Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Medical student assaults girlfriend

• 03-12-2017 10:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭maxsmum

See link here.

Reading the circumstances of this, sounds like there were a pair of them in it. Yes, he kicked her when she was down but not sure why she wasn't charged with assault also?

I am a woman btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,294 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I guess men are supposed to walk away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

It's a woman's world these days, men are all bullies/potential rapists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

I guess men are supposed to walk away

Or at least not follow her out of the room to knock her to the ground and kick her repeatedly.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Following her to the bedroom after she walked away. Punching her to the ground, kicking her while she's on the ground. She locks herself in another room. He tries to kick the door in.

I'm all for pointing out double standards and inequality but doesn't really apply here. Only thing that'll annoy me here is that he'll get off lightly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Don Kiddick

Outside of throwing a takeaway at him I'm not sure what she did to deserve a beating...am I missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,576 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

I'm sorry but for what he did he should getting more than a €500 fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

€5000 compensation he has to pay her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭server down

maxsmum wrote: »
    See link here.

Reading the circumstances of this, sounds like there were a pair of them in it. Yes, he kicked her when she was down but not sure why she wasn't charged with assault also?

I am a woman btw.

What started as a normal domestic turned brutal. So no. He was worse than her. And all he got was a 5,000 fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭jeonahr

Outside of throwing a takeaway at him I'm not sure what she did to deserve a beating...am I missing something?

Article says that they both slapped each other before he beat her. I'm not condoning his actions but it wasn't one sided for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭maxsmum

I just think they both behaved disgracefully, there was clearly provocation in a heated relationship and yes he ended up behaving brutally but she certainly escalated it. He gets named and disgraced, she doesn't and both have careers that require Garda clearance and professional body approval.
    If I had behaved like that in the context of what sounds like a toxic relationship, I personally wouldn't have pursued a prosecution. I would never give him the time of day again but I too think it was a case of taking two to tango.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

She assaulted him first with the takeaway. Who then slapped first I wonder to escalate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Sesame

Typical, his future at stake, his reputation. Let's not give him a conviction. No mention of the girls future and trauma she will have to deal with in the future.
    I wouldn't let that man near me or my children in a mendical setting and will look out for his name in the future. You can be sure, as his precious career takes off, he will wipe his name from google history.

She pushed it into his face and then slapped him, and a beating seems a bit of a stretch. Not defending the guy but I agree with op, they were both to blame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Sesame wrote: »
    Typical, his future at stake, his reputation. Let's not give him a conviction. No mention of the girls future and trauma she will have to deal with in the future.
    But sure didn't she get a big wad of sweaty money off him, the cure to all ills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Sesame

It's fairly clear he escalated the violence and this resulted in her needing to call the guards as her life felt at risk.

AnneFrank wrote: »
    She pushed it into his face and then slapped him, and a beating seems a bit of a stretch. Not defending the guy but I agree with op, they were both to blame

You are defending the guy. After the slaps here is what happened.

Moody followed her to a bedroom, where he punched her in the back and knocked her to the floor.
    He then kicked her "numerous times", said Gda Byrne.

When the victim got up, Moody pushed her on to the bed and poured a can of Coke over her hair, her body and her clothes.
    The victim then left the room and locked herself in another bedroom. When Moody started kicking and banging on the door, she phoned gardai, who arrived soon afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

I haven't read the article, but I'm sure it ends with him being let off because he has such a good future in medicine ahead of him. Happens all the time when medical students end up in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭maxsmum

McGaggs wrote: »
    I haven't read the article, but I'm sure it ends with him being let off because he has such a good future in medicine ahead of him. Happens all the time when medical students end up in court.

Or, maybe because there were mitigating circumstances and because he has never offended before. That happens all the time with most first offenders, actually. Read the article.

Kicking her on the ground isn't a beating?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

jeonahr wrote: »
    Article says that they both slapped each other before he beat her. I'm not condoning his actions but it wasn't one sided for sure.

He followed her to beat the living daylights out of her. Slapping while I oppose it is not remotely comparable. His behaviour veers into highly disturbing and unhinged. Sounds like he could easily have killed her.

It's a lesson to us all. Don't start fights you can't finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

maxsmum wrote: »
    Or, maybe because there were mitigating circumstances and because he has never offended before. That happens all the time with most first offenders, actually. Read the article.

I was referring to this one: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/09/25/oxford-student-judge-suggested-bright-prison-spared-jail-stabbing/

This lad would be €5k richer if he had a vagina.

It's a lesson to us all. Don't start fights you can't finish.

And don't waste a good bag of chips at 330am

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Nothing on After Hours surprises me anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,757 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I recall an older man giving advice to young men.
    He said when you come home with a skinful go straight up the stairs to bed.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Sounds like you were there. Seem to know the exact sequence of events and the power of each slap, punch and kick. Not like you're unsubtly exaggerating her part and downplaying his part to fit your agenda.

His lawyer described it as a moment of madness. Wonder what he was capable of if she wasn't locked in a room.

Surely even if this wasn’t a relationship it’s still assault.

Person A slaps Person B.

Person B slaps back and knocks person A to the floor, kicking person A while down and throwing a drink over him or her. Person A escapes, hides in a locked room which person B tries to break into. In fear of his or her life person A calls the police.

That’s not proportionate self defence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

It's a woman's world these days, men are all bullies/potential rapists

Tell me about it. Can't even punch a woman to the ground, repeatedly kick her, pour coke all over her, and then, when she manages to escape to another room, try to kick the door in without ending up in court. It's just so tough being a man these days. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Fixed your post

Person A slaps Person B.

