Snake Plisken wrote: » They have aparantly started a partition to have him removed from Newstalk. They are targeting advertisers! What a sad society we live in, I'd say the usual George haters on here are overjoyed with the news! Look at this dope's tweethttps://twitter.com/miriamkivlehan/status/906588977960013830
PeterTheNinth wrote: With the reaction that this has got, I was expecting something far worse. Of all the things that he has come out with, I cant believe that he's had to apologise for this. The basic premise of his argument is that we are ALL vulnerable when we are drunk, and while we should all feel safe enough to pass out and not have somebody sexually assaulting us, it might be better to just not pass out in the first place. I don't think anywhere in that you find Hook blaming the victim, as our hero Chris Donoghue suggested.
Pat McCann, the Chief Executive of Dalata, who own the Clayton Hotels, hit out at the High Noon host yesterday and threatened to withdraw its sponsorship. Speaking to the Sunday Business Post, he said: “George Hook is fundamentally out of touch with reality. I am the father of two daughters and I find those types of comments totally unacceptable. “This contract is up for renewal in October and this will bring into focus whether we will continue to sponsor the programme.”
Lady Chatterton wrote: » The Clayton Hotel group are piling on the pressure now too.http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/clayton-hotels-threatens-to-pull-sponsorship-from-newstalk-over-george-hook-rape-comments-36117390.html I would hate for George's career to end like this. I sincerely hope that the matter can be resolved without his resignation. What would be achieved by George's resignation? In my view, nothing good. I'm distraught that a broadcaster can potentially be bullied out of his job over some clumsy remarks which he has apologied for, yet there has been over a million fake breath tests, fraud and whistleblower scandals in the Garda Siochana and our Garda Commissioner is still sitting pretty. People need to seriously wake up and get outraged by real issues. The only outcome that I can see from this and the Meyers scandal is our journalists are going to become gutless and bland. They're are going to be permanently muzzled. There was a time journalists were afraid of losing their homes because of a costly libel action, these days they're more likely to be taken down by a band of social media warriors.
constitutionus wrote: » im still baffled as to how the fuk hundreds of gardai arent in danger of being sacked for gross miscondunct. making up stats is practically a fecking definintion of it, yet NO outcry or call for it. i can only assume the "good and the great" are fupping terrified of the gardai.
Conservative wrote: I thought no more of it until I tuned in to hear Chris Donoghue and his panel (on behalf on management it would seem) do a hatchet job on George - no chance of inviting someone in that wasnt all too willing to pile on.
constitutionus wrote: » I said "gardai". NOT comissioner. theyre names are on these reports so why arent they sacked. constructive dismissal has fuk all to do with the lads that did the deeds and no one in the medias calling for that.
Sleeper12 wrote: » In fairness inviting someone on to defend George would have someone on the station defending victim blaming. This would not be a good move for the station
constitutionus wrote: I said "gardai".
arrianalexander wrote: » Sorry, you are right let's sack 100's if not 1000's ?of Gardai, my apologies . But only the lads as you say, not the female Gardai .
Sleeper12 wrote: » Conservative wrote: I thought no more of it until I tuned in to hear Chris Donoghue and his panel (on behalf on management it would seem) do a hatchet job on George - no chance of inviting someone in that wasnt all too willing to pile on. In fairness inviting someone on to defend George would have someone on the station defending victim blaming. This would not be a good move for the station
Lady Chatterton wrote: The only outcome that I can see from this and the Meyers scandal is our journalists are going to become gutless and bland. They're are going to be permanently muzzled. There was a time journalists were afraid of losing their homes because of a costly libel action, these days they're more likely to be taken down by a band of social media warriors.
Den14 wrote: » You are absolutely right. It's this trajectory of social justice warrior mindset led society that we've been heading towards for some time. Freedom of speech is being eroded away and anybody who dares speak their mind and has even the slightest divergence of opinion from these SJWs will instantly labelled racist, homophobe, misogynist etc. Big companies are now being forced to take action and Newstalk is no exception. Just look at Google where an employee who was fired for writing a 3,000-word internal memo about gender differences. It was completely science based and I believe he was genuinely not out to cause offence but what do ya know the usual crowd did take offence and that was the end for him. I think George however sometimes clumsy with his arguments is a breath of fresh air. A source of different opinion which is important to get conversation going. If each and every one of us are to sing every word from exact same hymnsheet it is quickly going to become a very stale society indeed
foxtrot101 wrote: » George knew what he was doing, in so much as this is how he has started nearly every show since the inception of High Noon...say something that you know will piss enough people off to get those 30 cent texts rolling. He knew full well there would be a negative reaction to what he said, but he spectacularly misjudged the extent of that reaction this time and it has bit him the ass. I'm just surprised it has taken this long to happen.
quintana76 wrote: » Do we now live in a dystopian alternative universe? Since when was sensibly advising people to take personal responsibility for their actions deemed offensive? The PC brigade are running rampant over any expression of opinion that doesn't follow the (constantly shifting) party line. It wouldn't matter if it wasn't for the connivance of most of the media. Most outlets are merely propaganda organs. Try RTE news. Orwell must be spinning in his grave.
duploelabs wrote: » A tenner says you've never read any George Orwell
Obvious Otter wrote: » It's not a defence of rape. You've just made that up. Some women don't want to accept personal responsibility for often putting themselves in vulnerable situations. It's obviously disgusting that a man would take advantage in such a situation but how about not putting yourself in that vulnerable situation in the first place? In this case the girl went home after drinking with someone she didn't know. Are we really going to remove personal responsibility from people simply becuase they become the victim of an act? Society shouldn't look to blame these women but we also should be trying to stop women from putting themselves in these horrible situations in the first place.
southstar wrote: » I agree....they should be banned from nightclubs
Lady Chatterton wrote: » I touched on this yesterday in a previous post but I believe we need people like George who are prepared to share their opinions and create debate. The alternative is radio studios filled with Shane Coleman types. I have a lot of time for Shane, he is a hardworking and decent journalist but he is absolutely terrified of saying anything that could be deeem remotely controversial.