whoopsadoodles wrote: » How do you know they were struggling with joint pain
Dial Hard wrote: » But then a Facebook acquaintance posted photos from a wedding she was at and literally every single person in the pics was fat. It was bananas to see.
LadyMacBeth_ wrote: » I'm fat. I'm not proud but I have recently decided that I am not going to let people like the OP shame me either. A couple of years ago I'd managed to lose five stone; and it was fcuking hard. It involved deprivation and misery. It was zero craic. I did it and I felt good, I still wasn't skinny, about a size 12-14 but it suited me. Then my health worsened and my marriage fell apart and my life went into the sh1tter. Piled most of the weight back on, binge eating, which wasn't something that was an issue before actually, not to this extent. I am well aware of my weight, I don't need to be reminded or shamed and not one fat person needs to be told that they are fat, they already know it. I got back with the missus and now I finally feel in a place to tackle the weight, even though my health is at its worst, I started dieting again a couple of weeks ago and I am determined. But it is not for people like you that I am doing this OP, or for people who'd like me to feel ashamed and hide away (which is what I have been doing up to recently), I'm doing this for myself. So I feel good. And you know what? I hear some men on boards fatty bashing away but the reality is that the male attention that I receive hasn't changed in the slightest, even though now I'd be anything from a size 14-18 in clothes. My missus is a size 14-16 and I think she looks fcuking amazing, and she is very healthy and active, she runs, she plays squash, she's strong and sexy and I'd be gutted if she lost a lot of weight because she has a cracking pair of tits and an arse and thighs to die for.
Stonedpilot wrote: » Yep, we are far worse, in terms of median average head of population. Like random 100 people in America and 100 Irish picked at random Irish will be far fatter.
Stonedpilot wrote: As far as I'm aware no country is as tolerant to obesity as Ireland, no way does France,Italy,Spain etc see it as the norm here.
GLaDOS wrote: » Interesting the number of posts targeting Irish women. More Irish men are obese than Irish women (source), but I guess men are judged less on their looks so get away with it a bit more.
givyjoe wrote: » By a whopping 1%.
Royce Witty Tinder wrote: » Not so. WHO figures have USA at 32.1% Ireland at 13% (UK 23% Australia 22% Greece 22%).
Dial Hard wrote: » He has a point, though. How often do you see an AH thread started specifically to whinge about how all Irish men are fat/ugly/stuck-up/insert imprecation of choice?
LirW wrote: » somehow this thread developed targeting women, I don't exactly know why. Maybe because women need to justify themselves more for their looks? But it indeed is a problem that equally targets men and women. A good thing is though that a lot of sports clubs now target on recruiting girls and boys equally. Also cooking doesn't only target women anymore but both and more importantly singles. Plenty of singles tend to have a horrible diet because many find it's too much effort to cook for themselves, especially in the tiny kitchens that single accommodations have.
tedpan wrote: » Hmmm, I don't know about that. There are too many excuses these days. An excessive amount of food and drink is the reason in 99.9% of cases. I used to be very obese and decided to change my ways.(still have some weight to lose) Anyone who says different is kidding themselves.
Stonedpilot wrote: » A genuine question. The amount of people that are gargantuan on this Island is so high I'm surprised the island doesn't sink. It's seen as like a disease by many. I remember living in a houseshare with Eastern European girls and they often commented at how absurdly fat they thought Irish women are. It's bizarre to me that in other countries it's seen as a problem and thus people try and sort it but here the people whom are tremendously overweight are seen to have an ailment,disease, are poor unfortunates etc like its the same as leukemia or something. I remember Katie Hopkins was on the Late Late Show making the point you can't be happy and fat (I don't know I don't care frankly) but they cut to a obese lady in the audience who had only just opened her mouth and the audience were in rapturous applause. No matter what she said they would have clapped. Katie asked the question 'Why are you clapping?. Are you clapping because she is overweight is that it?.' That kinda sums up the attitude here. Being fat, unhealthy and obese is something to be proud of and God forbid anyone point out it's lunacy to be the size of a manatee. Strange. Now I will say I have all the respect in the World for people who do something about it work out, eat healthy, get involved in classes, long walks etc. Fair play to them and well done. But then there are other folk whom see it as a God given right to be obese and to be angry with everyone, and to take up a seat and a half everytime they sit on a plane,bus or train squishing whomever is unfortunately beside them. Had a few incidents recently where I seen very overweight people be angry with total strangers. I mean I attended a talk recently and the guy doing it was so overweight he got tired standing up and walking around the lecture room!. As far as I'm aware no country is as tolerant to obesity as Ireland, no way does France,Italy,Spain etc see it as the norm here. Odd.
Stonedpilot wrote: » Statistical is how it's spelt. Maybe I don't have a clue, so what?. Not offering medical advice or anything pal. Cue some long winded snide holier than thou response.
pilly wrote: » If you don't have a clue you can't go around making sh1t up "pal".
pumpkin4life wrote: » I'll post this again (classic Irish begrudgery but what the hey) there. If you want to lose weight (and I'm a former fatty who struggled with weight for most of my life and have been skinny/athletic for the past couple of years*, so I'm not some lad parroting other people "calories in calories out" and he is skinny fat himself; that kind of benny) this is what you do. 1: Cut carbs. Diet: Cheese, Meat, Fish, Green Veg, Nuts. Normal, healthy nutritionally dense food. Forget counting calories. That uses up willpower and you're more likely to fail. It also ignores why some people are skinny and can eat pizzas all the time, and the same kind of person is on scooter time. Without boring you lads, it comes down to hormones; insulin and leptin in partuicular. 2: Lift weights. 3: Profit. Interestingly enough, I've gotten more snappy and passive aggressive comments as an athletic pumpkin (from people who knew me as a fatty) than when I was a fat pumpkin. Funny how they're fat bastards themselves lol.*skin in the game.
Stonedpilot wrote: » I mean I attended a talk recently and the guy doing it was so overweight he got tired standing up and walking around the lecture room!.
Hammer89 wrote: » Was the talk called 'Conquering your inner idiot by learning about a subject before you spark a debate on it?'