gomamochi1 wrote: » ...is there planning implications re change of use etc? Thanks
gomamochi1 wrote: » Hi ho, reside in rural dwelling outside an urban centre and oh not working so looking at alternative sources of income. Was thinking of converting double garage into 3 bedroom self contained unit. Garage separate to house by walkway. Do many folks do this and is there planning implications re change of use etc? Thanks
pilly wrote: » It would be an awful lot easier to rent out rooms in your own house if you have any spare.
Pawwed Rig wrote: » That would be a house share which is vastly different to what the OP asked about.
spaceHopper wrote: » What if you just rent it out for storage, we are doing an extension and looked at self storage places they are expensive. Could you fit 3 classic cars in it. Or partition / shelve it out and rent parts of it as self storage. You'd need to look at insurance implications.
kceire wrote: » Planning required as it’s a change of use then. Also fire safety cert and disabled cert because of its commercial nature. Most likely planning refused.
Dalary Great Tonsillectomy wrote: » Is rent a room considered commercial? I wouldn't have thought so, its just renting rooms in your home which the garage is if connected to the house As an aside and a question I have wondered for a while but not worth a thread on its own. Would an underground connection between a garage and a house mean it is the same building? I was talking to someone who will be building and he was thinking of having an underground corridor from the house to the garage thus still being able to drive around the house etc (i.e. between the garage and the house over the corridor) but not having to go outside to get to the car on a wet morning or when wanting to get into the garage. The cost of this could be prohibitive of course but it just got me thinking would this mean the garage was considered part of the house if you wanted to fall under the rent a room scheme down the line?
Nightwing1234 wrote: » Hi, Is there a better legal definition for the word "unattached"... e.g. I have a 1 bed building/unit and the end of my garden. It is not "physically" attached to my house - not by bricks and mortar anyways... My interpretation is as follows: 1. The unit is attached to my house by the back garden itself as one can walk out the door of the unit and after a few steps be at the back door of my house. 2. The unit is attached by the services provided to it... i.e. the electric/sewage/water/internet/tv are all being provided and paid for my house. 3. The unit is attached by means of the washing line running from the unit to the house. p.s. I am not trying to be flippant... hopefully ye can agree that the word "attached" can be interpreted differently... Anyone got any opinions on this? Ta
Nightwing1234 wrote: » Hi Lumen... so ""Attached" means that the structures at least share a party wall." Thanks so that means my boundary wall that runs along my garden that is connected to both is therefore "shared".
Nightwing1234 wrote: » Can you let me know if your statement is based on legal founding or is it just your interpretation?
Nightwing1234 wrote: » I have a 1 bed building/unit and the end of my garden.
Nightwing1234 wrote: » p.s. the "unit" is "permitted" to be used as I deem fit.
Nightwing1234 wrote: » My interpretation is as follows: 1. The unit is attached to my house by the back garden itself as one can walk out the door of the unit and after a few steps be at the back door of my house. 2. The unit is attached by the services provided to it... i.e. the electric/sewage/water/internet/tv are all being provided and paid for my house. 3. The unit is attached by means of the washing line running from the unit to the house. Anyone got any opinions on this? Ta
Nightwing1234 wrote: » Hi Lumen... so ""Attached" means that the structures at least share a party wall." Thanks so that means my boundary wall that runs along my garden that is connected to both is therefore "shared". Can you let me know if your statement is based on legal founding or is it just your interpretation? Ta
Nightwing1234 wrote: » Looks like I'll be building an unused corridor to it to make it part of the house... need somewhere for bikes/tools etc when I rent it out... Thanks all again
Nightwing1234 wrote: » "Habitation is a breach of the Planning and Development Act." Jaysus... I've slept in it numerous times when I wasn't allowed into the house after a night out with the lads... who would have thunk I could have called the guards to have her indoors arrested!! Thanks for that kceire...
Nightwing1234 wrote: » ah it was only from Revenue point of view... as for the council... they can go and jump... Unfollowing this thread now lads... adios...