the_pen_turner wrote: » yes but where is the deception or thieft
wally79 wrote: » And if this shop never has any good new stuff they’ll stop going But all the same Less whinge more stinge
the_pen_turner wrote: » yes but that could happen anyway. some people go around to charity shops every day just to see if anything new came in. . nothing stingy , or inappropriate going on
wally79 wrote: » Well there’s also the fact that the good stock is gone before anyone else sees it so people are less likely to go to the shop
the_pen_turner wrote: » that's my thinking. if he is getting stuff at reduced rates then its wrong but it doesn't seem to be that way. just a heads up that its for sale
Danjamin1 wrote: » If the price the shop is asking is paid I don’t see a problem with it, but if the customer is getting a special price due to knowing someone in the shop it’s a bit underhanded
the_pen_turner wrote: » where is the depetion or thieft
Dan Jaman wrote: » A small bit unfair? It's deception and theft.
the_pen_turner wrote: » its a small bit unfair on other shoppers that some of the good stuff is bought up before they get a fair craic at it. other than that no I don't see anything wrong with it. if it was a normal shop and someone was buying stuff from that shop cheap and selling it on for more money would you have a problem with it. its called making money. fair play to him
turbbo wrote: » I wouldn't go - weddings are shyte.
Dan Jaman wrote: » You honestly see nothing wrong with it?
the_pen_turner wrote: » what's the problem. the shop sets a price and tries to sell it. this guy buys it. its up to him what he does with it. give it away or sell it is irrelevant. if the insider was ringing a poor person with bargains would anyone say anything. I doubt it . I see it as a positive to the shop. they get a regular customer and the regular money. whats the problem
Dan Jaman wrote: » Borders on deception, fraud and corruption, if you ask me.
rushfan wrote: » I heard it happened a lot during the recession. People trawling the charity shops and reselling at car boot sales too.
job seeker wrote: » That's shocking!!! :eek::pac:
job seeker wrote: That's shocking!!!
Shelflife wrote: » I know a lad that boasts about his money making ploys. He has a mate that works in a charity shop who rings him when anything good comes in. He then buys it on the cheap and sells it on eBay. Doesn’t even dream of giving a fe euro extra back to the charity. Bragged about making €80 on some designer gear that he bought for €10.
JillyQ wrote: » Came upon a brearhalyser checkpoint last Friday at 11.30 in the morning in Galway. Years ago a friend of mine used to come and with me about once a month. He'd turn up with one arm as long as the other. Then when we were out he would magically disappear when his round came and reappear at the end of the night. I told him after a couple of times staying here that it was basic manners to bring something to the person you were staying. Turned up empty handed the next time, we looked at him as soon as we walked into the pub and said your round, there was 7 of us including him. He bought the round went on about how generous he was all night. Next few times he wanted to stay I said know, he finally got the message.
Danjamin1 wrote: » There's no stinge as bad as a stinge in a round of drinks!!
cantdecide wrote: » Preaching to the choir. He feels it's beneficial to him to do it this way and that's the only reason he does it.
cantdecide wrote: » Danjamin1 wrote: » On my work commute I regularly see Garda checkpoints for tax & insurance, it's stinges like your dad the Gardaí are looking to catch! I was driving my mother in her car the other day and we came to a checkpoint and I had totally forgotten about this habit. The first thing my mother said 'my tax is out' but the guard just waved us through - they can't do anything until it's out over a month. My mother tells me that sometimes, they'll stop her and say 'errr your tax is out' and she has to pretend she's just forgotten and promise to tax it :rolleyes: I think my dad's name is probably cursed at that point. Danjamin1 wrote: » Funnily enough I haven't seen a breath testing checkpoint in a number of years despite the high numbers of tests carried out :rolleyes: I've been breathalysed just once in my life.
Danjamin1 wrote: » On my work commute I regularly see Garda checkpoints for tax & insurance, it's stinges like your dad the Gardaí are looking to catch!
Danjamin1 wrote: » Funnily enough I haven't seen a breath testing checkpoint in a number of years despite the high numbers of tests carried out :rolleyes:
pilly wrote: » I was stopped once when I was younger on a provisional licence and because you're supposed to have a full licence driver with you I said I have, my very drunk Dad, the Garda start breaking his hole laughing. Let me off but he said strictly I didn't have a full licence holder with me which was true I suppose.
PeterParker957 wrote: » OT I know but I was once breathalysed though I was in the passenger seat!!! This was in the UK and I think it was a pilot or something on motorways so that all drivers or potential drivers must be fit to take over. Died on its arse as a scheme i believe. Oh and I failed. Spectacularly!!! Why do you think My mate was driving ????
Aviation wrote: » I would go to a wedding with no money, but I wouldn't let anyone buy me a drink, I'd simply drink water for the night.
cantdecide wrote: » Preaching to the choir. He feels it's beneficial to him to do it this way and that's the only reason he does it. Like I say, the only grace period is that there is no consequence to driving with an expired disc as long as it's less than a month- there is no action a guard can take as long as it's within that first month expired. Consequences only kick in when the month is over - a situation that he believes he's capitalising on... he's not. I agree with you 100%. It's not strictly stingey, but it's come from a place of extreme stinge. For the vast majority of his working life he had company cars. He resents spending ANYTHING on motoring.