The Nal wrote: » Replace that with footballer, rugby player, cyclist. Any sport really. But especially in the fight game. Barely been anyone ever at the top who hasn't dropped a bollick somewhere. Whether it be behaviour like that, stupid and offending quotes, idiotic religious beliefs, sexism, drug use, rapes....... I'd much rather see him in acting the mickey like that than failing drugs tests.
cletus wrote: » So we should not be disappointed by any of that behaviour?
cletus wrote: » I would be much less disappointed if somebody expressed a silly religious beliefs than if they were convicted of rape
glasso wrote: » let me get this straight. you'd be ok with a rapist over someone using a PED. very screwed up thinking there and not that of a rational person
Sweet Science wrote: » What
The Nal wrote: » No! More of that please. Its only entertainment. I enjoyed watching the video of it just like I'm enjoying all the banter after it. Was really referring to Alis more hardcore early religious beliefs with that one. Im sure a lot of fans were disappointed with him. But Tyson is a great guy. Has his own TV shows, comedy tours, media appearances etc. Thats the convicted rapist Mike Tyson, who has never apologised for it. Was pre internet though so thats ok. No. I meant "acting the mickey like that" as in jumping in the cage and throwing slaps. I would not like to see anyone engage in any of the behaviour I mentioned above like raping people. My broader point being fighters will always let you down if you're there to be let down in the first place. A load of butthurt McG fans about as if there mum has just committed a murder.
cletus wrote: » I'm most definitely not 'butthurt' about this, nor have I a case of 'faux outrage' or whatever else. I'm not screaming about this on social media, nor do I hope he loses his next fight. I will still watch his fights (but then I watch any and all MMA that I can access/have the time for). I was simply disappointed when I saw the videos from Saturday night. My first thought was 'what the **** is he doing that for'. I didn't find it entertaining or great craic or banter, or anything else. I can see no positive in his behaviour. In all honesty, I think he was acting like a dickhead, and I can't speak for anybody else, but at nearly 40, I've had my fill of dickheads over the years
Gamebred wrote: » PMSL the state of this fake outrage you'd swear hes gone and murdered a few kids get a life lads seriously.
TerrorFirmer wrote: » So going out and murdering kids is the yardstick we should judge public figures by? Conor's behavior was completely and utterly beyond unacceptable. His 'apology' is even worse.
The Nal wrote: » Hes not a politician. Hes a cage fighter. If you judge him as a "public figure" then you're bound to be let down. Judge him more like a WWE wrestler as a opposed to a person at the top of society. The more chaos and newsworthy stories the better.
everlast75 wrote: » agree completely with this. And in my opinion, if he had of apologised sincerely and said that he lost the run of himself and that he only had himself to blame (ie. shut up after the bit where he said he should have behaved better) I would have said - draw a line under it and move on. But he didn't - he brought up a dead fighter and then blamed the ref. That's the bit that sticks in my craw, makes him out to be a bit of an a**hole and compounds the shítty behaviour of getting in to the ring in the first place.
Muahahaha wrote: » December 30th is only 45 days away and he has been on the razz since the end of August. No way can I see McGregor going into the Octogan on December 30th, especially against Tony. If he does he will be vastly unprepared and will lose badly.
darced wrote: » This post has been deleted.
Gamebred wrote: » Diaz and Woodley is a dreadful fight who the fook is running the UFC.
Porthallian wrote: » What I dont understand is that people/fanboys are only now saying things like "my opinion of Conor has changed" and "I can no longer support him during his fights". Based on him pushing a ref and acting thuggish? He's been acting like an arsehole for years IMO. His statements towards Siver/Aldo were disgusting and bordered on racism. This was long before the Mayweather saga. His faux apology to Dennis Siver - “Ich bin ein sowwy. Now about them feet...” - was every bit as embarrassing and insincere as his most recent apology.
D.Q wrote: » That clip outside the Point Depot is the perfect example.
Gamebred wrote: » He's been launching cans across press conferences, diving out of cages to confront Aldo, comments about the favelas and homophobic slurs yet it took till he gave Goddard a small little push in the heat of the moment? very odd.
Porthallian wrote: » I actually thought you were one of his biggest cheerleaders. My apologies. Must have been thinking on another regular poster. I had an argument with a McGregor fan on this forum about 2 years ago.