solodeogloria wrote: » G The poster claims that I'm knowledgeable and erudite. I want to say to him that I'm sod all. All that I am God has given me.
1j5nwieg4zs039 wrote: » Well, if all the answers to her points are in the Bible, why doesn't she see them for herself?
1j5nwieg4zs039 wrote: » Solodeogloria, there is such a great chasm between us regarding the way to salvation that it is impossible for you to influence my position about the centrality of the Eucharist, or me to influence yours.
1j5nwieg4zs039 wrote: » As regards the Pope, he is dragging the one true church into the mire, and will pay dearly for his causing further confusion and scattering of the flock. Thank you.
1j5nwieg4zs039 wrote: » Why are you, a non believer, on a Christian forum site? You do your snivelling best to insult my beliefs, hiding behind a pretence of interest in the Reformation. Go and study it if you are interested, but do not insult me, and millions of others. Go and get lost to a history forum.
1j5nwieg4zs039 wrote: » If a ploughboy could read and understand the Bible, how come there are so many interpretations?
Romans 14:5-8 ESV wrote: Some think that one day is more important than another, and others think that every day is the same. Let all be sure in their own mind. Those who think one day is more important than other days are doing that for the Lord. And those who eat all kinds of food are doing that for the Lord, and they give thanks to God. Others who refuse to eat some foods do that for the Lord, and they give thanks to God. We do not live or die for ourselves. If we live, we are living for the Lord, and if we die, we are dying for the Lord. So living or dying, we belong to the Lord.
1j5nwieg4zs039 wrote: » Christ founded the Catholic church when he said to Peter "Thou art Peter and on this rock... The Church then was given the power through the Holy Spirit to interpret the Bible for us.
1j5nwieg4zs039 wrote: » Left to ourselves, we can interpret it any way we like. Thus the confusion over such things as the Eucharist.
1j5nwieg4zs039 wrote: » Because the church was founded by Christ, it must be infallible in matters of faith. Christ would not abandon His bride, the church. As regards the popes, there have been many heretical ones, and charity prevents me from assuming where their eventual destinies lay. Thanks
solodeogloria wrote: Much thanks, solodeogloria
I agree that there is room for error between receiving God's word and understanding it. However I believe the Bible is broadly clear. Disagreements tend to arise on secondary issues. Understanding a text isn't a free for all. Language has meaning.
EirWatchr wrote: » I can probably save you and solo a bit of typing time by referring you to some of his stock responses to those differences in this thread:https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=99111110 Outcome of the conversation that time: the same dissembling about interpretation and clarity as in this thread above. Solo scriptura, where understanding scripture can't be a free for all. Different interpretations (presented as "clear and indisputable") of John 6 become the core of this disagreement on Eucharist. How there can be no church institutional infallibility in interpretation of scripture, and yet personal infallibility in interpretation of scripture (a multiplicity of them) is the great contradiction unresolved in Protestantism. (Unless, of course, they maintain it is the work of the Holy Spirit to seek confusion in the meaning of Christ's words, which I doubt they would claim). Confusion and division is Luther's legacy, 500 years on, all 40,000+ flavours of it.
solodeogloria wrote: » Good afternoon! So Roman Catholics never disagree with each other on anything? Is that the conclusion that we're coming to?
EirWatchr wrote: » Facetious comment, unworthy of you. There are differences within the Catholic community all the time, as you know - just as there are in the Anglican communion. It is precisely in times of internal difference and tension within the Church that we see the workings of the Holy Spirit there, ensuring infallibility against incorrect teachings on matters of faith and morality. (Which, by the way, no such infallible teachings have been proclaimed by the current pontiff. As such, it is incorrect to give the impression he is considered heretical within the Catholic Church.)
solodeogloria wrote: » You were labouring a point about how Protestants (of all shades) have different views about some things in Scripture.
solodeogloria wrote: » It is clear that Roman Catholics have different views, even about the Cathecism and the Papal Magisterium.
solodeogloria wrote: » This is why tatranska is right to say that the plough boy can understand the Bible for himself and come into a relationship with our Lord Jesus Christ through it without any need for anyone to come in between this.
solodeogloria wrote: » Pope Leo X supported a true heretic.
