[Deleted User] wrote: » A study found that the overall odds of waking up during surgery is about one in 19,600. In Ireland in 2011 there were 8 cases reported of people waking up during anesthesia.http://www.nationalauditprojects.org.uk/NAP5report - full study for those who are nervous about anesthesia.
IvyTheTerrible wrote: » On a similar theme, red heads are less reactive to anaesthetic. So they need more of it to get knocked out. I'd be interested to know the hair colour of the 8 people who woke up.
stimpson wrote: » I remember being in Holland in the 90's and there was a big clock in each station and the train would come to a stop as the second hand hit 12, so apparently it's not that hard to do (except here)
Realt Dearg Sec wrote: » Similarly, I lived in Zurich for a while and once a local commuter train was twenty minutes late and it made the news. If it was Ireland, if a train was twenty minutes late the driver would probably get a photo with the Taoiseach and a ticker-tape parade.
Candie wrote: » Neil Armstrongs space suit was made by a company best known for making bras. The International Latex Company's original spacesuit design was a disaster and roundly rejected by NASA, but a rogue group of that company's designers worked non stop for weeks and presented NASA with a revised design, which then went into production. The International Latex Companys best known subsidiary was called Playtex - a major manufacturer of womens underwear, their most successful product was called The Cross Your Heart Bra which was launched in 1954 and is still sold today.
368100 wrote: » I'm a Ginge .....
sbsquarepants wrote: » Are you the real ALF?:D I used to love your show!
368100 wrote: » I'm not as good looking as him
fergiesfolly wrote: » Lads, read the first few pages of this thread. That's the kind of interesting fact we're looking for. The last few pages here reminds me of the time I tried to read Ulysses. Me heads melting. Maybe a new thread for all the space/time stuff.
Lorelli! wrote: » Carol Hersee or BBC Test Card girl is the most aired face in British television history appearing for several hours a day every day for over 30 years.https://www.google.ie/search?client=ms-android-h3g-ie&biw=320&bih=222&tbm=isch&sa=1&ei=Dg0PWseUGaSOgAbx5LbAAQ&q=carole+hersee&oq=carol+hersee&gs_l=mobile-gws-img.1.0.0i13k1l4.6033.7737.0.8784.5.5.0.0.0.0.192.740.1j4.5.0....0...1.1j4.64.mobile-gws-img..0.4.647...41j0i24k1j0i8i30k1j0i10i24k1.0.qMasBukk-78#imgrc=lvgJqvyiV1g1qM:
Bandana boy wrote: » the cast of friends must have well passed that record out by now its always feckin on
Candie wrote: » A friend told me earlier that the word drag - as in drag artist - comes from Shakespearian direction, when the leading lady would be played by a boy or young man since acting was considered a rather racy profession for a young lady to enter, little better than prostitution. The chap would be given his lines and the direction to be dressed as a girl - or in drag. It's probably only news to me, but I'm surprised it's not something that was mentioned by any English teacher I had over the years.
sbsquarepants wrote: » He was a handsome divil alright. But I always did have a thing for redheads, and hooky noses strangely enough - not a full on gonzo now, just a slight sexy one, you know like Gillian Anderson or Alf:D:D
Capt'n Midnight wrote: » "Then finally 11,703 years before 2000 AD the climate flipped back into a warmer mode where it has remained ever since." Personally I like to imagine it would have ended during the warmest part of the day. So the ice age ended some time around 3pm on July the 19th 9,704 BCNo Dougal, they can't be that precise about the ice age!
Lorelli! wrote: » Carol Hersee or BBC Test Card girl is the most aired face in British television history appearing for several hours a day every day for over 30 years.
Capt'n Midnight wrote: » Actually thinking about it , the Ice Age would have ended at the point where the ice stopped increasing. Which would have been when sun light started warming it. So the ice age ended at 4:21 am on July the 19th 9,704 BC
IvyTheTerrible wrote: » Most of "some old word is actually an acronym" are apocryphal and have no basis is etymological history, so take them with a pinch of salt.