hatrickpatrick wrote: » I'm sorry but someone who puts a lot firework in someone else's hood and then laughs maniacally while the victim's head is engulfed in a shower of sparks does not have "extremely complex issues", he is a sadistic, psychopathic scumbag who needs to be locked up. End of story. This applies to the vast majority of scumbaggery in Dublin city which does not result from people committing theft or burglary, seeking revenge for some grudge or acting in self defenses - it results from individuals who believe that it is fun and entertaining to cause harm to others. As far as I'm concerned, such people have no place in a civilised society.
cgcsb wrote: » Well hanging around Dublin City Centre where they are likely to get hit by buses and trams is not in their interests either is it? and the state has more/less decided not to tackle any complex issues.
Wanderer78 wrote: » so people with extremely complex issues are 'undesirables' and should be 'pushed out'? again, 'out of sight, out of mind' comes to mind! this solves the problem by......
alastair wrote: » Addicts may not be particularly attractive to your eye, but that doesn’t necessarily make the environment you see them in unsafe. Dublin City Centre isn’t particularly unsafe. A bit of common sense goes a long way in keeping you safe anywhere, and that probably starts with differentiating the unsightly from the dangerous.
badboyblast wrote: » It's only when you visit other cities in Ireland like limerick., Cork and Galway do you realise how unsafe Dublin centre is. It is walking with zombies and anti social behaviour, there are addicts everywhere, an absolute kip of a place, Boston is streets ahead of it, very safe and clean city
Del2005 wrote: » All the drug treatment centres are in the city centre. Not helped by the lack of enforcement of our laws.
Swanner wrote: » You stated as fact that the term is offensive and asked the OP to edit their post.. The problem is that many of us either don't find it offensive or don't care that you do. I can't see any reason why we should avoid certain phrases to protect your sensitivities.. Being offended is most definitely a choice and it doesn't give you rights to any sort of special treatment. Ever.
wakka12 wrote: » Simply massive tracts of social housing within the city centre core. i dont know why, I havnt seen it anywhere else Ive ever visited. Or maybe other countries social housing is less instantly obvious as social housing. But yeh, huge amounts of the old georgian city were demolished to put up block after block of horrid looking social housing. I dont know why theyre still there, they should really be made into normal looking apartment complexes with mixes of paid homes and social houses with retail units at ground floor Some of the most important,central land with extremely high economic potential shouldnt be given over to social housing. St patricks church, one of the countrys biggest tourist attractions st patricks church, is literally surrounded by social housing. Im not advocating moving these people out to suburbs and making slums. But they dont need to live in such central areas. Places like rathmines or harolds cross are perfect distance as they are within walking distance to cbd as well. But yeh it needs to change.
iodd7 wrote: » Due to its derogatory usage to describe travellers, 'knacker' IS offensive, and identified as such.
iodd7 wrote: » OP - your terminology is offensive - 'knacker' is a pejorative term for traveller (like calling a black person the n word) so you should edit your post - your recurring use of the word in your replies is strange.
alastair wrote: » https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/8-million-plan-for-restoration-of-mountjoy-square-park-1.1888517http://www.dublincity.ie/sites/default/files/content/RecreationandCulture/DublinCityParks/NewsEvents/Documents/MountjoySquareConservationPlanHistoricLandscapeStudy.pdf Mountjoy Square is well into its major restoration and redevelopment. It’ll end up in much better shape than Merrion Square, once it’s complete tbh. It’s also utilised to a much greater extent than Merrion Square, for it’s size - and is a very pleasant place to spend an afternoon. The use of the housing stock around the park is different to Merrion Square for sure, given that there’s little residential use of Merrion Square, but it’s not quite all ‘tenements’. There’s at least three modern apartment developments, a bunch of smart owner-occupier Georgian stock, a smattering of businesses, the former DIT campus, and yes, a bunch of dense flatland conversions of the Georgian stock. The typical trend for anything Georgian sold on the square in recent times is either for owner-occupation, or short-term holiday lets. Merrion Square, lunchtime sandwiches for office workers aside, tends to be a bit dead outside the various events hosted there. So no, there’s not really much merit to the ‘double standards / nothing being done’ claim, when you look at it carefully.