1j5nwieg4zs039 wrote: » I apologise for assuming you were a woman. We usually assume the opposite, so I thought I might be correct, Solodeogloria. If a ploughboy could read and understand the Bible, how come there are so many interpretations? Christ founded the Catholic church when he said to Peter "Thou art Peter and on this rock... The Church then was given the power through the Holy Spirit to interpret the Bible for us. Left to ourselves, we can interpret it any way we like. Thus the confusion over such things as the Eucharist. Because the church was founded by Christ, it must be infallible in matters of faith. Christ would not abandon His bride, the church. As regards the popes, there have been many heretical ones, and charity prevents me from assuming where their eventual destinies lay. Thanks
EirWatchr wrote: » Stating actually, to prevent the repetition and labouring of the same old fruitless discussion. Was it an incorrect statement? Now you are re-iterating. I did/do not dispute that point. The Cathechism stands as the Church's body of teachings - its infallible scriptural interpretations, by the college of bishops, the apostles' successors - of God's will for contemporary Christian faithful. Everyone has free will to choose where to go for their teaching and development of their understanding of scripture and of God's will, and they are also free to disagree or ignore any teaching they want, to whatever consequences that leads to. A professed Catholic holds that choosing to wilfully act or teach contrary to the articles within the Catechism contravene's God's will.
EirWatchr wrote: » Not too many plough boys left today, but in medieval times most were illiterate. Thankfully, where you might have left the plough boy alone with the book and no intermediate, the Lord had the wisdom to send another worker into the field, the current Pope's prototype - St. Francis - who inspired love of Jesus Christ of the Gospels through song and fireside tales, or through carved scenes from the Gospels, all without a written word. Was the Lord in error at putting those people "in between"? Strangely enough, it's the model he set in motion Himself when he first sent the apostles out, when not a word of His was yet written.
EirWatchr wrote: » As an aside that may interest you: St. Francis's insistence on bringing the Gospels to the ordinary people that way brought great tensions between himself and the Papacy at a time when Rome was very protective of the Bible (in Latin), but both remained faithful and found a way (within the Church) of settling their differences, and the eventual outcome yielded fruit to the Church from both approaches combined.
EirWatchr wrote: » And when the plough boy grows up and enters the modern age, when he is faced the prospect of euthanising a suffering parent, or whether to engage in IVF treatment for a wanted child, or involve in an abortion for an unwanted child - would you leave him alone with just his Bible then to help him navigate God's will? Or would you step forward, as Christ's inspired disciple to help him out? What passages would you direct him to in such matters of contemporary morality?
EirWatchr wrote: » On the topic of labouring, you seem very hung up on Pope Leo X. If you're looking for examples of a really bad pope you'd be spoilt for choice going even further back than that. How about Sergius III who murdered another pope and fathered an illegitimate son? Fortunately (or perhaps providentially), he was too busy indulging in his own immorality instead of influencing the Church teachings with it.
EirWatchr wrote: » Anyway, same 500 year old discussion. We could be labouring until hell freezes over. A thing about labouring - it's worth doing, only so long as it bears fruit. I'm off - have a good weekend. God bless.
1j5nwieg4zs039 wrote: » What do posters on here think of Fatima?
branie2 wrote: » A town famous for visions, and I was there 11 years ago on a day pilgrimage. It was a wonderful experience.
Thinkingaboutit wrote: » Yes good, but the authorities there are rather hostile to the Mass of Ages and the priests who offer it. On one occasion they actually played loud music and had a Conciliar nun sing an amplified V2 tune on a guitar, in order to disrupt an SSPX pilgrimage. Some recent additions to Fatima are very aesthetically challenged. Yet, nowadays the authorities are at least better than the Knock authorities to deployed security men to deny the SSPX priests and the pilgrims with them access to Knock. They welcome Protestants and Moslems, but Catholics wishing to hear Mass as Catholics always heard it, are cold shouldered.
branie2 wrote: » Martin Luther started the Reformation
Jellybaby1 wrote: » Thank you for reminding me of those references. I have often asked the question, is it possible for me to be a Christian without the church, or even is it possible for me to be a Christian within the church? I wonder what Luther would think of it all today.
wrote: Originally Posted by owenybaloney Because the church was founded by Christ, it must be infallible in matters of faith. Christ would not abandon His bride, the church. As regards the popes, there have been many heretical ones, and charity prevents me from assuming where their eventual destinies lay. Thankssolodeogloria Now, there's a contradiction isn't there. How can the church as an institution be infallible if the shepherd of that church can be a heretic?
J C wrote: » Its even worse than that ... within Roman Catholocism, infallability supposedly only resides with the pope(s). ... so, the question becomes ... How can the pope be infallible, if the pope can also be a heretic?
Nick Park wrote: » Technically, the Pope is only considered to be infallible when he makes an ex cathedra pronouncement or defines dogma. So, unless the heretic does that, then he should be grand.
1j5nwieg4zs039 wrote: » You are correct, Nick Park. However, heretical popes work for satan and divide the flock. Hell will be hot enough for them.
J C wrote: » Its even worse than that ... within Roman Catholocism, infallability supposedly only resides with the pope(s).
J C wrote: » How can the pope be infallible, if the pope can also be a heretic?