as a pint, about €4.50 - €5.50 at the priciest, unless you're getting VSOP or something, which is wildly inconsiderate in a round.
Martina1991 wrote: » There's stingy and then there's poverty. I doubt the mother likes living on sandwiches rather than providing meals for her child. You don't know what's happening behind closed doors.
johndaman66 wrote: » I'd find it just as hard to believe that you go through about 4 pairs of them a year. What are you doing with em?
davidk1394 wrote: Neighbours of ours a so mean they won't eat. The son and his mother go around to meetings to eat sandwiches and she brings them home in here bag. The son is now in hospital over malnutrition and won't come out now because he has a warm bed,food and has a shower once a week rather than once a year.
Mr.Wemmick wrote: » I don't understand why people ask for a high cost whiskey or brandy in a round. A ridiculous level of selfishness and pure thickness is my guess. Very bad form. Once we were out with a couple we didn't really know, friends of family and got roped into meeting up with them as they moved near to where we lived. Anyway, after having a bit of a walk about, we took them to one of our drinking spots in the afternoon thinking non of our crowd would be about at that time, but sure enough one decent lad came in and straight over to us. After a quick chat he was off to the bar and politely offered/asked if any of us wanted a drink. We said no as we were all leaving soon, but of course the pair of a'holes we were with asked for brandies knowing full well they wouldn't have to buy him back as we were leaving. We were mortified. He looked a bit shocked, but shook it off being the good lad he is and got them their Hennessys. That stopped the flow of talk soon after, felt really awkward. After we left, I made a pretense of something or other and slipped back to tell our friend we'd be in later that night and sort it out, which we did. Made our excuses and got rid of the pair soon after.. and the next week I gave off stink to the family member who roped us in to look after a pair of f*** ups like that. At least that night in the pub we had a good laugh letting rip and, not to mention, a few stinge stories were doing the rounds that night.
pgj2015 wrote: » I would go through about 4 pairs of steel toe cap boots a year so I find it hard to believe he has a pair of boots from 1999 that he works in.
pgj2015 wrote: » what sort of work does your dad do while wearing the boots? I would go through about 4 pairs of steel toe cap boots a year so I find it hard to believe he has a pair of boots from 1999 that he works in.
cantdecide wrote: » My dad's 'work boots' are a pair of boots that used to be my brothers 'school' boots. They look like steel toe cap boots but the aren't. My brother did the leaving cert in 1999 - the year my maternal grandfather died. My dad's work coat is a coat my grandmother gave my dad after my granddad died. Knowing my dad, nostalgia is not the reason he hangs onto this well worn clothing.
Jobs OXO wrote: » She was obviously miffed you never slipped her a length !
thestinge wrote: » Another college story: A girl in the class I was friendly with was from Donaghmede. One day after college it was teaming rain and one of the lads suggested I drop her home, no idea why (presumably boredom, not for reasons you might think) but I did a few of us went for the spin and she was very thankful etc. Another time we were pre drinking in my apt before a night out and at the end of the night she asked could she stay at mine as her friend who she was supposed to stay with had gone missing. I was on campus where the security guards were extremenly strict about non residents staying over and no amount of pleading would persuade them to let her in so not wanting to leave her stranded I walked her over to another mates house over in Shanowen, who were thankfully still up, and had no problems putting her up for the night. So I think I've established that I was a decent friend, or I like to think so anyway. A few weeks later after I missed a few Friday morning lectures in a row, I asked herself if I could I borrow her notes. She says sure no problem I'll bring them in next week. Next week arrived and I asked her did she have the notes with her and I got this reply: "Well I've been thinking about it and I don't think it's fair that I should give you my notes when you didn't bother going to the lectures" I didn't know what to say. Ended up getting the notes off someone else.She even started work in the same company as me a few years later which was awkward but luckily enough I moved on soon enough, but not before we were on the same tag rugby team!