The Veteran wrote: » Few things: Last night Aer Lingus has significant delays and ended up with a very significant number of flights in an hour starting around 22:00. Immigration didn’t delay the planes! The management of queues is nothing to do with Immigration.
The Veteran wrote: » Few things: ...... Terminal 1 in the main immigration hall is a building site, simple.
The Veteran wrote: » I won’t talk about details here but does anyone know what happened yesterday in Dublin Airport in terms of cases identified or detected? I will give an example from today - someone arrived with another person in tow with them. The first person has previously travelled with drug mules. The impact: several hours of interviews and searches involving three Agencies. I’d rather officers spend their time on what they are meant to do rather than ensuring people are waved through.
The Veteran wrote: » Also, the Irish passport card is only valid for travel in certain instances and really is a gimmick.
The Veteran wrote: » To the poster who talks about only having problems with biometric Gates in Dublin, I smile, they must only get to fly every now and then as the pilot eGates have not been in use since the turn of the year and in some senses more importantly Gates across Europe are Passport only (except some deployments that allow their own ID cards - few of them though).
The Veteran wrote: » Terminal 1’s main hall is too small; the new corridor is too tight; 3 of the 9 desks are completely tucked away out of sight; the signs are broken; etc etc etc. The Immigration Service didn’t build the airport ... daa did!
Jawgap wrote: » So we've issued biometric passports (and cards) but we seem, in my experience, to be the only country that doesn't have the gates? Yes, I can see why you are smiling.....that's a real "Irish" thing to do :rolleyes:
Jawgap wrote: » if only the yellowpack immigration checkers were put into all available kiosks at times of high demand......you know? If the situation was managed?
Negative_G wrote: » I've never understood why people feel the need to use a "passport holder". What exactly does it do? Is it a fashion statement? I don't see what purpose it serves to be honest.
Why not take it out of its "holder" before the desk, hand it in, and put it back when you are through and avoid delaying yourself and other passengers?
LXFlyer wrote: » While I appreciate your frustration about the queue, and I'd be frustrated to, do you really have to resort to insulting staff who are simply doing their job by describing them as "yellowpack". I think that's frankly unnecessary, insulting and rather demeans your argument. For the record I have no connection with INIS or DAA, but this isn't After Hours, and I don't see why you should feel the need to be that condescending about anyone doing their job. They are professional immigration staff - I don't know what makes them "yellowpack" in your eyes, other than not being members of An Garda Siochana?
Jawgap wrote: » What training do they undergo? My understanding is that they are there to carry out rudimentary immigration checks. They are not a uniformed service is any sense of the word, and indeed I think the uniforms and badging are faintly ridiculous - whoever designed them watched one too many episodes of some US cop drama. Secondly, I doubt their professionalism.....as I pointed out, standing around in a knot while the service your supposed to be providing is falling apart; strutting around like peacock; and flirting with someone you are supposed not to be even processing, smells like a service that is, at its heart, really just about being cheap and saving money.....hence my use of the word, "yellowpack" - as in something pretending to offer more quality than it actually does.
Jawgap wrote: » What training do they undergo? My understanding is that they are there to carry out rudimentary immigration checks. They are not a uniformed service is any sense of the word, and indeed I think the uniforms and badging are faintly ridiculous - whoever designed them watched one too many episodes of some US cop drama.
LXFlyer wrote: » Their job is to carry out the full spectrum of immigration checks at the airport, including interrogation, hardly rudimentary. People were giving out that members of the Garda were carrying out this function, rather than civilian staff who would be more suited to it. It has nothing to do with saving money but rather freeing up the gardai for frontline policing. Frankly your posts sound very condescending about people who have an important job to do.
• deciding on the granting of permission to individuals to enter the State and, where applicable, refusing entry; • examining passports and identifying potentially forged documentation, conducting personal interviews with passengers – working through interpreters where necessary, and objectively evaluating the information presented; • working in close co-operation with An Garda Síochána and other airport personnel and agencies; • using relevant technology; • other related functions as directed by the Border Management Unit of the Department’s Irish Naturalisation and Immigration Service (INIS) including general administrative work and report writing.
Clerical Officer Personal Pension Contribution (PPC) as of 01 January 2016 €419.29€447.97€455.27€469.48€490.46€511.39€532.33 €553.25€573.62€593.99€608.33€628.49€648.53€679.78 NMAX €704.35€715.62
Stephen Strange wrote: » Quite frankly your "understanding" is just plain wrong and getting tiresome.
LXFlyer wrote: » .......... Frankly you could make your point far better without resorting to childish insults. It just makes you out to be a crank.
Tenger wrote: » This comment sums up my decision to jump in as a mod. Your personal frustration can be understood but your ability to post constructively is lacking. I would agree that the DAA do need to improve channeling of incoming passengers, however ‘simple’ things like opening more booths increase staff costs. And “standing around chatting” happens in every workplace, a shift change could be happening. So let’s try and stop the insults which in this situation are the equivalent of airline bashing.
goingnowhere wrote: » You also have to factor in as of November last year all passports and EU ID's are run against the Interpol (and Schengen SIS??) to see if they are of interest. That has made the biggest difference as the old, wave of a passport and howya was enough to get past is gone The per person processing time is still vastly faster in Dublin than in mainland Europe
The Veteran wrote: » More yawn! An Immigration Officer can ask questions, the reasoning being varied. If you were asked questions whilst the document was being examined it’s because the officer saw something or was looking out for something. I myself entered the Schengen zone a couple of weeks ago and used an eGate. I am very familiar with them having worked on them; to say that the monitoring of the Gates was a joke is to put it mildly. The officer at one point left his desk and went to another desk completely out of line of sight of his screen. Silly! We’d be shot for it. Also, the majority of false documents detected in dublin are coming off flights from the Schengen zone or at least transfer hubs in Schengen. Spanish, French and Italian airports being very prevalent. Now, if the required checks were done properly on exit we shouldn’t see these or any Interpol hits etc. I will go back to an earlier post, look at any of the metrics that matter in terms of the control of a border (detections) and it will be seen clearly that more is detected now than before so “asking a few questions” and “standing around” clearly works.
The Veteran wrote: » Jawgap - the authenticity of a document is one thing; it’s validity is then a separate issue and it’s use is a third element. Technology as it relates to document production assists with the first element but not greatly with the second two unless the examination is aided by further technologies and even then it doesn’t close matters fully. Plus many EU document holders are facilitating others in seeking entry as well as themselves being interest. Even then an Officer can ask questions which does not mean he or she has a specific suspicion. Some airlines scrutinize documents more intensely than others, but there are ways around the checks including online check in, avoiding check in desks, using secondary airports, booking transit flights, etc