iodd7 wrote: » OP - your terminology is offensive - 'knacker' is a pejorative term for traveller (like calling a black person the n word) so you should edit your post - your recurring use of the word in your replies is strange.
iodd7 wrote: » Due to its derogatory usage to describe travellers, 'knacker' IS offensive, and identified as such.
wakka12 wrote: » Simply massive tracts of social housing within the city centre core. i dont know why, I havnt seen it anywhere else Ive ever visited. Or maybe other countries social housing is less instantly obvious as social housing. But yeh, huge amounts of the old georgian city were demolished to put up block after block of horrid looking social housing. I dont know why theyre still there, they should really be made into normal looking apartment complexes with mixes of paid homes and social houses with retail units at ground floor Some of the most important,central land with extremely high economic potential shouldnt be given over to social housing. St patricks church, one of the countrys biggest tourist attractions st patricks church, is literally surrounded by social housing. Im not advocating moving these people out to suburbs and making slums. But they dont need to live in such central areas. Places like rathmines or harolds cross are perfect distance as they are within walking distance to cbd as well. But yeh it needs to change.
Swanner wrote: » You stated as fact that the term is offensive and asked the OP to edit their post.. The problem is that many of us either don't find it offensive or don't care that you do. I can't see any reason why we should avoid certain phrases to protect your sensitivities.. Being offended is most definitely a choice and it doesn't give you rights to any sort of special treatment. Ever.
Del2005 wrote: » All the drug treatment centres are in the city centre. Not helped by the lack of enforcement of our laws.
badboyblast wrote: » It's only when you visit other cities in Ireland like limerick., Cork and Galway do you realise how unsafe Dublin centre is. It is walking with zombies and anti social behaviour, there are addicts everywhere, an absolute kip of a place, Boston is streets ahead of it, very safe and clean city
Wanderer78 wrote: » so people with extremely complex issues are 'undesirables' and should be 'pushed out'? again, 'out of sight, out of mind' comes to mind! this solves the problem by......
alastair wrote: » Addicts may not be particularly attractive to your eye, but that doesn’t necessarily make the environment you see them in unsafe. Dublin City Centre isn’t particularly unsafe. A bit of common sense goes a long way in keeping you safe anywhere, and that probably starts with differentiating the unsightly from the dangerous.
cgcsb wrote: » Well hanging around Dublin City Centre where they are likely to get hit by buses and trams is not in their interests either is it? and the state has more/less decided not to tackle any complex issues.
hatrickpatrick wrote: » I'm sorry but someone who puts a lot firework in someone else's hood and then laughs maniacally while the victim's head is engulfed in a shower of sparks does not have "extremely complex issues", he is a sadistic, psychopathic scumbag who needs to be locked up. End of story. This applies to the vast majority of scumbaggery in Dublin city which does not result from people committing theft or burglary, seeking revenge for some grudge or acting in self defenses - it results from individuals who believe that it is fun and entertaining to cause harm to others. As far as I'm concerned, such people have no place in a civilised society.
Lux23 wrote: » You know the victim was a junkie herself? I think these people are far more at risk of violence than you're average Joe Soap on their way to work or the pub.
Swanner wrote: » Agreed on the common sense but how do you manage the bit in bold ? In my experience Dublin is one of the few cities where trouble will come find you.. You can be walking down any street minding your own business and some little knacker will come up looking for hassle.. So how do you manage to successfully differentiate between the unsightly and those looking to rob or attack you
eduzzino5 wrote: » Please don't get me wrong - I don't want to offend or to insult anyone. I don't even know the right word to use (knackers/chavs/scumbags/junkies). I moved from Boston to Dublin last year and it seems to me there are so many knackers in the city. Just wanted to understand if there is a reason (bad welfare? high level of drugs? low police enforcement?) of why there are so many knackers in Dublin (especially in the city center)
G.G.G. wrote: » Lol, the drug addicts are here cos treatment clinics? Pretty sure they usually open cos there's already a high proportion of users in an area..... Around the world, high concentrations of drug addicts (and associated social issues) tend to happen in similar environments. Low socio-economic status, associated unemployment, financial and mental stress,cyclical educational underachievement, a culture counter to the mainstream...
alastair wrote: » Never had any issue with violence or theft on the street. Perhaps it’s luck, but I suspect it’s more to do with just being savvy and not intimidated by, eh, ‘little knackers’.
Swanner wrote: » So are you saying that if everyone was as brave and savvy as you they wouldn't get attacked ? I'm not so sure.. Take a quick glance at today's news for example...http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/quick-thinking-garda-uses-phone-app-to-locate-violent-daylight-robber-813131.html This lady fought back hard against her attacker and was injured in the process. If she was intimidated she certainly wasn't showing it. I can't speak for her saviness but it's a classic example of a completely unprovoked attack on an innocent person going about their business in the city centre. That's just from today.. The examples that disprove your theory are too numerous to mention.. Savvy indeed.. :rolleyes:
alastair wrote: » Roll your eyes all you like me. You can find reports of bad stuff happening pretty much anywhere. It doesn’t make a Dublin an unsafe place, any more than it makes whatever other random location you search for crime in. My ‘theory’ is not any such thing, it’s a factual personal experience of living in this supposedly ‘unsafe’ environment for decades without incidence on the street theft/violence front.
server down wrote: » Maybe you are a man, and your experience isn’t the same as everyone’s. You were replying to a post about a female victim.
Paulzx wrote: » To be fair you are just as likely to be the victim of random street assaults and robbery as a man. Gender is irrellevant to the low level scrotes. They hunt in packs and are willing to chance anything.
Assetbacked wrote: » Similarly, there is an internet café that is open 24 hours and charges a nominal fee of €5 or something for people to stay and "use the café" all night if they wish. As a result, there is a crew of knackers hanging around outside from early evening through the night.
Stoner wrote: » San Francisco about 10 years ago was terrible, but they've addressed that issue to a large degree.