Person B slaps back. Person A leaves the room and is followed by Person B who then and knocks person A to the floor, kicking person A while down and throwing a drink over him or her. Person A leaves the room again, hides in a locked room which person B tries to break into. In fear of his or her life person A calls the police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Person A slaps Person B.

Person B slaps back and knocks person A to the floor, kicking person A while down and throwing a drink over him or her. Person A escapes, hides in a locked room which person B tries to break into. In fear of his or her life person A calls the police.

Person B then gets no conviction and treated very fairly by the judge if they pay compensation to person A?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,407 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Try take gender out of it for a minute. If it were another man the verdict would likely be the same. Hitting someone who has walked away from behind and kicking them while down is a scummy act of assault.

If it had stopped at the two of them slapping each other I'd probably agree both were at fault but this guy continued it. This is not a case of one law for the woman and another for the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

Could be worse, he could have stabbed her and got away with it like that girl studying medicine in Oxford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭9or10

McGaggs wrote: »

I'm sure he'll make a fine Doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

It's true to say she has been no angel in this case. Whatever bee was in her bonnet with him should never reached physical level in terms of dealing with it. Shoving the food in his face and her part of the slapping match shows that she doesn't know how to deal with conflict either.

It cannot be denied however, that he went above and beyond to ensure she got her comeuppance. Actually following her, continuing to kick and punch her.

I can tell you something for nothing. I wouldn't want him anywhere near me as a doctor.

Both in the wrong, he went way too far in retaliation. Hopefully they can both move on with lessons learned.

Estrellita wrote: »
    It's true to say she has been no angel in this case. Whatever bee was in her bonnet with him should never reached physical level in terms of dealing with it. Shoving the food in his face and her part of the slapping match shows that she doesn't know how to deal with conflict either.

It cannot be denied however, that he went above and beyond to ensure she got her comeuppance. Actually following her, continuing to kick and punch her.

I can tell you something for nothing. I wouldn't want him anywhere near me as a doctor.

This really is not a "both parties were at fault" scenario. His behaviour was completely disturbing and warped. He could have murdered her, if he had done so would you have made a similar post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I think she slapped him a few times too. But his behaviour was more out of line going by that report.

_Dara_ wrote: »
    I think she slapped him a few times too. But his behaviour was more out of line going by that report.

Yes, just a smidge out of line is right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭OnDraught

Both in the wrong, he went way too far in retaliation. Hopefully they can both move on with lessons learned.

Hopefully he does six months in the joy at least. Dirt bag won't be feeling like a big man when he's taken out of Ranelagh.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Uboat

"Hugh Moody (23) attacked the trainee pharmacist when she pushed a takeaway meal in his face."

She started it, therefore he was right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Could be worse, he could have stabbed her and got away with it like that girl studying medicine in Oxford.

Different jurisdiction. It’s not really relevant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 903 ✭✭✭MysticMonk

maxsmum wrote:

Yes..it used to be called a Drunken Domestic...and they can get out of hand if there's booze involved.
    Although the woman attacked first his reaction was over the top.
    Something similar happened me years ago where an ex tried to glass me...I shoved her backwards and she fell over,she wasnt injured but pretended to be,threatening all kinds of dire repercussions...ten seconds earlier she was trying to blind me with a broken glass....if I'd actually hit her I'm sure that little fact would've been overlooked in the hue and cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭Vic_08

MysticMonk wrote: »
    Yes..it used to be called a Drunken Domestic...and they can get out of hand if there's booze involved.
    Although the woman attacked first his reaction was over the top.
    Something similar happened me years ago where an ex tried to glass me...I shoved her backwards and she fell over,she wasnt injured but pretended to be,threatening all kinds of dire repercussions...ten seconds earlier she was trying to blind me with a broken glass....if I'd actually hit her I'm sure that little fact would've been overlooked in the hue and cry.

Anybody that can't see the difference between a shove/slap during a fight and a sustained one-sided attack after the other party has retreated is either intentionally ignoring the facts to make a point or is a fukking idiot.

pitifulgod wrote: »
    This really is not a "both parties were at fault" scenario. His behaviour was completely disturbing and warped. He could have murdered her, if he had done so would you have made a similar post?

No where in my post did I say that both parties were at fault. I merely broke down the incident as I understand it happened. Next you'll be saying I'm indicating she deserved it. Your posts need to chill the fúck out.

Given how incredibly violent he was, the fact that he lost all control and pursued her to punch and kick her, trying to get to her when she was locked in another room, the petty nastiness behind emptying the drink all over her, I would happily bet that this won't be the last time he inflicts violence on some woman. He really should seek professional help to address the underlying cause for that level of rage.

Estrellita wrote: »
    No where in my post did I say that both parties were at fault. I merely broke down the incident as I understand it happened. Next you'll be saying I'm indicating she deserved it. Your posts need to chill the fúck out.

Why was there any need to comment on her conflict management? She's literally been through a serious trauma, I'm in no rush to be judging her.. Which plenty in this thread are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Instant karma.

pitifulgod wrote: »
    Why was there any need to comment on her conflict management?
    What, are you the discussion board police? It's either pitch forks or get told off by a hysterical. He's a dangerous man. I get it.
    She's literally been through a serious trauma.

Yes, believe it or not I did actually read the article. Please, waste the rest of your Sunday picking someone else's posts apart, I've no interest in your drama.

RayM wrote: »
    Tell me about it. Can't even punch a woman to the ground, repeatedly kick her, pour coke all over her, and then, when she manages to escape to another room, try to kick the door in without ending up in court. It's just so tough being a man these days. :(
    Totally agree, well said Ray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Adjourning the case, Judge Gerard Jones said he would treat Moody "very fairly" if he paid compensation to his 22-year-old victim.

A cop out from the judge.