Dublin Spur wrote: » The North/South inner city divide is also very wrong, why for example in Merrion Square in better shape than Montjoy square, both are pretty identical Georgian Dublin developments yet one is now pretty much a tenement whilst the other is gleaming. Who allowed these double standards to take hold and why as nobody ever done anything about it?
AlanG wrote: » main differences I have seen between US Cities and Dublin. - treatment centers are in the CBD in Dublin, in the US most CBD areas are just businesses. - there is far more of a mix between upper and lower income class areas in Dublin - in most parts of the states there are social housing projects and then there are private areas and there is very little mix between the two. - police and judges in the states can be fired so they look after the areas that vote and pay more taxes to ensure they stay in power - this is to the detriment of poor areas but makes other areas well policed and relatively safe. - in Dublin there are a lot of free bus passes for people with addictions so they get around more. - in the states people are generally expected to take on a higher level of individual responsibility, in Ireland someone else, or the system is often blamed so it is more acceptable to be reliant on handouts and the state. IMO this makes the problem more visible in Dublin but it is actually much worse in most US cities, they are just fr more segregated.
Swanner wrote: » Offensive to you maybe.. We don't all choose to get offended by words so speak for yourself thanks.. I agree OP. Dublin has become a kip. The city centre seems to have become a mecca for undesireables and it's generally a very unpleasant place to be imo. I would contrast that with many other European cities which are a pleasure to walk around. Why ? Well there's no single answer but I would say a complete inability to govern ourselves effectively has a lot to do with it. Our politicians are too greedy, corrupt and busy feathering their own nests to tackle issues that effect the less fortunate in our society.
Dublin Spur wrote: » There are 2 issues for me: 1) The filth and 2) the danger/criminality On the filth, the north inner city is filthy dirty. I work just off Talbot Street and the amount of sh1te (animal and human) I step over every day on the way to the office is sickening. The council do their best but the sheer volume of dirt, litter and rubbish is way too high for them to make a dent in it. I don't know if the guilty parties are local or come into the north inner city to dump the crap, I would say its probably a bit of both. Regarding the scummy individuals that lurk around every corner I think it's a policing issue - in the 90's Manhattan was transformed from a dangerous sleazy kip so there's no reason the same can't be done with Dublin, there just needs the right amount of determination, focus and of course money. Zero tolerance on anti-social behavior would be a good start along with tough sentencing for repeat offenders, working for the dole would be another positive step. Look, I know there are no easy fixes here but surely we all agree that we can't leave things the way they are, the north inner city is badly broken but nobody seems to be doing anything to fix it. It's an embarrassment, O'Connell St and the surrounding area should be a world class location and something we should all be proud of as Dubliners.The North/South inner city divide is also very wrong, why for example in Merrion Square in better shape than Montjoy square, both are pretty identical Georgian Dublin developments yet one is now pretty much a tenement whilst the other is gleaming. Who allowed these double standards to take hold and why as nobody ever done anything about it?
cgcsb wrote: » This will change though, gentrification of Dublin's inner districts will push out undesireables
suicide_circus wrote: The gardai do nothing about the problem (you see them stop and search a junkie once in a blue moon) but why would they since there is no effort by the government or judiciary to keep the streets clean.
Swanner wrote: Why ? Well there's no single answer but I would say a complete inability to govern ourselves effectively has a lot to do with it. Our politicians are too greedy, corrupt and busy feathering their own nests to tackle issues that effect the less fortunate in our society.
eduzzino5 wrote: » Just wanted to understand if there is a reason (bad welfare? high level of drugs? low police enforcement?) of why there are so many knackers in Dublin (especially in the city center)
wakka12 wrote: » I dont have a problem with social housing..I agree they deserve a house..it just doesnt need to be clustered together on some of busiest and most expensive land in the capital city, and the blocks dont need to be unfiformly social hosuing, they dont need to be so scary and intimdating looking, why dont they make the buildings look nice with balconies and big windows and shops at ground floor etc