partyguinness wrote: » Following on from that logic- no jail for economic crimes that do not exceed the cost of the prison sentence?
partyguinness wrote: » I am not entirely sure what you are saying I won't agree with but yes social welfare fraud happens all the time and will continue as long as people can get away with it. But my point is that we as a society should not just turn a blind eye and accept it as part of everyday life. Yes it goes on all the time but it should be rightly punished. It's called corruption.
Are Am Eye wrote: » Just looking at the five stages of grief (Elizabeth kügler-Ross, On Death and Dying, 1969) it seems that Mr. Bobey just got stuck at step 1. and was unable to make progress with the grieving process. 1. Denial. 2. Anger. 3. Bargaining. 4. Depression. 5. Acceptance.
B.A._Baracus wrote: » I get what you are saying. It's just... Who cares. You'll get what I mean as you read on because well this guy played the game, he ran the risk, he got caught and now has to pay the penalty. He brought it on himself so whatever right? Who cares. Also, hey, it's tax season at the end of the month. So many businesses will be fiddling their taxes. Also fraud. Then there are other cons.. Bumped into a friend who I had not seen for years and turns out he was in Brazil for a couple of months prior and had his friend collect the dole for him (shortly before photo social card came in) and well.... As ace ventura said "alrighty-then" Sure those dodgy openboxes were popular up to a few months ago (free sky TV) I didn't hear people complain about getting free sky tv? The newest planet of the apes hit the net during the week. Sure lots of people are gonna watch that over the weekend for free... So Alrighty-then Ah I could go on. I know there is a big difference between downloading a movie and defrauding the state (and everything in between) but when you look at what people do, whatever small or big, I just don't care. Can't be too honest in this world. A bold thing to say but it's certainly not a naive thing to say. ... Alright then :pac:
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » I don't think I've ever heard of economic crimes, before. It's an interesting term in light of our recent economic history, but not one that legislators are likely to dwell on. In any case (I digress), it isn't that financial crimes should be penalised purely in respect of the magnitude of the deception or fraud that is involved. But, since resources are limited, then until the Great Revolution, the cost of imprisonment ought to be, and is, a factor for consideration when imposing a prison term. If the court threw €600,000 of the State's own resources at this man, I'm sure some posters on boards.ie would feel a warm, glowing feeling for a minute. Maybe that's just the feeling of piss running down one's leg, but either way, the satisfaction would be short-lived.
partyguinness wrote: » In the Partyguinness 'Book of Life' this falls under the chapter headed 'Greedy Conniving Shameless Bastard'.
Zebra3 wrote: » Sure she could hardly collect it herself.
partyguinness wrote: » That's actually the nub of my issue: - People saying 'who cares'. Has the country not learned anything. So we still accept this type of thing. Acknowledging that is goes on should not equate to acceptance. He didn't play any game. He fraudulently claimed his mother's pension over 16 years- not a few cash in hand jobs here and there. Nobody cared about Charlie Haughey, Michael Lowery, Ray Burke etc etc sure are long as the rest of the country was not bothered then they acted with impunity- your generation may I add. People getting indignant about bankers but this is no different- it is corruption from the very top to the very bottom and....we just wave off like it's alright. What the hell is wrong with people. When the hell is Irish society going to grow up.
partyguinness wrote: » If costs was purely a deciding factor then our prisons would be empty because prisons are not built on a sound economic model. They are not a business.
fryup wrote: » i'm too lazy to read the whole in's and out's of this case...wouldn't his mother have to collect it in her local PO ?? how did he get around that? or was it paid straight into her account?
Dr Brown wrote: » Its hard to get worked up about this sort of crime when bankers who robbed the country of billions of euro will never spend a day in prison.
dotsman wrote: » Except that never happened. If you want to know why nobody got punished, why massive waste and incompetence still rule supreme in Banking and politics today and why history will repeat itself, maybe you should look at yourself and those like you. It's been 10 years and you haven't bothered to move off the tabloid headlines of an extremely complex issue.
fryup wrote: » ^^^^^^^^^ seriously tho, how did he do it?
Dr Brown wrote: » The bankers running anglo committed outright fraud but they got away with it because of a botched prosecution. I wish the state would put the same effort into prosecuting white collar criminals as they do for welfare fraudsters.
dotsman wrote: » The bankers running Anglo did not "rob" billions. They lost billions due to incompetence, but they didn't "rob" billions. And the government spent millions of euros and years of investigation to try and prosecute them.
Capt'n Midnight wrote: » Where they dishonest about the financial state of the bank ?
Capt'n Midnight wrote: » Where they financially better off as a result ?
Capt'n Midnight wrote: » Was there any excess mortality as a result of diverting funds from the HSE or winter fuel allowances etc ?
Spanish Eyes wrote: » He won't get an ESTA. Terrible times.
Jon_459 wrote: » Headline on RTE News website today:Man jailed for collecting dead mother's pension for 16 years Jaysus - 16 years in jail - that's harsh I thought - then I read it and saw he was sentenced to 18 months. He'd been collecting the pension for 16 years!
wakka12 wrote: » Jail time seems harsh to me. I dont see how fines and or community service wouldnt be better than this. Hes not dangerous..doesnt need to be taken off the street like.
dotsman wrote: » Who is "they"? Certainly, there was a few people involved in telling porkies.
Not that I am aware - minor, if any, financial benefit, I'd imagine. Certainly nothing in the grand scheme of things and nothing like "billions".
But seriously, I have no idea where you are getting the "diverting funds" from. The funding for the HSE and social welfare payments have absolutely sweet FA to do with Anglo.
Ultimate Seduction wrote: » Mad how the dept took 16 years to realise the woman was dead
Capt'n Midnight wrote: » the aforementioned bankers.
Capt'n Midnight wrote: » TBH that makes it worse, shafting the country to keep their jobs and face.
Capt'n Midnight wrote: » Remind us again how much interest payments cost the country ? Not all of this would have gone to health , but some of it would. And reduced spending in this area does lead to predictable increases in preventable deaths. In 2017 the balance was Health €14.6Bn , Debt servicing / EU payments €10.6 Bn
dotsman wrote: » Dr Brown wrote: » The bankers running anglo committed outright fraud but they got away with it because of a botched prosecution. I wish the state would put the same effort into prosecuting white collar criminals as they do for welfare fraudsters. The bankers running Anglo did not "rob" billions. They lost billions due to incompetence, but they didn't "rob" billions. And the government spent millions of euros and years of investigation to try and prosecute them.