cfeeneyinterior wrote: » Just wondering if anyone else has noticed a huge increase in drunks hanging around and openly drinking cans etc at top of High Street/Mainguard st.? I've passed here a couple of times over the past few weeks around lunchtime and there is always 5 or 6 lads having the craic sitting on the window sills of Evergreen opposite the Kings Head. I assume the staff in Evergreen call the guards about it but they are always there. I know I could call Mill street too but you would imagine the Gardai would be doing passes here every hour or so, or is that a case of maybe it is just once a day? We have a nice city and that is probably the main hub for tourists etc passing down the town. What am I missing here that they are allowed to stay there??
Mrs OBumble wrote: » Yes, the lads are there alright. There have been some new-to-me faces on the street alright, but I'm not sure if it's more or just different people. Not much point in anyone calling the guards: the lads will just be fined (money they haven't got) for drinking in public, and be back in place again in a few hours time. If they are making you feel unsafe, it's a different story. Definitely call then.
cfeeneyinterior wrote: » Definitely new faces and more than before. Not making me feel unsafe although I would give them a wide berth the same as the other usual people to avoid around the place. They did give my little girl a fright though today with shouting at each other and why I said I'd say it here. I don't want them fined as they have enough problems. I think getting them to do it in a less prominent area would be a good idea. I just don't understand why they are tolerated there by gardai.
cfeeneyinterior wrote: » I just don't understand why they are tolerated there by gardai.
Mrs OBumble wrote: » Because that's where the CCTV cameras which are monitored from Mill St are covering. If the lads went to a quieter area, they would be more threatening to other citizens who had to do things there, due to less passive surveillance. And it would be harder for the guards to keep an eye on them.
Ludikrus wrote: » I don't think that's a good enough reason for them to be on our main tourist and retail thoroughfare. They can go under a bridge where they won't bother anyone.
Mrs OBumble wrote: » Which bridge specifically do you have in mind?
Raging_Ninja wrote: » Out of sight, out of mind. That'll teach em to be homeless or mentally ill.
cfeeneyinterior wrote: » So do you think that because they have mental issues they should be left alone and go drinking all day til they are out of their minds drunk in the middle of the city centre with kids etc walking around. ..... Crazy
cfeeneyinterior wrote: » Noticed a group back having a good time outside evergreen shop again opposite the Kings head with one of them being a very loud drunk woman. Anyways, it was around 3 o clock Saturday afternoon and went around them with our kids to Auntie Nellie Sweet Shop. As they were getting their sweets, I was looking out the doorway and could see down the Malt House Lane. The drunk woman went down the lane squatted down and relieved herself....3 o clock in the afternoon. Another Blitz needed