arayess wrote: » it is insane how anybody can find much fault with what hook said. I can imagine it's the usual outraged at anything crowd getting upset without reading or listening to what exactly Hook said. that fool Chris Donoghue is newstalk colleague is throwing Hook under a bus I'm not surprised. He is a terrible fellow and journalist..hops on every bandwagon no opinions of his own other that what is the days fashionhttp://www.independent.ie/irish-news/its-disgusting-newstalks-chris-donoghue-slams-george-hook-over-outrageous-and-offensive-rape-remarks-36115321.html
Shenshen wrote: » "But is there no blame now to the person who puts themselves in danger?" Straight from the article. And I do wonder about someone who'd ask a question like that, yes. Because it's a question that does get asked most often in cases of rape - why did she put herself in danger getting drunk? Having a one night stand? Wearing such revealing clothes? Flirting with that stranger? Think about it, it would be an odd question indeed to ask if it had been a young man beaten up - why did he put himself in danger getting drunk? Talking back to the dangerous looking fella with the baseball bat? Walking home alone in the dark? Isn't his recklessness assuming he'll be all right actually irresponsible behaviour on his part? Is there no blame on him for putting himself in danger and ending up in hospital? But for some reason, and to some people, it's a valid question to ask when a woman gets raped.
Shenshen wrote: » No, I have no numbers for either. I have frequently heard it being asked in cases of rape, but never in cases of assault.
irishproduce wrote: » You have the right to leave your front door on your property open if you like don't you? Without being robbed. I mean it's your property and no one should enter it unauthorised. But most of us that live in the real world know that it really isn't something you should do. There are bad people in the world. If my son decided he wanted to leave his front door open because he has a right to without being robbed, i'd object on the grounds mentioned above - there are bad people. Rather than protest that robbers should not rob and that robbers should be made to know that robbing is utterly unacceptable, I would just advise him to not put his home at risk in the first place. It's a s**ty world with s**ty people in it. This story is not exactly the same but the principle still applies, take care of yourself and your stuff, that's all.
Shenshen wrote: » Someone earlier posted that women don't have the right to get drunk, so that would be irresponsible, then, too, I assume. So where's the line? Walking home alone at night? Is it responsible to walk from the bus stop to your front door? What about taxis? What if the driver gets too friendly?
Harry Palmr wrote: » George Hooks ongoing problem is his inability to articulate complex subjects which are by their nature highly charged - ironic given these are the topics on which he likes to trade. Too often he is groping for the right words and in the correct order.
BrianBoru00 wrote: » With respect thats a typically twitteresque / playing to the gallery / one sided argument. Have you any source to suggest its asked most often in cases of rape? I know I would never be asking if the victim was responsible in some way as a matter of course . I wouldn't be asking it in the case of a serious assault as a matter of course either. BUT if after more information came to light about an assault and a fella was drunk and heading down a dark alley way I'd be asking why was he putting himself in danger. Suppose an Irish guy is murdered in New York? I certainly wouldn't be putting blame on him. But suppose it then came to light that he was taunting a couple of black guys ala Conor McGregor in "the projects" then I'd be saying he should had more cop on. Outrage for the sake of outrage. People, whether their Irish or Chinese or black or white or male or female have personal responsibility for their own safety.
up for anything wrote: » I'm not asking any man to take account and responsibility for my actions. I just ask that if I'm staggering down the road past midnight and three sheets to the wind, with my skirt tucked into my knickers and unable to protect myself that he doesn't think that my body is his playground and make free with it. Just pass me by, laddie, pass me by and don't bloody pass me around. I'm also not saying that women are "delicate, emotionally reactive and easily led creatures in near constant threat and in near constant need of societal protection" but in most cases, we are not as physically strong as men and therefore self-defence can be rather difficult.
Arghus wrote: » Having read what he had to say there I don't think he's condoning what happened to this girl in any way - he clearly thinks that she was the vicitm of a crime. He follows that on with some points about personal responsibility, because he makes that a series of follow on points, directly after talking about a rape it's easy to think that he's conflating the two, which I don't think he necessarily is. I think he's being a little bit clumsy and perhaps a bit insensitive, but I don't think he's saying anything too radical. If you have the intelligence to pick up the wider meaning of what he's trying to say, I'd think you'd be hard pressed to be genuinely outraged.
Shenshen wrote: » I think the question of him condoning it comes with this sentence : "But is there no blame now to the person who puts themselves in danger?" Straight from the article. And I do wonder about someone who'd ask a question like that, yes. Because it's a question that does get asked most often in cases of rape - why did she put herself in danger getting drunk? Having a one night stand? Wearing such revealing clothes? Flirting with that stranger? Think about it, it would be an odd question indeed to ask if it had been a young man beaten up - why did he put himself in danger getting drunk? Talking back to the dangerous looking fella with the baseball bat? Walking home alone in the dark? Isn't his recklessness assuming he'll be all right actually irresponsible behaviour on his part? Is there no blame on him for putting himself in danger and ending up in hospital? But for some reason, and to some people, it's a valid question to ask when a woman gets raped.
bilbot79 wrote: » He's not condoning it. Some people are twisting the whole victim blaming thing now. Every Joe on the street knows that if an attractive girl gets comatose she's vulnerable to evil people that would do such things. Women have just as much right to get into that state as anyone but those that do should beware. George will take a lot of flak for this but his words will do more to prevent rape than those who accuse him of victim blaming. It's been sage advice since the dawn of time. No amount of law or prevailing public opinion can stop rape happening. Fact of the matter is nobody should ever get comatose cos you know full well you could get robbed, stabbed, beat up, raped and/or murdered with no way to defend yourself
Wibbs wrote: » Indeed it most certainly should, though that begs the question if one has some agency in these things, why not the other? Or are women agentless victims outa the box and we should just accept that regardless? Have men more agency and responsibility than women? So the drunk man has to take account and responsibility for his drunkeness, but also has to take account and responsibility for the woman's? I have to say it really bloody well grinds my gears this modern "feminist" narrative of woman as the perpetual victim. It's damned near Victorian in outlook. And it's damned near everywhere in this narrative with it. It paints women as delicate, emotionally reactive and easily led creatures in near constant threat and in near constant need of societal protection, the poor dears. Bless. Doesn't sound like any women I know and have known. If anything I have found women to be generally more self deterministic and grounded overall than men. Maybe I just know outlier women and most are attention seeking, profligate Penelope Pitstop types screaming Heellllp all the time, but I bloody well doubt it.
up for anything wrote: » Yes, Georgie, she surely is because in the same way that there is: "personal responsibility because it's your daughter and my daughter. What determines the daughter who goes out, gets drunk, passes out and has strangers in her room or the daughter that stays out, stays halfway sober and comes home" Maybe that personal responsibility should extend to your son and my son?
"But modern day social activity means that she goes back with him. Then is surprised when somebody else comes into the room and rapes her.