Walter Mittys Brother wrote: » Sparks, I looked at sections 2(5), 4a & 4(2)(e) herehttp://revisedacts.lawreform.ie/eli/1925/act/17/front/revised/en/html Can't see how they'd prosecute someone for having a few shots with their rifle outside an authorised range everything else being legal eg permission, safety, licenced etc.
Sparks wrote: » You need to read further back up section 2 WMB. 2(1) and 2(2) say you can't possess or use firearms or ammunition except in accordance with your licence or in one of the specific exempted cases listed in the other sections; those are the conditions you would have broken as your licence would be void for those shots.
Walter Mittys Brother wrote: » Fair enough but to clarify I'm coming at this from the point of a lad, on his own, shooting, safely, a "target" with his licenced rifle, with permission on private land with a paper target pinned to a tree with no other infrastructure eg firing point, shed etc
Walter Mittys Brother wrote: » Sorry, I can't agree with you on this.
Sparks wrote: » You'd be laughed out of court when the government pointed out that you had not been deprived of your legally owned property, but just the licence which you have no legal right to (and it was pointed out that the EU law on this explicitly permits member states to enact far harsher laws on firearms than the EU baseline regulations).
Grizzly 45 wrote: » Put it like this, if it was soo easy, why haven't the Irish govt done it??
Sparks wrote: » They did. As group actions they did it once in 1972 and once in 2008. As individual actions, they do it every single time they refuse an application for a firearms licence or revoke one (because in those cases, you remain the legal owner of the firearm if you owned it before the refusal or revocation but you are not compensated for the loss of the use of it). . All of this below is speaking on an EU level not a national level, and in this context, we are talking of loss of property, not loss of "privilege" of usage. [ QUOTE]So let's turn the question around; if it's so easy to get compensation, why hasn't any Irish shooter ever done it?
And when the EU regulations and national law both say they have a right to do so, I can't see you winning the case in any court
Grizzly 45 wrote: » From talking to the current main man from the dept on this issue.I get the following impression the stance and unwritten word with it here is this..
Cass wrote: » And if that is all it is and no one else knows and you don't post videos of you doing it on Facebook, Youtube or any other social media that is where it'll end. Most Gardaí use common sense, but all the above is predicated on the fact you get caught. If you don't abuse it, most likely it'll go unnoticed and even if you were caught chances are you won't be charged. However it's no harm to know what could happen and then let each person decide for themselves.
Cass wrote: » On the target shooting outside a range being illegal? Break it down into steps that we know: To target shoot you must be a member of a range A range must abide by the law and SIs set out for them including but not limited to the necessary licenses/authorisations and fees paid A range inspector can walk into any land thought to be used as a range and if they deem it so (to be a range) close it down, charge and seek prosecution for it. What part of these steps makes you think it's not illegal? no need for quoting of acts, etc. just what part do you think makes it ok to target shoot outside a range?
Grizzly 45 wrote: » From talking to the current main man from the dept on this issue.I get the following impression the stance and unwritten word with it here is this. Make and take from it what you all will.
Sparks wrote: So, first off, you have to be detected. That's an axiom for this hypothetical.
Sparks wrote: » We'd share the same opinion of the man, but -- it's a very dangerous idea to have the character of the office holder be the sole safeguard against abuse of the powers of the office
Cass wrote: » Except when it comes to backing up that by standing by you. You know what they say about verbal contracts and not being worth the paper they're written on.
Grizzly 45 wrote: » Cass that a given in this country..And that is why the11th commandment is soo important in Irish life.:)
ezra_ wrote: » Thou shall not get caught?
yubabill1 wrote: » Just my 2c on this; Clearly, the legislation in force doesn't allow zero-ing outside an authorised range. WE don't know if it does or doesnt..THIS is the whole crux of the argumentt.We don't know, the Govt doesn't know, the Guards don't know.The idiot politician, now back being a barrister[God help us] who wrote this crap has said: "Well that not really what I meant, but it's not my problem now lads."The guy who has to enforce it is saying"Unofficially, off the record so long as you can do it safely and are not taking the piss out of it, and I'm not hearing any complaints..." We have no legal definition of target shooting, we have no definition of zeroing in the legislation...IOW it is an unworkable clusterfuk that could be interpreted any which way to Sunday.So where does this leave us?? In limbo.
Clearly, the legislation in force doesn't allow zero-ing outside an authorised range.
Grizzly 45 wrote: » Sparks, I agree with you 100 on those points.However, taking it from the man who has to implement and works with it on a day to day basis he is going to know the reality
Sparks wrote: » What we're talking about here is if you were caught doing this by someone who's not minded to look the other way, what happens next?
Cass wrote: » The bit you quoted just said that if a range inspecor finds target shooting or suspects it on any of the listed places they can enter without prior notice. If, according to the bit you quoted, a range inspector turns up, inspects the area/premises the shooting is taking place on and determines it to be a range and you cannot provide the necessary licenses/authorisation and receipts for paid fees (not to mention conform to the guidelines for ranges as laid out in the SI) then any shooting taking place on said land would fall outside the remit/protection of the Act/SIs.
Mississippi. wrote: » Who is deemed to be the range inspector in this instance though? Would any member of AGS qualify? Probably
Sparks wrote: » Definitely not. The Firearms Range Inspector is a specific person, defined in law in the Act. The current FRI is a civil servant, not a member of AGS, working in the DoJ.