Beechwoodspark wrote: » Just out of interest has anyone here had any personal dealings with him? Do the stories seem to ring true? I saw him in a fairly trendy city centre bar a while back. I just remember he was at the bar wearing a sort of arthur Daley camel (?) overcoat and I thought it was a fairly old fashioned looking coat for a guy in his mid 20s to wear. That's the sum total of my interaction with him lol
Ballstein wrote: » By that logic all the women who are coming out saying that Weinstein abused them are spiteful? By that logic all the victims of child abuse are driven by spite. Is spite only the motive when sexual assault is carried out by a young male homosexual comedian on fellow adult males? Because when people report abuse by priests or old white men who fit the narrative they are called brave and heroic.
JimmyMcGill wrote: » Who's Al Porter?
Strazdas wrote: » The Blind Date on TV3 host
Conor84 wrote: » I am not a fan of Al Porter but in the current climate if somebody makes an allegation like this it seems it is presumed to be true. That's not right as a person's career and reputation can be destroyed by one person with an agenda. That whole Louis Walsh allegation was found to be entirely false. At least in that case the person making it was jailed. But in this case because there are a number of people making similar allegations it does tend to be more credible but nothing has yet been proved or admitted. What's been alleged though is a criminal offence and they are prosecuted so I wonder if the victims have reported them to Gardai. Last year there was a high profile case where Alan Fitzsimons (OTT boyband and Voice of Ireland) was convicted of groping a work colleagues genitals at a Party and he lost his job over it also. So these things are taken seriously enough.
Dr Crayfish wrote: » Yeah but all of those things are totally different to some idiot trying to grab at another fully grown man's crotch. Well in my opinion they are anyway, I don't think I'd be bothered that much if it happened me.
Ballstein wrote: » The fella who ran the Gate theatre got flayed cause he TOLD a woman she looked well.
AttentionBebe wrote: » He hit, screamed at and bullied staff as well as making sexually lewd comments but yeah let's pretend he just told someone she looked well. FFS.
Ballstein wrote: » The fella who ran the Gate theatre got flayed cause he TOLD a woman she looked well. Trump is still being hounded because he TALKED ABOUT grabbing a woman by the pussy. Porter went into the jacks and stuck his hand down a fellas pants grabbing his junk, yet he’s “only messing” sure “he’s great craic”. The problem with setting off a mob to lynch someone is that sometimes the mob lynch people who you don’t want lynched. Old white men like Hook can’t even say a word that doesn’t fit the current narrative without the mob demanding his removal, yet one of the most respected newspapers in the world run a front page headline with 4 independent allegations and all of a sudden certain people are saying there’s no proof.
Ballstein wrote: » The fella who ran the Gate theatre got flayed cause he TOLD a woman she looked well. Trump is still being hounded because he TALKED ABOUT grabbing a woman by the pussy.
Mankelland wrote: » Isn't that the problem though? That as an "able bodied heterosexual young man" you ought to be "hard" and "tough" and that sexual assault can't apply to you?
PowerToWait wrote: » But there is nothing proven. But that's not what I'm on about. I'm sure it would be traumatic to have a man suddenly and unwanted, with the deftness and swiftness of a ninja, insert his hand into your jocks. My unsophisticated brain is wondering why it wasn't sorted out 'sur le champ'. Yer man was 19, a small time comedian on a small scene, the others in their late 20s. In the cases you mentioned in a previous post the alleged assaulter held position of considerable power over the victim, which they abused. I don't see that dynamic in this instance.
Noveight wrote: » Celebrities who've managed to keep their sexual scandals under wraps must be shítting bricks these days.
Purple Mountain wrote: » Wonder if his panto is in jeopardy?
evolving_doors wrote: » Oh yes it is....
Snowfire wrote: » Ohhhhhh nooooooo it's not...