Kintarō Hattori wrote: » Hey Folks, I ordered one from Google UK on Wednesday last week, it arrived in Parcel Motel on the Friday morning. First time using Parcel Motel and am very impressed. So, the point of this thread really is to pick your brains about a few things, if you don't mind. I'd naturally like to automate the lights in the house and I'm wondering what route to go down. Is the IKEA range of lights a good place to start? I'm not sure if the support is there just yet but I know they had announced support for Home to be included very shortly. If not IKEA, any suggestions? Naturally I could go with Hue but that strikes me as expensive. Are the Yeelights from Xiaomi an option? So far I've just used it to play music from Spotify and casting things from Netflix is pretty cool. I plan on getting a Nest in soon so that'll add to the functionality. I don't subscribe nor plan to subscribe to TuneIn so that's not really an option as I don't listen to the radio. The missus likes Lyric FM- other than TuneIn is there a way to automate that? Can you recommend anything else?
wexfordman2 wrote: » You dont need to subscribe to tunein, it just works!
BattlingCheese wrote: » No need for their own gmail account. It will work fine on yours. I have a 2year old who loves the animal noises and songs. "What does a cow, sheep, cat, dog, dolphin sound like" etc.
Kintarō Hattori wrote: » I meant to ask, I have the temp in the app set to Celsius but when I ask the temperature it's giving it in Fahrenheit. Any ideas?
donspeekinglesh wrote: » If one person sets a timer. can another person check it?
OldBean wrote: » Have you enabled voice recognition? Should work after that. Other option is to just say "Hey Google, use Celsius instead of Fahrenheit" but you've probably tried that already Yep!
Kintarō Hattori wrote: » Ah I didn't know that. That'll help the missus warm to the Mini so. She's slightly freaked out by the direction technology is going. I meant to ask, I have the temp in the app set to Celsius but when I ask the temperature it's giving it in Fahrenheit. Any ideas?
Kintarō Hattori wrote: » How do you mean voice recognition? I've been asking it things and it's responded so I thought that was OK. In relation to your second point, nope, I didn't know that and that's rather cool. I'll do that tonight. Animal noises, that's amazing. I'll convince the missus yet that technology isn't creepy.
wexfordman2 wrote: » Voice recognigiton means recognising individual voices, so it knows who is talking to it, you do it by adding multiple accounts, so one for you, one for herself, and if you want then one for the kids. It means when you ask it questions, add reminders etc, they are tailored to your account automatically/
OldBean wrote: » Exactly, it'll remember things like whether you use F or C for temperature - my wife works in Fahrenheit. Very handy!
bk wrote: » Hue lights work fantastically well with it and while a little more expensive, personally I think they are worth it for the greater range of products, advanced features and broad support. But yes they are more expensive, worth keeping an eye out for the upcoming sales.
Kintarō Hattori wrote: » I'm quite open to getting Hue lights instead of the IKEA ones. What are the additional options that the Hue would offer over other competing bulbs?
bk wrote: » - Greater variety of devices, check out Hue Blooms, Hue Lightstrips, Hue Go, Hue candle bulbs, etc. - Probably the most open and well integrated with other Smart devices, the list is almost exhausting. Native support for Alexa, GHome, IFTTT, Stringify, Yonomi, Nest, Logitech Harmony, etc. etc. - Hue App is very mature and has loads of great features like wake up timers, sleep timers, sunrise/sunset automations, advanced scenes, etc. - Just dozens of third party apps that do cool things like disco lights to music, halloween/christmas/party themes, etc. - The cool integration with GHome for Halloween/Christmas is tons of fun. Of course Ikea seems like a great option too and they are of course scrambling to bring out some of the above too, but it feels like it isn't half as mature yet. Having said that, I got most of my Hue gear over the years in various sales, so that made the price difference was much smaller and worth it for the greater maturity for me. You should think about how many bulbs you will need and if you can wait for sales, etc.
Kintarō Hattori wrote: » I'll be happy enough to start off small and sure once I have the starter kit with the bridge I can expand the products as and when sales pop up.
Kintarō Hattori wrote: » Chaps, do you have a recommendation for a smart Wi-Fi plug? I want to be able to turn on an electric radiator at specific times during the night. Thanks.
bk wrote: » I like the TP-Link plugs. Works well with GHome.
GaryCocs wrote: » Hi Lads, ordered 3 of the small ones (went a bit mad) what's the sound like out of them, I've a couple of dots about the place, playing sleepy music to the little fella etc. and they're grand.
Kintarō Hattori wrote: » They'll be much like the dots really. Fine for very light use but not something you'd use to sit down and listen to some tunes on. I use mine for lullabies for my daughter and that's fine.
Phil.x wrote: » if I got one of these can I just say "OK Google Play BBC Radio 4" and away it plays.