Lady Chatterton wrote: » I touched on this yesterday in a previous post but I believe we need people like George who are prepared to share their opinions and create debate. The alternative is radio studios filled with Shane Coleman types. I have a lot of time for Shane, he is a hardworking and decent journalist but he is absolutely terrified of saying anything that could be deeem remotely controversial. I'm concerned that we're living at a time where we are being told how we should think and what is acceptable language to use. I worked for a large multi-national company a few years ago and we had all sort of days to promote awareness of various social issues. I don't think it achieved much because many of my colleagues at the time felt pressurised, they wanted to be seen to supporting such events but there was no sincerity behind it. I fear that there are lots of people who appear to be very PC but really it's just a superficial thing to make them look good. I remember back in 2003 this country jumped on the Special Olympics bandwagon, there were loads of people and businesses wanting to be associated with it. I thought at the time that the event would do marvellous things to improve the lives of people living with disabiliities and their carers. However, 14 years on there are parents of children with special needs ringing Joe Duffy begging for access to basic services such as respite, a place in a school, Occupational therapy and so on. Joe will politely ask what the child's difference? Using PC language and sharing 'I stand with the people of ...' statuses on Facebook does nothing to improve their lot, only actions will. That's why I feel that those campaigning now for George's removal should look at the bigger picture, like how victims of sexual assault are actually treated from the time they report an assault. Why are the Rape Crisis Centres around the country constantly fundraising to keep centres open? What about the rape victims that have trouble accessing counselling due to cuts to the various services? What about campaigning for tougher sentences for prisoners convicted of rape/child abuse, especially those who refuse to take part in rehabilitation programmes.
quintana76 wrote: » Just clueless!
SureYWouldntYa wrote: » I'm really not getting all the outrage over the Hook comments, what he said about personal responsibility is correct imo You're at home and you leave your front door open, as is your right since it's your home and nobody should come inside uninvited. If that person was robbed would anybody have any sympathy for the person robbed? Obviously getting raped is worse than being robbed but I'm talking about doing things that increase your risk of bad things happening Rape should never happen but putting yourself into those situations with strange people and getting drunk to the point where you aren't in control increases the chance of something bad happening because there are evil people
Morgans wrote: » This appears to be a reasonable position but misses the point. To be raped when stone cold sober is tragic, however, if the rape victim had a drink 'well, I suppose you are in some way responsible for what happened'. I think this is why what Hook said has been taken up a victim-blaming and landed him in trouble. Its a very harsh view to see going for a drink as akin to leaving your front door open and having complaints of a rape being diminished as a result.
quintana76 wrote: » Do we now live in a dystopian alternative universe? Since when was sensibly advising people to take personal responsibility for their actions deemed offensive? The PC brigade are running rampant over any expression of opinion that doesn't follow the (constantly shifting) party line. It wouldn't matter if it wasn't for the connivance of most of the media. Most outlets are merely propaganda organs. Try RTE news. Orwell must be spinning in his grave.
Morgans wrote: » That the raped girl has a certain contingent saying that it was at least partly her fault, for being drunk, appears to play into the 'sure what would any red blooded male to do with the opportunity' and I think its only reasonable that there must be a sizable contingent of girls who do not report rapes because they feel that in some way they brought it on themselves for not being sober.
DickSwiveller wrote: » He explicitly stated at the beginning that what he was about to say did not excuse the alleged perpetrators. Did you even listen to it?
Jamiekelly wrote: » The irony of Hook talking about personal responsibility given the relentless sh!t stirring he has been causing since his High Noon show came on air, which is clearly just for added attention and boosting ratings and advertising revenue for the fledgling Communicorp station. His rants on vaccinations were far more damaging and dangerous than this nonsense yet he apologises for this and yet if he was confronted with his HPV comments he would almost certaintly hold fast to defend it or at the very least be jovial in his dismissals. I don't agree with Hook on a lot of his views but I used to love listening to The Right Hook because he was a welcome change to Matt Cooper's stagnant style of interviewing and presenting. Now, however, he seems to just court controversy for the sake of it. He went from being broadsheet to tabloid in one schedule change and it's not doing his career or legacy any favours.
PeterTheNinth wrote: » I've said this before, but I believe that one of the main reasons that Hook is prepared to ask the sort of questions that are not politically correct (but yet are likely being asked at every dinner table around the country) is that he doesnt really care hugely if he gets fired... He was going to retire anyway.
Morgans wrote: » Hi DickSwiveller, I did listen. Just because he said that he did not excuse the perpetrators, it does not mean that what he said does not blame the victim. Which he clearly did. And of course, its only an alleged rape, very correct in using that qualifier there. "Im not racist, but those blacks, knackers"
Harry Angstrom wrote: » I wonder if the "broads and dames" from his execrable Here Come the Girls slot will be all that willing to share a studio with him on Friday? Or for that matter, will the highly principled Dr Ciara be willing to continue her health section with him tomorrow?
quintana76 wrote: » Good God man lighten up!! The witchhunt is over. He apologised (even if unnecessarily). You have got your pound of flesh. Is that not enough for you? What do you PC fascists want? A public flogging? They will happily appear with him as they will have no problem with his fatherly advice. They live in the world of facts not opinions.
jooksavage wrote: » Hook has apologised. Doesn't that indicate that he himself believes he misspoke?
Harry Angstrom wrote: » I think it indicates that he'll do anything to hold on to his job with NewsTalk.
Harry Angstrom wrote: » I'm not a "PC fascist" at all, but I don't like George Hook, and I believe in karma
anna080 wrote: » You're missing the point. If he had said "is there no blame now to the person who gets raped", I would understand the outrage, and I'd be outraged msyelf. But he didn't say that, no matter how much people try and proclaim he did. He simply didn't say that. He asked is there no blame to lay at the feet of the woman who PUT HERSELF in DANGER. Unless she was forced, drugged and gagged into the situation- she holds responsibility for her decision making. She holds responsibility for getting into a risky and dangerous situation. THAT IS NOT THE SAME THING AS BLAMING HER FOR GETTING RAPED. THE RAPIST IS TO BLAME FOR RAPING HER.
quintana76 wrote: » OK, I will concede the fascist bit. PC? I think so.
quintana76 wrote: » Considering how he talks about his domestic relationship with the 'lovely Ingrid' it could be easily seen how he would be reluctant to retire and become irrelevant.
Calhoun wrote: » As I have seen elsewhere George's mistake was not thoroughly condemning the rapist . How he said it makes it look like victim blaming. Rape is never the victims fault but the reality of the world we operate in is you must always be vigilant male or female and look after yourself.