Kerry_2008 wrote: » Everyone excepts what hook said was wrong. He was trying to express a sentiment but went about it clumsily. But, the outrage on news talk led by the pip squeak Chris Donohue is nauseating. Chris and his former sidekick on drive had their show tank because they were a pair of PC clean shirts. I get people as outraged. But I don't think its a sackable offence. If people showed as much 'outrage' when a politician does something wrong we would be better served.
PeterTheNinth wrote: » Safe Ireland have come out and said that Hook's position is untenable.https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0913/904317-george-hook/ So we are to read that Safe Ireland think that it is "safe" behaviour to get completely hammered and go home with somebody that you don't know. I swear, with all the statements from the different sides, this is turning in to the second civil war. :-) Brother against brother...
PeterTheNinth wrote: » He HAS apologised for this comments ffs. You would swear that all the holy Joe (Molloy) types on this thread never send a wrong word in their lives. He has apologised for what he said, and I think both sides have ackowledged that. The question is post apology whether he deserves to lose his job over this.
PeterTheNinth wrote: » Does anybody know the names? Is it a public petition or have they kept their names secret?
jooksavage wrote: » Comments like that though won't help Hook. This kind of stuff is all over Twitter and his most unapologetic supporters are getting cited in the media making him look like a fringe lunatic - thats not going to tilt an ongoing investigation back in his favour.
DeanAustin wrote: » However, I'd have a problem if she signed that letter to remove Hook because that then means she's completely unable to have a rational discussion on some of the points Hook made.
DeadHand wrote: » I'd also hope she was too good a person to join the twenty cowards who betrayed him for their own ends.
jooksavage wrote: » it's certainly doing no harm) and condoning/ignoring what Hook HIMSELF has conceded were unacceptable remarks.
jooksavage wrote: » She's a doctor for God's sake. My brother-in-law is too and said that one of the hardest parts of his job is dealing with victims of physical and sexual violence. There's not a doctor in the country would condone what Hook said but she should park her professional ethics so Hook can squeeze another year out of his broadcasting career?
PeterTheNinth wrote: » Fair play to Pat Kenny for not joining the mob. This certainly wont make him popular, but it's the right thing to do.http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/radio/pat-kenny-defends-decent-man-george-hook-over-controversial-rape-comments-36127451.html ^ That is exactly the sort of statement that I was expecting from his supposed friend Ciara Kelly. Instead of sticking her scalpal in his back.
PeterTheNinth wrote: » I said that she should distance herself from the remark, but not from the person who has been a good friend to her. And Ciara Kelly left her professional ethics at the door when she took part in a TV show that paraded overweight people in Lycra for the viewing entertainment of the audience.
PeterTheNinth wrote: » Interesting to see how this plays out in NT though. Pat Kenny really has gone against the grain with this. Would have been far easier for him to say nothing at all. Maybe he has that Edmund Burke quote up above his bed. But there's gona be two distinct camps at the station now, should make the staff room interesting at least.
PeterTheNinth wrote: » Fair play to Pat Kenny for not joining the mob. This certainly wont make him popular, but it's the right thing to do.http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/radio/pat-kenny-defends-decent-man-george-hook-over-controversial-rape-comments-36127451.html[/url
jooksavage wrote: » There's not a doctor in the country would condone what Hook said but she should park her professional ethics so Hook can squeeze another year out of his broadcasting career?
RustyNut wrote: » Indeed, If I was to say that allah or buddha or jesus was only a bollox with the intention of causing offence that would be a crime would it not?
"The comments are not reflective of him. He is a decent man with children and was musing over a topic. "He has entertained people for 13 years and it would be sad that people would take his mis-speaking on the radio as the real representation of George the man," he added. Mr Kenny also stressed that he was "not in any way trying to espouse the point of view that [Hook] articulated".