Deleted User wrote: ...today I brought my daughter to the playground to meet Slovakian friends with their kids. Also met my cousin and his African partner and their little daughter. After that, I went to my Turkish Muslim barber and to her delight he produced a lollipop.
bluewizard wrote: Well I'm "multicultural" - go ahead, tell me what's your problem with me.
Fighting Tao wrote: » If that was the case then why wasn't either everyone's, or, nobodies religion mentioned? Only Muslim was mentioned.
CalamariFritti wrote: » Look lads. Its Saturday night, I'm in. The missus has the telly watching the tennis and I'm craving for a bit of entertainment. This thread isn't doing it for me the way its going. 5 pages in and its GAA vs footie. Wtf?
Sleeper12 wrote: » Was the barber actually Turkish? I see that many Turkish barbers around Dublin I'm beginning to think that maybe they are not all Turkish
smurgen wrote: » if i had any links to the middle east cause i was the head off his brother
smurgen wrote: » Alot of kurdish when you ask them.came across a few syrians too.had one syrian barber ask me if i had any links to the middle east cause i was the head off his brother
JimmyMcGill wrote: » Went in for a breakfast roll the other morning. Ordered off an eastern European no bother, she turns around to her work colleague and speaks her native tongue for the duration of her serving me. Gives me the roll without any interaction. That **** annoys me. Big time.
Benjamin Buttons wrote: » Wha?
John_Rambo wrote: » A Syrian barber cut my kids hair. He looks like he's from Mayo, or Poland, or Bristol. Have a quick google on Syria's history. Fantastic mish-mash of of French Euro, Persian, Greek, Arab, Turk, Syriac and a lot more. (I didn't know this till meeting this Syrian guy)
Sweetemotion wrote: » People who think multiculturalism is great for Ireland are deluded loonies hiding their heads in the sand. We don't have to look far too see how multiculturalism works out for western societies, Germany, Spain, Sweden, Paris. England. Yeah it's great just fecking great.
RustyNut wrote: » Give up the pot man, the paranoia is getting to ya. They weren't talking about you, they have lives of their own.
tomwaterford wrote: » I was expecting it to be an isis joke
smurgen wrote: » Well Syria has one of the oldest civilizations in the world,the capital Demascus goes back to 6300 B.C. chances are alot Europeans can be traced back to that area.
tomwaterford wrote: » Next you'll tell me your not a wizard
Deleted User wrote: Yep, from Kusadasi. Married to an Irish woman. Was bemoaning the fact that none of his kids speak Turkish and his Mum can't speak English.
gitzy16v wrote: » Nah multiculturalism is not for me,if I want to experience different cultures Ill travel to different countries. Happy enough with our own culture and happy enough going somewhere new to experience new cultures.
gitzy16v wrote: Nah multiculturalism is not for me,if I want to experience different cultures Ill travel to different countries. Happy enough with our own culture and happy enough going somewhere new to experience new cultures.
Deleted User wrote: » ...today I brought my daughter to the playground to meet Slovakian friends with their kids. Also met my cousin and his African partner and their little daughter. After that, I went to my Turkish Muslim barber and to her delight he produced a lollipop. And I thought, she'll grow up experiencing diversity and cultures that I could only dream of when I was a child in white Catholic Ireland in the late '70s and '80s. And it felt good.
JimmyMcGill wrote: » Where did I say they were? Easy on the gange there bud. Stell mal vor, du jetzt eine Kunde in meine Gastette bist, and Ich Deutsche mit mein Mitarbeiter rede. Du stehst dort wie ein Rustynut die ganze Zeit Ich dein Bier vorbereite. Schah? That's 25 year old German dont bite my head off...
John_Rambo wrote: » Like the thousands of Irish that helped build (physically and culturally) and continue to culturally influence New York, Chicago, Boston and other parts of the world. Fair play to you. The Irish, great bunch of lads.
Sleeper12 wrote: » I welcome it but I do find Muslim women dressed from head to toe in black with just their eyes peeping out a little creepy. It's something I'll have to get used to. I remember the first time I was in London. There were so many black people. And blacker than id even seen. I couldn't help but stare. Same thing happened the first time I went to Greece ,I couldn't stop looking at the topless sunbathers. By the end of my holiday I wasn't even aware of the topless thing
Wibbs wrote: » I've rarely seen a more smug self satisfied expression of right on progressive piety on Boards. And that can be a high enough bar at times. I liked the self doubt around being "white", "Catholic" and "Irish" too. As if all three or one is somehow lesser(white gets the lower case for effect). Well done. *slow handclap(trap)* Bonus points. To her delight he produced a lollipop eh? Seem to have covered all the bases there. Though for future efforts, maybe throw in some Gay folks? Though ask them first. And rainbows. Rainbows are good.
RustyNut wrote: » Ich habe ein Schnitzel mit dem Bier bitte
MyStubbleItches wrote: » You fell for it.